We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #63 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Convenient Location, across the road from central train tation.Very busy reception. Very rushed check in. Called before arriving to see if my room was ready, but were told they couldn't tell me. Room was nice, very clean and modern but small. Beds comfy as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HT V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I'm so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your visit here at the Mercure Sydney as well as your room and bed. We appreciate your kind words and hope to have you back with us soon! Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,393
    2,276
    863
    189
    115
See reviews for
1,294
1,502
548
992
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We looked for hotel with a convenient location and we got what we were looking for!
Took the train from the airport got off at Central and smack bang at the hotel.
Check in was a wee bit slow but friendly enough. Room was clean and fresh ...typical Mercure quality.
What we loved was the location...nice and close to the train and walkable to pretty much anything anyway.
If you are looking for a convenient location to explore beautiful Sydney then this is the hotel for you!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MitzfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
It was a pleasure having you both with us as a couple here at the Mercure Sydney. It is so exciting to hear that you would consider us a convenient location to explore beautiful Sydney. A perk with the Mercure Sydney is that we are so close to Central which allows you to get to and from the airport, Opera House, and many other locations with ease. We certainly appreciate your comments and hope to have you back as a couple again. Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The location was okay, but the room was very, very small. The staff was reasonably friendly and the room was clean. We were at the end of the hustle and bustle of the busy street so there was not a lot of noise. If I were going back, I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear our staff was friendly and you found a clean, quiet room. Be assured that I will share your comments with my team. If you choose the Mercure Sydney again in the future, we would be happy to ensure that you receive a different experience. Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Have been frequenting the. Mecrcure. Inn at Broadway for work and in terms of value for money and centrally located to airport, Central Station rail Station and a gazillion Asian restaurants this is probably one of the better in the area. The concierge and desk staff are friendly and helpful, and taxis easy to get at short notice. A good gym but very small and you need to get there before 6am to ensure a running machine. Rooms clean and comfortable and well serviced.

Room Tip: West side rooms have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and central location of the hotel. Getting to and from the airport, central station, and other areas is very easy at the Mercure Sydney. We look forward to serving you again on another visit. Kind regards, Greg Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 179 in Sydney
1,282 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#99 of 179 in Sydney
4,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#18 of 179 in Sydney
5,727 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Property: Mercure Sydney
Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing