We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Sydney location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #59 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

4,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,343
    2,218
    851
    183
    109
See reviews for
1,261
1,461
539
963
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Zabbar, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great welcome and hospitality when we arrived. The rooms are very comfortable,tidy and have good space. The breakfast was good and with lots off varieties. The restaurant was also good in quality and also the price was reasanable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinMicallef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I was pleased to heat that we offered you a great welcome and that you found our restaurant to be of good quality and price.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the staff very helpful and friendly. Coupled with the convenient location for public transport and walking around Sydney and the cleanliness of the hotel I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in central Sydney who is happy with a 20 minute walk to Circular Quay. Value for money this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPW_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear guest from Brisbane,

Thank you for your review, it was fantastic to hear that you find our team to be very helpful and friendly and that we offer value for money..
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recently stayed here for a night each side of our trip to Hawaii. We had 2 Adults and 2 children 15 & 12yrs.
Great and friendly staff, room was quite modern and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful, Breakfast was great.
My only complaint if any was there was no free WiFi in the hotel but for 1 night that was ok to cope with.
Would stay here again as was very central and close to most things.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear guest from Perth,

Thank you for your review, it was great to hear that you were very impressed with our team and our rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A simply great location with stop for free bus to circular quay just outside. The central station is 2minutes away and key busses pass the hotel. A 20mi ute walk to Sydney Uni. The hotel staff are all helpful and nice. Rooms very clean and comfortable. I have a special diet which the kitchen accommodated well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legaleaglebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear guest from Brussels,

Thank you for your review, it was great to hear that you find our team to be very helpful and that the kitchen was accommodating for your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cootamundra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is our one stop for going to Sydney with the kids. Easy to get to, family package includes breaks, parking and a movie.
Very close to Railway square, easy access to buses.
Staff very friendly, esp. Management in restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandLee2590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear guest from Cootamundra,

Thank you for your review, I was pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed or “Family Package”.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Property: Mercure Sydney
Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing