We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean & Modern”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #64 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 13 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 5,040 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lodge D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect price,location,clean and service. I would highly recommend this property. Easy walk to China town and markets right next central and quick trip to airport. This property offers everything you look for in a mid range hotel. Staff quick friendly and efficient.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank lyndaann1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

What a compliment! It’s so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our perfect located hotel and our staff was excellent. Thanks for your feedback and we hope to welcome you soon. Greg Brady, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I chose this hotel for a recent business trip, based on reading tripadvisor reviews. It didn't disappoint me. The whole hotel had a clean and new quality, the room I got was on the top level (14) because I asked in advance; it was quiet due to being away from traffic below, great view of the CBD and Central Station clock tower, and easy access to the pool/gym/sauna area on the roof, which was small but awesome: heated indoor pool with blue lights, and a ledge overlooking the CBD with neon lights from our hotel giving a pink glow.
Kettle and room amenities were good, and well stocked cleaning cupboard, minibar, etc., which I expect from a hotel of this class. Bath was a little dirty though, but not too bad. It's so close to the city, and right next to University of Technology Sydney, which was where I was visiting. Helpful staff (though one receptioner had trouble calculating my bill), and a reasonable price. Concierge was well organised. The breakfast/lunch/dinner cafeteria on Lvl1 was very nice, looked amazing and breakfast buffet superb. All round pleasing for this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad you could enjoy all of our amenities here at the Mercure Sydney. The view from our indoor rooftop pool is amazing. Enjoy your time at home, and we hope to see you for another business trip. Greg Brady, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My Family and I went to stay there last week and as soon as we got into the room no Rubbish bags, the power points in the bath room doesn't work and most rediculous of all the handle on the bed side table was already broken - when i requested for the items the be fixed up the next day only the power points was fixed then the TV suddenly reset to PC mode as well.

The most important of all we had requested a higher level room on the booking paper but we got level 3 the lowest level and room was so uncomfortable at night time due to the spot light lighting up our room and facing the sun in the morning it is the most horrible hotel experence ever.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you the lower level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marcolui03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at Mercure Sydney.

Please contact the hotel on 02 9217 6666 or h2073@accor.com so that we can speak to you further about your comments.

Regards,
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The package we got at this hotel was amazing value. It included car parking in Central Sydney, and buffet breakfast for the whole family. Add that to the central location and ability to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Although it was a little more than we normally spend to stay in Sydney, the perks included outweighed the added cost had we stayed at our usual location. We comfortably walked to Paddy's markets, Chinatown, Broadway Shopping Centre, Darling Harbour, and into the city. I was a little cautious about the noise being so close to Central, but the only noise was from within the hotel-and that was mostly just opening and closing of doors. Next time I will definitely be taking my swimmers as the pool was so inviting (my son enjoyed it this time), and hubby can use the gym at the same time. Breakfast buffet meant everyone was well catered for and tummies full before venturing out, and parking meant we could check out and leave the car while we finished exploring without added cost! We will certainly be staying again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Felicity A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

It was a pleasure having you and your family with us here at the Mercure Sydney. I’m so happy to hear that you all enjoyed our breakfast buffet as well as our pool and the gym. We are in a great location to get to Paddy’s market, Chinatown, the Broadway Shopping Centre and Darling Harbour. We certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back soon. Greg Brady, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

With the Mercure located on George Street it was easy to get around. Granted you will do a lot of walking to get to the Sydney Harbor. There is a free bus that you can pick up right outside the hotel be we were never able to use it due to it's inconsistency.

The worst part about the hotel is that you only get 30 minutes of wi-fi a day. When I booked, the web site stated that there were areas in the hotel that had free wi-fi. You had to get a code and that was only good for one person each day.

Shuttle service round trip from the airport is $30.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cahurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. We enjoyed having you with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Greg Brady, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 182 in Sydney
1,387 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 182 in Sydney
6,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 182 in Sydney
5,462 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 182 in Sydney
4,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £92 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing