We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable apartmnent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
Ranked #35 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartmnent hotel”
Reviewed 11 December 2008

Comfortable hotel apartment, spacious, well-fitted out with new(ish) furnishings. Next to central railway station and busy street, but well-insulated from traffic noise. Location convenient for train station, but less so for places like Darling Harbour and Sydney Opera House - not within walking distance. You will need public transport options if you stay here.
Kitchen adequate - basic cutlery and crockery, and minimal but basic cooking equipment.
Rooms comfortable - had a two bedroomed apt, with one bathroom off the main sitting / dining room, and the other attached off the master bedroom. Centrally airconditioned, but the smaller room always was a bit stuffy. TV, internet access (fees apply) provided.
Hotel has a lap-pool on ground floor, and a sauna / mini gym facility.
Staff were friendly but not warm, and multiple requests for replacement of a missing soup bowl went unfulfilled - we gave up asking after the third day.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mostlyharmless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    570
    152
    53
    33
See reviews for
405
335
92
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Stayed at the Medina for one week at the start of our three week holiday in Australia, and liked it so much we returned for a further three days before coming back to England. We had a two bedroomed apartment which was clean, bright and airy.
The position of the hotel is really good with central station just round the corner and buses across the road. It is really easy to get to all the attractions as well as transport to places further afield (ie. Palm Beach, Hawkesbury river etc.)
The staff, we found to be always polite and willing to help whenever required.
Over all a great stay in Sydney.

  • Liked — Location and friendly and co-operative staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishaClevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

As a Business traveller I have been booked into this Medina Executive quite regularly and enjoy the stay in nearly every case.

The hotel is great and the apartments well appointed. Internet access in your room, tasteful furnishings and appointments would make this a great base for a few days. The kitchen is fully functional in most cases although there is one room in the hotel I have been placed in - which really is no bigger than a closet!

Nearby are great food choices from quite cheap to pub meals and cafe style eating.

Easy also to catch a cab and still close to the airport - make this a great choice at this end of the city.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, great size rooms in the most case, situation, quiet, great for business
  • Disliked — The elusive closet room!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Eklasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We are from Canada and stayed at the Medina Sydney Central for one month in March, 2004. Our requirements are very intense for hotel stays as my wife is disabled and has many special needs. Medina shone for us and the property and staff were outstanding. The apartment was very well appointed and the facilities in the building were excellent as well. Moreover, the location couldn't have been better or more central. We were within walking distance of many of Sydney's top attractions. We were initially concerned that the location so close to the central train station would be a problem but we barely heard the trains or any city noise from our suite. Highly recommend this property for anyone considering a long stay in Sydney. We loved this place so much that we are returning for another 3-week stay in March, 2009.

  • Liked — All the comforts of home including dishwasher and washer/dryer right in the room
  • Disliked — Was a bit expensive but we got good value for our money.
  • Stayed March 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrumpetsAreGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

We stayed at the medina for 3 months in a loft apartment. The apartments are spacious enough to accomodate a long stay, the huge windows make the rooms light and airy and allow you take in the view. We looked directly down George st and the traffic and train noise was not a problem at all.

We had our 3month old son with us and the accomodation was perfect for families with children, the kitchen area is adequate however cooking utensils and pans etc were limited.

The overall decor is ok but could have done with a bit of updating i.e. furniture was a bit threadbare and light fittings were broken but the overall cleanleness was good.

The staff were in the main friendly and approachable however if you requested something you would generaly have to make more than the one call before it arrived!

The location is fantastic 10 min stroll to Darling Harbour 5min train ride to circular quay or alternatively a casual 30 min stroll down through the city. Local supermarket just 5 mins down the street and numerous restrauants on the doorstep.

Great place to stay for a weekend trip to see Billy Elliot which was the highlight of our stay, highly recommended show and just round the corner.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UkTravelbug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in July/Aug 2008 in a one bed loft apartment. The apartment was very spacious, with a neat balcony overlooking the train station and a wooden staircase leading up to the bedroom and bathroom. Having your own laundry was a bonus, having to pay for washing powder was not! The staff on the whole were very helpful and friendly. The sauna, heated outdoor pool and spa were excellent. Swimming whilst looking up at the stars whilst in the centre of Sydney can't be beaten really! The location right next to central train station is excellent and there was no problem with any noise from the trains or from anything else. My only niggles were paying for the washing powder, the kitchen floor was dirty for some reason and the doona was dirty although they did replace this promptly. Our TVs didn't have remotes but these were supplied promptly upon request. The main gripe was the security cards needed to access the room and lifts. They just didn't work! We took them back countless times for them to be replaced, reloaded etc, but countless times, we were stranded in the lift or outside our room or even outside the building coming home at night!! They really need to address this issue!! Other than that though, this place can't be faulted and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, pool, space, own kitchen, peace & quiet
  • Disliked — Paying for washing powder, faulty swipe cards, dirty kitchen floor
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelrocksNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We recently stayed at the Medina Executive Central. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was very clean and spacious.. The hotel is right next to Central Rail Station but you don't hear any noise from the trains. We went to Sydney to see the show Billy Elliott, this hotel was ideally located being only 5 minutes walk from the Capitol Theatre. There is a cafe under the building where you can have a nice breakfast. It is close to transport and shops. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
Address: 2 Lee St | Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Toga Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Sydney Central Hotel Sydney
Medina Executive Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing