We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Was Cool”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #63 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pool Was Cool”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed at the measure for four nights....which was surprisingly enough time to see the city of Sydney.....it surprised me and my partner to find out the Sydney is actually very small (everything within walking distance of the Mercure)

the hotel room its self was quite basic although the bathroom was very nice everything you need was in the hotel from wifi which was a charge if you need more then 30 minutes a day, the bed was lovely and comfortable! and there was lots of space in the room itself!.....unfortunately we didn't use the restaurant as we ate out every night we stayed so unable to comment.

The pool was very amazing at night time and such a relaxation point if you've had a busy day in the city.

Overall a spacious hotel room that is close to everything you need and a nice distance from the airport so you don't see the planes going over but you still close enough for a quick transit :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our convenient location and your spacious and clean room. Especially the view from our indoor rooftop pool is amazing. Enjoy your time at home, and we hope to see you again here at the Mercure Sydney.
Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,393
    2,272
    862
    189
    115
See reviews for
1,292
1,501
548
990
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent 4 nights here and it is very nicely located. Some people may find these to be long walks but we walked to Hyde Park, the harbor and many other places from the Mercure. The free shuttle is also just outside the door as is the subway. So all in all perfect location. The room is simple but clean-- nothing fancy to be sure. I found it frustrating that there were few hooks in the bathroom and no place to store your clothes or prop up your suitcase or hang a dress. The shower was difficult to regulate-- small matters. The staff is amazing-- they know where to send you for the best of whatever you are looking for-- and they are very enthusiastic. Sunny was at the desk several times and she was very helpful and seemed genuinely happy to help. Access to internet was annoying. No free wifi beyond the daily 30 minutes which required a new password everyday and then the internet was slow. So if you wanted to quickly look up an address-- you would use all of your 30 minutes. This however seems to be the one annoyance with Australia as it was the same in Melbourne at a different hotel. Thanks heavens the staff was there to help.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milonga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
It was a pleasure having you with us. I’m so happy to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our convenient location. We are in a great location to get to Hyde Park and Darling Harbour. Be assured that I will share your comments with my team. We certainly appreciate all of your comments and hope to have you back again.
Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is in a nice building with pleasant decor.Check in/out efficient. Staff helpful and friendly. The breakfast was on par with other hotel buffet and the price ( $25.00) more reasonable. They charge for WiFi which is a pet hate of mine nut the lady at reception kindly gave me as voucher for 24 hours free access.Why a small cafe in Bali or Vietnam can provide free WiFi but a 4 or 5 star hotel in capital city needs to charge a small fee is beyond me. The fitness centre with pool and sauna is adequate. The light in the sauna wasn't working either day that I used the facility.I noted some comments about street noise but I didn't notice any and I am sensitive to noise at night.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor and didn't notice any noise. Th rooms higher up have views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterunderhill34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Mercure Sydney. I’m glad you could enjoy all of our amenities, including the breakfast buffet and the fitness centre. We hope to see you again.
Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Flew in from qld, caught train to central, arrived at reception 9.15 am, able to check in immediately, newly refurbished room top floor, 2 welcome drink vouchers, free buffet breakfast for two, room spotless, large and spacious, after long day working in CBD we walked back , refreshed selves, then downstairs met our friends for an excellent dinner, ' Mercure' do maintain a high standard of cuisine, both European and Asian. Good wine selection also.
Only negative was our friends who drove from outer suburb to dine with us were charged $10 per hour to park at hotel! We were embarrassed by this so paid the fee ourselves, next visit we will re think our dinner plans and maybe catch train to their place 'little Italy' Leichart.
Breakfast buffet more than adequate, staff attentive and a special request of poached eggs was delivered happily. European and Asian foods presented well.
All in all with the free wifi, great choice for short or long stay. Definitely worth joining Accor !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Parisnextyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room, our breakfast buffet and the restaurant in-house. We take great pride of service we provide to our guests, so it is great to receive such positive feedback. We hope to have you back again.
Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

great hotel ,good location and great service.
Very comfortable room .Restaurant has very good food and reasonably priced.
centrally located and in easy walking to most CBD attractions. Great prices for a good hotel in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mitchybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, especially our great location, your room and restaurant in-house. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After reading the mostly excellent reviews of Mercure Sydney in TripAdvisor, we looked around and got an excellent deal through Wotif for 3 nights (7th-10th February) including buffett breakfast for two.

Upon checking in, we were served by Mr Menake, who not only gave us a very warm welcome but also went above and beyond to make our stay the most enjoyable. Based on Mr Menake’s recommendation, we joined as an Accor member and had our room upgraded to city view. Also since the 30-minute Wifi access was not available, he kindly gave us a 2-hour Wifi access pass.

The room was rather small but very appropriate for the rate given it’s Sydney CBD. Everything was clean and immaculate, especially where it matters: the bed and the bathroom. The buffet breakfast that we had each of the 3 mornings we were there were nothing short of delightful. There was a great selection of food from Asian to Western, with an espresso machine to top it off. There are even a small gym, pool and sauna for those who would’ve liked to rejuvenate physically.

Overall, we’re very happy with Mercure Sydney’s customer service, location and amenities. Will definitely return next time we visit Sydney.

Room Tip: Choose city-view, definitely worth it! If you join as an Accor member, you might get lucky and get u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hadikaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review on TripAdvisor. It is so great to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Mercure Sydney and our staff was excellent. I’m glad you could enjoy all of our amenities, including our breakfast buffet. It was a pleasure having you with us and we will be looking forward to your next visit.
Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#64 of 179 in Sydney
1,282 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#99 of 179 in Sydney
4,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,136 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
5,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Property: Mercure Sydney
Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing