We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,261)
Filter reviews
5,261 results
Traveller rating
1,571
2,442
918
204
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,571
2,442
918
204
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationdarling harbourgeorge streettwo double bedspillow menuaccor memberpublic transporttop floorconcierge deskbuffet breakfastcity viewpaddy's marketlight railexcellent locationstandard rooman upgrademini bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,028 - 2,033 of 5,261 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights (pre booked, not a good idea) mainly because of it's location, which was very good, close to trains and buses and only 10 mins taxi to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour.

Another reason was that the website advertises "wifi in your room" but fails to tell you that you have to pay for it. It is hard to believe that wifi is not free in your room. You can can get in free for 30 minutes, but not in your room, but it it is still very inconvenient.

Our major problem was the bed was like sleeping on concrete!!

The staff were helpful and we changed rooms but it didn't help. We ended up sleeping on three duvets and a blanket to be half comfortable. We are not that old and travel a lot, but this was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in, in a hotel of this quality. I would not recommend staying more than one night. Room size was good and block out curtains were great and traffic noise was minimal, we were on one of the higher floor.

We had dinner at the Four Elements Restaurant on the first night, we waited 45 minutes after ordering before we asked about our meal, which was quickly brought out, but tasted like it had been sitting around for awhile, not impressed and didn't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Railway Square, the higher the better
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Harrold,

Thank you for your feedback. I was obviously disappointed to read your review. I have spoken to the marketing team to update our website regarding the wifi. I have also spoken to the restaurant manager to investigate why your meal took so long. If convenient please call the hotel on +61 2 9217 6666 or email H2073@accor.com as we would like to discuss your experience further.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward in speaking to you soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Mercure is very close to the Sydney airport, which was nice. It is also nearby to many restaurants and shops, as well as the train if you want to go to Darling Harbour or Sydney Harbour. Check in was quick and easy. Staff was very nice and helpful, including front desk staff and concierge. Rooms and bathrooms were nice but small (comparable to any hotel in a large city, like London or NYC.) The bathroom lighting was great, as well as the toiletries. The room was very clean and maintained nicely by housekeeping. We went to the Four Elements restaurant for dinner one night, and although service was slow (I overheard the staff saying how backed up they were due to the rain and an influx of room service orders), the food was delicious! I had the gnocchi and my husband had the lamb rump, and both were excellent! The hotel has a gym and indoor pool, too, but we didn't have time to use it.

The only reason that I gave this four stars instead of five is because of the wi-fi. The website advertises "wifi in your room" but fails to tell you that you have to pay for it. It is hard to believe that in this day and age wifi is not included. They do have complimentary 30-minute access per day, but you have to go down to the front desk to get a login card. There were multiple times that my husband and I went down (from the 7th floor), just to get back up to the room to find that the login we were given did not work, so we had to go back down to get another one. This was extremely frustrating.

Room Tip: We had a city view room, which was nice!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Danielle,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is such a shame it was raining while you visited us on the weekend! I assure you Sydney does not usually have that kind of miserable weather. Thank you for your compliments about our hotel restaurant and I apologise for the wait time. I have spoken to the marketing team to ensure our website is more clear about the additional wifi charges. They have assured me they will fix this today.

We do hope to see you again soon (perhaps during our summer when the rain should stay away).

Kindest regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews