We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,261)
Filter reviews
5,261 results
Traveller rating
1,571
2,442
918
204
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,571
2,442
918
204
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationdarling harbourgeorge streettwo double bedspillow menuaccor memberpublic transporttop floorconcierge deskbuffet breakfastcity viewpaddy's marketlight railexcellent locationstandard rooman upgrademini bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,023 - 2,028 of 5,261 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Having only 3 nights in Sydney we needed somewhere comfortable and close to the centre. The Mercure did not disappoint and provided us with a great base to explore the city. After travelling for over 24 hours from the UK, my wife and I received a welcome surprise to find our room had two double beds to stretch out on - fantastic! We didn’t eat or drink in the hotel as there are a lot of cafés, restaurants and bars just outside, and if you wish to get further afield into the city there are plenty of public transport options running day and night. Our only regret was not having a longer stay in this beautiful city and lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank bremsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We also wish you stayed longer! I am glad you enjoyed the extra room to spread out.

We hope you visit us at the Mercure Sydney again soon

Kind regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed one night at the Sydney Mercure as a stop-over for our overseas holiday at the end of July 2014. The Mercure is conveniently located within walking distance of Central (bus) Station – even with a few bags of luggage, although the walk was mainly uphill. Access to the Central (train) station is even better (you couldn't get any closer!).

The service was very good – the staff seem genuinely friendly, not like the forced 5-star politeness I have encountered elsewhere. We stayed in the cheapest (Standard) room which was on the small side but definitely sufficient for our needs. One downside of the room was that it was very dark. There was no central light and we had to turn on every single light we could find to do our final re-pack for our flight the next day.

We went to the restaurant in the hotel for dinner and were pleasantly surprised. The choice of food was pretty good and the prices reasonable. The food was not super quick but we weren’t in a hurry so that was fine with us.

The concierge was very helpful with the few questions we had for him.

We were able to easily check-out the night before, which was very handy so we could head off to the airport in the morning without delay. I highly recommend doing that if you don’t plan on using the minibar the night before you leave.

Overall we found it a pleasant start to our holiday and would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saron_ACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi Saron,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Sydney and your meal at our Four Elements restaurant.

We hope you had a pleasant trip and hope to be your base next time you travel

Kindest regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed in a Deluxe room.
The room was a decent size and comfortable. It had good curtains to block the light. However, the aircon was very loud. If you turned it off, the room got very warm .. even overnight.

Breakfast was disappointing. You could order eggs but the poached eggs I requested were way overcooked. I asked for runny yolks the next day but the eggs were still overcooked with a solid yolk.

Like other Mercures I have stayed at, this one has dark carpets with fairly bright lights in the corridors. That results in any dirt or anything on the carpet reflecting; making the corridors seem dirtier than they really are. If they want to persist with this look, the carpet needs to be spotlessly clean.

Easy access to transport is why you would stay here. Trains across the road, and the light rail to the Star only a couple of minutes away.

Overall, I rate it about 3.5

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LoneRangerAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi There,

Thank you for your feedback. I was quite disappointed to read about your experience. We would like to rectify this as soon as possible.

If it is at all possible we would love for you contact our team on 9717 6666 and ask to speak with myself.

We really look forward to hearing from you soon

Kind regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews