We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #63 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

4,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,406
    2,288
    868
    190
    117
See reviews for
1,299
1,517
550
1,000
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed here for just a single night stop over as it had been a few years since I had stayed at this hotel. Room was clean, albeit a little small. The queen sized bed was comfortable. Black out blind was terrific (love this!). The bathroom was small but well laid out with good lighting and space to put toiletries. Shower was very good. The thing I did find disconcerting was the odd choice for interior design. A mix (and clash) of normal boring 90s hotel fittings with some cheap designer items and a purple feature wall. They probably paid some one a lot of money to come up with this. Cant comment on the breakfast option as I ran out of time to indulge. Eve's Bar downstairs is a nice casual option. Reception staff were OK, but not promoting the Accor brand like my Novotel stays. Location was nice and close to trains and buses. They could do a lot more with what they have.

Room Tip: Ask them not to locate you next to the Service Room as it can get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteKnightDBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed the facilities- particularly the shower and the comfortable bed (both of which are really important to us at Mercure).

However, I was disappointed to read that you found our reception staff mediocre and I have passed this feedback on to ensure this does not happen again. If convenient, could you please call the hotel on +61 2 9217 6666 or email H2073@accor.com so that we can discuss your experience further. We strive to provide exceptional service at the Mercure Sydney and wish to rectify this experience.

Thanks again for your feedback, and look forward in speaking to you soon.

Regards

Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arranged for this room as a stopover at the conclusion of our cross Pacific Cruise from San Francisco to Sydney. It was very comfortable and close to the airport. Staff were very accommodating and the hotel was near shopping and parks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi Lindsay,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that our staff were helpful. We really appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Regards,

Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed three nights at the Mercure hotel and we had a lovely time. The room had an amazing view of Central station and the CBD, the staff was very welcoming and nice especially concierge (Josh), room service attendant (dean), restaurant manager (Alex) and the check out staff (Sony).
The room was large and we enjoyed having the Nespresso machine and caps ! The location is very good, everything is as walking distance.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: High floor and city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldox31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi Aldox,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that our staff were accommodating and friendly. I will be sure to pass these kind words on.

We hope to see you again soon

Regards

Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnedah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

A great location for public transport travel. Also convenient for private vehicles with its back street entrance. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet.
Dining room and breakfast also good. An enjoyable stay for us.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Glen,

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to see that your enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to your return soon

Kindest regards

Amanda Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 178 in Sydney
1,299 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
4,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,807 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
5,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Property: Mercure Sydney
Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing