We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adina Apartments, Darling Harbor, Sydney” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #23 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Adina Apartments, Darling Harbor, Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have stayed there 3 times, the last two were for 6 weeks in Oct/Nov and 12 weeks Apl, May/June - both 2013. The location was ideal and close to my Sydney office. I had a one bedroom apartment and it has a reasonably well equipped kitchen, lounge/dining and balcony. On both occasions I was initially placed in 5 and 6 level rooms facing the Aquarium and looking over to Cockle Wharf. I found the noise level from the overpass/freeway was too high. ALthough the place was double glazed/double sliding doors, the noise entering the room exceeded my tolerance level when the balcony doors were open (as i like fresh air) and when my wife visited she couldn't comfortably sit on the balcony & read.

I therefore recommend rooms on the other side, overlooking the garden area and with restricted but adequate views through the King St Wharf restaurants to Darling Harbor and the Maritime Museum. I have been on 2nd and 4th floors - nice and quiet if you are back from Lime Street.

Rooms were serviced daily, management threw in a few extras for longer stayers and it was very much a home away from home.
The pool and gym area were both small and I used infrequently.
There is a BBQ on the ground floor pool area and I used hat a few times, cooked there and ae upstairs. They provided tools and bits an pieces to make that easier.

I did most of my regular grocery shopping at Woollies Cnr George & King, emergency stuff only from the convenience stores near the hotel.

The bottle shop underneath on Lime Street was handy and had a good selection at reasonable prices - the local manager was helpful and I had a few drinks with the owner at one stage.
The Mezbar restaurant attached to the hotel was a great spot for after work (happy hour) drinks and the food was great - we ate there a few times - it also does room service but i didn't use that. The manager (Swiss?) was very friendly and helpful in food selection.
even had my son & daughter in law visit me for a few days and organised a temporary roll-in bed for a reasonable rate.
TV was OK, had a few foxel channels (alas not all the sport ones which meant i missed quite a few AFL games). I arranged for a DVD to be set up as being away form home for so long meant I needed some form of home entertainment.

I won't mention the fantastic location in detail as it has Darling Harbor, Casino across the opening bridge, 10 mins walk to chinatown, 15 mins to the Rocks, all of CBD shopping 10 Mins walk.
Overall a good place, seemed expensive even on a corporate rate for lengthy stays but I guess that's Sydney!

Room Tip: if you want quiet when the doors are open go for the rooms overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We are so happy to read you enjoyed your extended stays with us and felt like it was a "home away from home".
We are also pleased to see you found our courtyard rooms nice and quiet and you were able to take advantage of our complimentary BBQ in the pool area.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    659
    139
    46
    26
See reviews for
411
767
85
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks on business. Staff very friendly and reasonable rates. Good location. Apartment was clean and had a great living area and kitchen and separate bedroom aus$250 per night. Swimming pool is v small.
Top tip is to buy your food in the Coles supermarket in wynyard train station, or woolworths. Don't use the supermarket near the apartments, that reception will recommend to you, they are very very very expensive, pricing is not clear.
Apartments very handy for transport, ferry to circular quay is nearby and wynyard is a ten minute walk. Would return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review.
It's great to see you found your 2 week stay with us enjoyable.
The convenience store by the hotel is recommended for smaller purchases only otherwise Coles supermarket on the corner of King street and George street is only a 5-7 minute walk from the hotel.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside one day.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights and will be back. The location was perfect for our business days in the city and for Darling Harbour dining and strolls in the evenings, and market shopping on the weekend. The staff were awesome, friendly, helpful and attentative. We stored our bags as we arrive early and checked out late with no issues. The apartment was clean, an excellent size and the balcony with view towards Cockle Bay excellent. We would not hesitate to stay again and recommend this accommodation. It was incredibly quiet, with the twin doors both double glazed there was no motorway noise at night and no noise from other units. A perfect nights sleep on a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizandRick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your excellent review.
We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team awesome, friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside on your next visit to Australia.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have just stayed here for two months. The location is perfect for anyone working in the CBD or for tourists wanting to enjoy the city. Darling Harbour is just five minutes walk away and Kings Wharf is on the doorstep so there is a multitude of choice in good restaurants and some do takeaways. The bottle shop under the hotel on Lime Street is excellent and the Mezbah is good for room service or for a leisurely brunch. Circular Quay is just twenty minutes walk and there are local buses and ferries to take you further afield.

The room I had was comfortable and had great views from the balcony. The room was very quiet and was serviced every day including Christmas Day and Australia Day. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Middleman499519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your excellent review.
It's great to see you enjoyed your 2 month stay with us and describe it as home away from home.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Australia.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
186 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Had trouble finding accommodation (at a decent price) until we stumbled upon the Adina Apartment Hotel Harbourside. We were very pleasantly surprised of quality of this place for the price. It is very reasonably priced considering it's location and quality of accommodation. It is situated pretty much on the King Street wharf which is very handy for the many restaurants/bars/attractions within the Darling Harbour area. Everything is within walking distance from this Hotel, with Circular Quay about 10-15mins walk away.
The staff at the Adina were very helpful when we had trouble with our room key they were very helpful and sorted it out very quickly. They were also always friendly and accommodating.
The room we had was a studio apartment which looked out over the Aquarium and also had views of Darling Harbour. I was very surprised at night while trying to sleep that no noise could be heard from the motorway near by (great noise insulation). Room was large & very clean and well laid out.
Definitely recommend this Hotel for anyone traveling to Sydney and I know we will definitely stay here when we return to Sydney.
Thanks Adina! See you guys again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunnersfireman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your great review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
All of our apartments are double glazed and we are happy you found them to your liking.
We are excited to welcome you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed at Adina for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised: + large room with a terrace, + decent gym opening at 0600 even though pool was tiny, + cafe food was quite OK, + fast check in. Normally in this location/price range, things are a bit dingy but this was good.

Room Tip: I stayed in 14 which was on first floor and had a terrace with a little sliver of a view towards Dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your overall positive experience. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your large room with terrace as well as the gym and our pool. We’re looking forward to welcome you back at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Harbourside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Excellent location .very friendly staff. Apartment has everything you need.balcony partially overlooked the harbour.We liked it so much we cancelled a hotel we had previously booked on our return night back from NewZealand and rebooked the harbourside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chilloutmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Our guests are at the heart of everything that we do, therefore the team was very pleased to read about your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Harbourside. Thank you for your great feedback. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Harbourside Sydney
Medina Grand Harbourside Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing