We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, comfortable and very conveniently located”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #64 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I checked into this hotel after the long flight from Amsterdam. Welcome greeting was predictably friendly, quick and efficient ... much appreciated after being awake for more than 24 hours.

The rooms at the Mercure are what one would expect for a 4* property (mine was on the 5th floor); comfortable and adequately furnished without being luxurious. The bed was comfortable enough; there is a desk chair plus a lounging chair ... something of a luxury itself in many hotels that assume the desk chair could be used for lounging ! Bathroom facilities are standard but adequate with everything one needs and a quite amazing twin shower-head arrangement, something I have never before encountered anywhere in the world, but which was superbly pleasurable.

Television service is on the minimalist side with fewer channels than I usually hope for, but after a long flight frankly it didn't bother me. My tiny gripe is that for the room-charge being levied, the Mercure does not provide a free bottle or two of water for its guests. Everything is there for a price but frankly it annoys me that for the sake of a buck or two, the hotel doesn't make this available. Yes there's a large bottle of Evian water at a price, but compared with the freebie at hotels around the world, I wonder why Accor don't provide this. Oh, and I opted for tap water just to prove the point to myself !

I had breakfast on my departure morning and for the $25 cost, it was excellent compared with many other hotels. A wide selection from all the usual "Continental" choices through to hot food, fruits and breads, and all very tasty and fresh. On a cold and blustery morning, it certainly beats going outside in search of something cheaper, and the views from the hotel's 1st Floor restaurant are very pleasing.

All in all, a welcome though short stay in comfort at a very conveniently located hotel right next to Sydney Central railway station. Of course I will come back again, depending upon the room charges at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, just to get a better view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingCodger_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the twin shower head arrangement after a long trip from Amsterdam. We look forward to serving you again on another visit. Kind regards, Greg Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,909)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,785 - 1,791 of 4,909 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Convenient location. Walkable distance to Chinatown. Small hotel lobby so appears crowded and filled with guests most of the time.
Breakfast was better than our experience at grand chancellor Gold Coast. Limited variety of dishes but there was good tasty food to fill our tummy. Good quality coffee, mocha, hot chocolate from the coffee machine.
Similar to business hotels, rooms were small but clean and not cluttered. Beds were comfy. Toiletries were of good grade. Tv channels were limited, with local channels aired. Aircon max was 26C. During the past 2 days with strong winter winds and cold temperature, the rooms were equally cold and the heating system was not effective. Overall, our 2 days stay at Mercure was neat!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Kavitha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

It was a pleasure having you with us here at the Mercure Sydney. It is so good to read that you consider us a “clean business hotel.” I also love our breakfast buffet and the walking to distance to different destinations such as China Town. We certainly appreciate your comments and hope to have you back as a guest again. Kind regards, Greg Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It's one thing to show contempt for a single diner by getting them to wait while you clear one of the small tables in a sea of large ones, all empty and likely to stay that way, to sit you in the middle of the others if this were, in some way, likely to avoid your being neglected, but it's another to end up being both forced to listen to the conversations of those immediately next to you and get neglected enough to avoid eating anything other than a main meal to get out of the place more quickly. Even worse that the single getting his seat within cat-swinging distance of a couple some time after you gets served first. Much earlier.

When, after a time, offered more water and given an opportunity to order something to eat a query if there was fresh orange juice got me the seater-person over with a complimentary glass of processed orange juice and a promise to speed up the order.

For a hotel dining room it has none of the ambience of even a freeway roadhouse. I remembered why I usually go for room service at a lot of hotels. At least in your room you already know what the ambience is and you get an approximation of delivery time. In this hotel's dining room it's the bad lighting, the uniform brown carpet, cafe-brown tables and chairs, over-used cafe-grade stainless steel cutlery and hearing whether young Stewart is playing in the under 16s or not.

The food arrives. There is a side-plate but it's of nothing other than ornamental value. Is bread a menu item then? Should I have to chase a waiter down for some? Glad I didn't order the entree after all.
My rare steak arrives medium to over-cooked, grey rather than red, with 6 mini-potato bits, 5 mini-mushrooms and one half of a cooked tomato. Pleasantly charcoally on the outside so pleased I didn't order it with a sauce.

As I eat and type, the potatoes rapidly cool. The steak becomes harder to dismember and for once I wish for a steak knife. I have a choice of conversations to listen to. One about tokenism-if-ever-heard-it and the other about how quickly things turn bad on you. I sip my artificial orange juice. The conversation next to me turns too intimate. Life can be hard and I find myself getting sympathetic to the speaker's misfortunes.

I see the other sole diner is now eating his bread. Bread is bad for you anyway I think. And so is this conversation. I need to get out.

He charges me for the steak only.

The hotel looks fine from the outside, not always the best sign of what's upstairs.
Friendly desk staff.
Enough lifts, turning up quickly enough.

The room. Small mini-bar built into the wardrobe including a small safe. Annoying hangers attached to metal fittings (who steals hangers?). A bed, bedside tables and a small desk with chair. All standard hotel wood and metal. And a TV with access to movies that I didn't use.
No idea of gyms or indoor swimming pools.

Hanging space only in the wardrobe. In common with a lot of hotels, no drawers so half your stuff stays in your bag. Powerpoints at floor level near the bathroom only, with the only others above the bar and above the desk. The ones above the bar are too low to the flat surface of the bar to use to charge my mobile. No power points near the bed.

Bed is a real queen size and not two singles strapped together.

Aircon only goes to a max 26, which ordinarily would be warm enough but it lies, so 26 is a lot lower unless it takes longer to get there.

The bathroom does flood from the shower. Nothing much to do about it other than take a very short shower or a bath. Perhaps the bath plug turning up on the top of the bath mat each day is a hint. I'm not a great fan of showers over baths unless you're paying budget prices.

You'll need two cards if you want the aircon to stay on when you leave the room.

Situated just behind Central Station on George Street.

As a hotel, comfortable enough. The restaurant's a shocker. Eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: They're average. Try somewhere else for a good room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank get_there_in_the_end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest from Adelaide,

I’m pleased to hear our front desk staff was friendly and you found a comfortable stay near Central Station.

Kind Regards,
Greg Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean, comfortable but quite small. Front desk service was average. The reception area was always noisy and busy with lots of guests, possibly tour groups but we found this happened most times of the day.

We had a few drinks and snacks in Eve's which was easy and relaxing. We also had dinner at Four Elements, and this was beautiful. The staff in both of these places were very friendly and their service was great.

Great access for all public transport and a nice walk to the CBD and Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajjbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear guest from Perth,

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear you enjoyed a clean room as well as the friendly service at Eve’s and Four Elements.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Clement M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

For breakfast not much varieties and need to pay extra for the premium coffee, not worth for paying AUD$25. Porridge is just plain porridge, only few different types of breads and pastries, fruits not fresh. For room, we found that it was not vacuumed everyday and bedsheets not changed daily.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kok Keong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest from Singapore,

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the sleepy quality of your room and our location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 178 in Sydney
1,318 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 178 in Sydney
5,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £106 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing