We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for travellers”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #65 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This hotel is well organised and suited for air travellers, with live streams of airline arrivals and departures displayed in the lobby. I have always stayed here when visiting Sydeny from long haul, as they don't baulk at early morning check-ins. Furthermore, they always seem to have a lot of airline crew staying, which makes it a good recommendation in itself.
On this trip I discovered that there is a guest laundry in the basement, which could come in handy, if you have change from AUD10. The 30 minute complimentary internet hub on the 2nd floor was also a good find for a quick check of emails.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Kathryn,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased to hear from our regular guests and that you enjoy the facilities and the service

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 4,954 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

My Grandfather and I recently stayed 3 nights at the Mercure Sydney as part of a trip to watch the footy. We stayed in a twin room and had a comfortable stay. The room was great, beds comfy and provided ample room for the 2 of us. The hotel is in a great spot, a stones throw to central station and Eve's Place (downstairs hotel bar) proved a fantastic little pub for an afternoon drink. Special mention to Claire/Clara? At Eve's who provided stellar service and always made sure we weren't waiting for a beer. Thanks Mercure Sydney for a great couple of days

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mBowlesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with your grandfather. I have passed your compliments on to Clara and I am so happy you enjoyed your drinks at Eve's Place.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is one of the best Mercures that I have stayed in. The staff were amazing, the room was very comfortable and was located right in the heart of Sydney. One little tip though: do not stop on George Street to drive into the side street that it is located on. Turn the street before and you will not get tooted by a dozen other drivers!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StephenOrmsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Stephen,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so pleased to hear such a lovely compliment about our staff, location and hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights during my holiday in Sydney. I must compliment that the beds are comfortable and hotel is situated in a good location near central station. However, a major grip is in the constantly fluctuating showering temperature of which may result in sudden spike in temperature (beware of burnts!5). Other minor issues include poor room lighting and tv which do not have sounds on certain channels. Other areas of improvements includes providing more amenities such as free bedroom slippers, water bottles and free in-room internet which is already the norm at some overseas hotel. I will recommend the hotel for the excellent value.


Stayed: August 2014
Thank Ignatius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Ignatius,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed the location and the beds. I was disappointed to read about your experience with the shower temperature. I would like to rectify this immediately. If possible, could you please contact the hotel on 9217 6666 or at h2073@accor.com so that we are able to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you

Kind regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Very pleased with this hotel. They are very obliging on your requests. Our room as very spacious on the 14th floor very quiet and clean. A great start when the TV was put on to find a personal welcome message. Small touch but really nice. Check in staff where great and the concierges where brilliant our package gave us a free breakfast daily and that was awesome. Great selection of food and again great staff. The only thing I would not use again is the shuttle out to the airport. It was a ride from hell and very stressful. It is not much cheaper than the train and the train is more direct.
There is a free buss that runs from Lee street to the quey. Hop on and off. Great service. Only a 10 minute walk to a mall. 5 minute walk to the market. Buses at the door to go further.
Will definitely be back here to holiday again.

Room Tip: Ask for your preference. They are very obliging. We had 14 th floor and this was quiet with great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacklyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Jacklyn,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased to see you enjoyed the restaurant and the staff were so helpful during your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your welcome message.

We do hope to see you again soon

Kindest regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This hotel is at an ideal location to go anywhere within the Sydney region.
The staff are friendly but unobtrusive and the facilities are excellent.
Plus it is one of the few hotals in inner Sydney where parking is no problem

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Jean,

Thank you for your feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you have given us a five star rating. Your kind words mean a lot to the entire team at Mercure Sydney and I will be sure to pass these compliments on.

Kind regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is a nice motel centrally located. Bed is incredibly comfy but it was noisy with the air con amd noise from outside the room. The motel is located ckose to the train station with easy access to Olympic Park for c8ncerts and the airport using the airport link train.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alisha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Alisha,

Thank your for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the location and the bed. Please let us know next time about the air conditioning and I will send up maintenance straight away.

Kindest regards

Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 179 in Sydney
1,354 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
6,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £100 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing