We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
Ranked #42 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place in Sydney”
Reviewed 6 May 2009

The Medina Executive Sydney Central was a great place to stay. We just got back from staying 8 nights there. Since we were staying a week we wanted something more than a hotel. We had three of us, one couple and one single. We got a 2 bedroom apartment. We were on the first floor in room 7. I was worried being on the first floor and at a major traffic center, but it was actually very quiet. Never heard street noise except maybe sirens occasionally.

Our flight like most got in early in the morning. The medina allowed us to drop off our bags and offered to call us on a local cell phone number if the room became available before check-in time. We stopped back in just to get something out of luggage (change into shorts). And while I was changing in the storage closet, the nice lady at the front desk said our room was ready, a few hours earlier than check-in. They were real nice and accomodating.

The room was spacious enough. Basic clean kitchen open to small dining table/room and living space. Nice high ceilings. Kitchen had all the basics. We made dinner and a few breakfasts there and didn't need anything really, except salt, pepper and paper towels.

There were two bedrooms, one with a window and own bathroom. The second bedroom was on the inside of the building/room and had large sliding frosted doors. Private enough and far from other room, but different from a regular room. It had a queen bed. The bathroom was outside the room, but had a washer/dryer which was a huge plus.

The furnishing and such were nice enough, the beds comfortable. Nothing over luxurious, but what we needed. The room felt stuffy, but I didn't know how to adjust the thermostat. They came and showed me how to adjust and got us two fans. I only wish the windows opened up.

The location turned out to be great. Next to the train stations. Lots of buses and taxis. You can get to and walk to lot of things. Easy access to a lot, especially if you like walking. I wasn't sure of the location when I booked, but it turned out perfect for all the things and places we went.

They has a nice pool/hot tub area, though we did not use it. But it looked nice with lots of plants and stuff. I think a sauna too.

Front desk was always helpful and friendly. Gave some advise, made a few reservations. Generally nice people. It was almost like saying hi to your neighbors everyday when you passed through the lobby.

With the exchange rate we thought the place was a good value. We had three of us and got a two bedroom apartment, and basically paid what we might for a nice hotel. So it was a good value for us.

Overall I was very pleased with the Medina and would stay here again. Sydney was great too.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckydog818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    606
    160
    56
    35
See reviews for
424
351
99
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

I stayed at the Medina for one night and had no issues with anything within the hotel. We left our bags early with no hassles and didn't return till approx. 11pm where the 24hr service desk were lovely and had already taken our bags to the room. The room had lovely views of the city and its location (right next door to Central Station) made it very easy to get anywhere.
Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a nice weekend away or for a business trip.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peregrine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

The Sydney Medina Executive is a great hotel for business-types and couples. Famiiles will get great services, but read on to know what you will see....

We checked in early Monday morning and lucky for us our room was ready to go at 10:00 AM. Quite a bonus for a big family who was exhausted from a 14 hour flight from LA. We had prepaid through a major travel site for a week and were treated to a two bed/two bath apartment. While it will not have breathtaking views of the harbour, you will have a great location for everything else.

The rooms themselves are quite open and spacious. One quirk is the bathrooms which you literally step up into (about 1/2 inch/1cm)) which at first causes a bunch of stubbed toes. After two days, you know the drill and don't think about it. The kitchen we had was spacious and the treats located int he fridge and elsewhere were not ridiculously expensive. Television had a limited number of channels (and in our room had two adult channels that were unlocked...not that we were watching them, but when flipping channels for little eyes...just make sure you change quickly!)

I will warn you about the hotel's Internet. It is VERY pricey. Uploading pics and normal activities cost me well over $150AU for the entire week. I could have easily bought a broadband card and service for much less. If you are coming for any length of time, buy a broadband wireless card. There are very few open hotspots around the hotel.

The hotel is located next to the station, but it is a bit of a walk to the train platforms. If you have kids or large luggage, I would suggest not taking AirportLink unless you feel comfortable walking several blocks. Rush hour is quite busy, so if you are doing any traveling do it early or late. Weekends and holidays are quite dead, so you will get around quite easily on the weekends.

There are a host of student hostels and backpackers around Central, but the hotel security does a great job of keeping the place quiet and secure.

There are a number of small shops and restaurants surrounding the hotel. There are at least five convenience stores open 24x7 within one block, no problems getting a Slurpee at 01:00. Central IS a train station, and the majority of its clients are business-folk, so don't expect a tourist haven here. You will get good service, but don't be surprised if you are surrounded by suits or business types looking at you strange with your "I HEART SYDNEY" shirt while waiting for a latte.

Transport is easy, and gives you a wide variety of choices from buses to trains to taxis. Lee street is quite busy, so crossing at the walks is obviously recommended. You can also walk underneath the street taking advantage of the tunnels located next to the hotel.

Overall the hotel is a great value, and I would definitely stay there again. The views aren't romantic, but you will get around the city pretty easily and if you don't mind sticking out a bit as a tourist, you will have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woogieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

My friend and I stayed here for one night but would definately stay longer. We arrived and departed in Sydney by train so the location right next to Central was very convenient for us. Our one bedroom apartment had a queen bed which we shared (not our preferred option but we managed to fit ok). The price we paid was $160 through Wotif.com which seemed good value for money considering the location. The apartment provided everything we needed although more shelving or cupboard space in the bathroom would be useful. Also, while there is a washing machine there isn't anywhere other than over the shower to hang wet bathers. No bath in our room type but who needs one when there is a spa downstairs. The pool/spa is nice and the gym seems well equipped. I also made use of the Gloria Jeans located conveniently across the road. I like apartment style accommodation because you are self sufficient and don't need to call room service to get a plate etc! Its a pleasant, fairly short stroll to the Queen St Mall, Darling Harbour and the lightrail at Central is very convenient. There are also lots of restaurants that deliver (info in room) if you want to stay in. Would recommend and stay again for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacWasHere2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We paid about £75 a night for a five night stay in one of the loft apartments. It was in the business district rather than the Rocks but only a 5 minute bus ride there and you can walk to Darling Harbour in 10 minutes. Our apartment had a mezzanine bedroom which meant for a really high ceiling in the living room area, decent kitchen with proper cooker (not that we used it no one was able to direct us to a decent supermarket, there's one on Glebe Road we found on our last morning!) balcony with to be honest a crappy view over the railway station, but your in the middle of a city so not really there for views.

Pool was fine for doing laps in the morning and if you're that obsessive a gym with basic equipment. I really enjoyed staying here and it was definitely a better choice than paying nearly twice as much for the travelodge in the Rocks. I would say if you're getting a loft apartment and staying a while make sure you get one with a decent balconyl; we saw into one of the other rooms which had a 15 foot high wall for a view....

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougal1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

I stayed at the Medina Executive Sydney Central in a Premier 1-Bedroom Apartment for 6 nights in February-March, 2009. I booked through an online service and got what I thought was an exceptional rate. As previously noted, this building is the original Sydney Post Office and was converted to an apartotel. Although the exterior remains very monumental and ornate, the interior is tastefully minimalist. There are several classes of apartments and I was in a Premier (not Loft) apartment on the 5th floor. Being in an apartment rather than a hotel room definitely made my Sydney stay more memorable. The building was very quiet; I seldom heard and never saw my "neighbours." The living room was expansive and bright, with a nice view of the surrounding area. The bedroom was an average size for an apartment with good closet space. Bathroom was in the hallway of apartment and included a stacked washer/dryer. The kitchen was small, but functional and included a conventional oven (not just a microwave) and dishwasher. This property is incredibly well located next to the Central train station. This makes for easy access to the Airport, the Circular Quay and all the sights. The front desk staff was extremely accomodating and professional. The pool is small, but well-maintained. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for two nights last weekend, and it was fantastic. Rooms were large and spacious, one with an ensuite.

The apartment had a huge living/dining room and a full kitchen, massive windows and we didn't have any noise from Central Train Station which was a short walk away.

It was a brilliant apartment, and perfect for a girls weekend and all for a very reasonable price.

The location is very central, with Chinatown within walking distance and it was only a short walk to the centre of Sydney (Town Hall, QVB etc).

Staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
Address: 2 Lee St | Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Sydney Central Hotel Sydney
Medina Executive Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing