We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Sydney
Nearby Hotels
QT Sydney(Sydney)
US$232
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Sydney(Sydney)
US$238
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$275
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$273
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$199
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$268
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$305
US$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$280
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,132)
Filter reviews
5,132 results
Traveller rating
1,508
2,399
904
200
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,508
2,399
904
200
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationdarling harbourgeorge streettwo double bedspillow menuaccor memberpublic transporttop floorconcierge deskbuffet breakfastcity viewpaddy's marketlight railexcellent locationstandard rooman upgrademini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,432 - 2,437 of 5,132 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in August 2013 for approximately a week, to attend a conference. The hotel is very clean and extremely well located, only minutes away from the central train station and a main bus depot, either of which can take you anywhere you need to go in Sydney. While limited drawer space may not make this the best place for an extended stay, the rooms are newly renovated and our visit there was very comfortable, with lots of options at their daily breakfast. The best part about the hotel by far was the concierge staff, who seemed to be there at all hours of the day and evening, and went out of their way to help us get around. The location and the wonderful staff alone would likely bring us back to that hotel if we visit Sydney again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCTraveler99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear guest from Washington,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Sydney and enjoyed our convenient and central location. I was also extremely pleased to hear that the Mercure Sydney staff were helpful during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have stayed here at least 5 times over the years for both work and pleasure. It's a lovely basic modern hotel fantastically located in the Sydney CBD and, while I occasionally like to try somewhere different over they years, I keep coming back to the Mercure. This time what really impressed me is that we got a room with 2 double beds at no extra expense, so that we could stay there with our toddler. Every other place wanted to charge $40 to $80 more for a cot or a fold out sofa. Whether we catch the train here or decide to bring up our car, the convenience is hard to pass up. We love walking, but no big deal to get to the CBD, Darling Harbour, Hyde Park or botanical gardens. A good value hotel, this time we were only on the 3rd floor and again found that the traffic noise outside (very busy location on all sides) still was not a problem. I suspect the windows are double glazed. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The city scape side on the higher levels can have a lovely view of the city
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poniesnpuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear guest from Wollongong,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Sydney and enjoyed our convenient and central location. I was also extremely pleased to hear that you would stay at the Mercure Sydney again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very good location for train travelers. The hotel was very clean and the rooms well presented. The staff were very helpful, except on the day of departure, when we opted to stay in our room until 10.30 (check out time 11.00am). We were "checked on" by staff keen to clean our room. As I was not very well, this was most disturbing. The restaurant was well appointed and the food of a good quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank GeoffRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear guest from Heyfield,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Sydney and our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a few times and always been satisfied. It is great for city central Sydney, being right next to Central Station, and bus stops for Newtown and the Eastern Suburbs. The pool is a decent size and good for a wake-up dip.
I selected this hotel because there's an option to ask for an early morning check-in, which is great for those who arrive at the airport at the crack of dawn off an international flight.
The buffet is extensive, with continental or full-english options; also a couple of Chinese dishes.
In room facilities include a coffee machine, dressing gown and bottled water.

Room Tip: A very good option for international travellers arriving early - not many Sydney hotels or apartments seem to allow for this option.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear guest from Amersham,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Sydney and our convenient location. I was also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews