We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, clean, comfortable”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #62 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, clean, comfortable”
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Very nice hotel, has a great atmosphere and service is great. Location is even better, right next to the grand central station and close to the busy China-Town.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kampvuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Brand, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review, which is greatly appreciated. There is also a new complimentary shuttle service buss 555, which takes you around the city. The bus stop is only a few minutes from the hotel. Thank you again for your review. With kind regards, Thomas Brand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,393
    2,273
    862
    189
    115
See reviews for
1,292
1,502
548
990
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We chose this hotel due to location for a business meeting. It is fairly centrally located and also close to Chinatown.
Our room was booked direct with the hotel on their website and included breakfast for $129 - basic room. It was more than adequate for a very brief overnight stay. If I were staying for leisure I would have paid the extra to upgrade to a better room.
The staff were welcoming & efficient, noise was not a problem, the room was clean & in good condition and the bed comfortable. So it ticked all the boxes at a good price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieandhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Brand, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Dear guest from Melbourne,
Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable time at Mercure Sydney. Your photos reflect our Standard Rooms and it is great to see that you can upload them into a review, which I have not seen before. Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Sydney. With warm regards, Thomas Brand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We stayed here as it was very near to family and as i think i have made clear the location is fabulous, next to bus stops and train stations, very near circular quay and darling harbour etc. The hotel itself....the room was nice, great TV channels for English speakers ( they have a pay view or interactive japanese tv thingymajig) Jade the assistant manager is fab, as are concierge. On the down side, they gave away our pre-paid hotel room to someone else , putting us in a non smoking room and the tv did not work, after a 2 day flight that was just annoying, we were upgraded to a city view. Room service was incredibly slow and had to be chased up twice, two other times it was fine, our room key stopped working twice and our smartbar card would stop working after one go which meant a trip downstairs or a humphy call to reception. the cleaning was basic. I would stay here again because of the location and I think it could be a fabulous hotel if they could iron out a few customer service issues. I think it is worth saying this again just because they were such a delight, concierge are amazing ( Adam especially).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kagga1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Brand, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Dear guest from London,
Greetings from Sydney and thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on your positive comments to Jade and Adam, who have been with us for many years. We are sort to hear that we have allocated you a smoking room by mistake. If there is no remark in your booking we generally allocate a non smoking room. We are sorry for the mistake and we are glad that you enjoyed your upgraded room. We had a few issues with the key card lately and we are currently in the process in upgrading our key card system, so this should not happen again. Room service should not take more than 30 to maximum 40 minutes and we apologies if the wait has been too long. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back on your next visit to Australia. With kind regards, Thomas Brand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

After reading some negitive reviews about this motel, I was a bit nervous about our choice. We were staying for 9 nghts so cost was a factor. We shouldn't have been worried. The staff were excellent, friendly and ready to offer great advice on what to see and do. The room was smallish but clean. There was a walk to the free city bus but all in all I would definately recommend this motel for the price. It was very affordable in comparision to most other central Sydney accom, central to transport, clean and most of all the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We didn't eat in the motel, as there were lots of cheaper options very easily accessable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucystupiddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Brand, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for your review. We are a large international hotel, which should run very smooth, friendly and with great customer service. With such a large hotel there could also get things wrong and we are glad that you choose Mercure Sydney even there are negative comments on Tripadvisor on our hotel. We are always sorry if something gets wrong and try to rectify it as fast as possible. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back on your next visit to Sydney. With warm regards, Thomas Brand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

The Mercure Sydney is a good standard tourist hotel, located adjacent to Central railway station. It is handy to Chinatown and Darling Harbour, but away from the central retail area and even further away from the Sydney CBD, so not recommended for business travellers.

We had a king room, located on the corner of the floor and it was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Very good option for a family of three. It overlooked a major bus station and our 6th floor room was a bit noisy in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Brand, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Dear guest from Adelaide,
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. Our location next to Central Railway and opposite the bus terminal is one of our biggest selling points. Sydney is a large city and we are not in the Circular Quay area, where more the 5 star hotels are located. But there is the complimentary bus shuttle service 555 a few minutes from the hotel and this takes you around the entire CBD from 9:30am to 4pm. Please visit us gain when you come to visit Sydney in near future. With kind regards, Thomas Brand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Aust
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

I organised for myself and 6 other friends to stay overnight in Sydney, as we were all up there to see a show. While the Mercure is one of the only affordable hotels that I could find that allowed max 5 people sleeping to a room, the manner in which we were treated was hilariously poor. I also think part of the problem was booking through wotif.com - not doing that again either, you tend to just get crap rooms.

I had booked two rooms, (one for 4 and the other for 3) and when I checked in, I was told that I had only booked one room. Thankfully this was rectified, but the rooms that were for us were not available yet and we had to be placed in two non-joining rooms. The room that I was sleeping in was fine, but when the boys opened the door to their room, they found group of other people using the room! At the time, it was all quite funny but who knows who that other group were and why the staff person at the desk gave out a room key to a room that wasn't available!? What if they were engaged in any activity that you definitely wouldn't want people walking in on!

Went downstairs and told the staff person, who I add was quite embarrassed and probably thankfully that he wasn't getting into big trouble. A new room was given and then that room key didn't work. Boys had to go down for a third time to sort that out. To top it off, I get a call at 11:30pm at night asking if I was going to check in to the hotel or not! By this stage, I was quite frustrated with the whole situation. One thing I can handle, but this was getting really ridiculous.

However, the rooms were clean and the beds mightly comfy even though the rooms were VERY small, esp when you are supposed to have 4 people to a room. But after all the screw ups with the rooms, I just couldn't be bothered or trust that the same thing wouldn't happen again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teegyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Brand, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Dear guest from Victoria,
Thank you very much for your review and I am sorry that you had reason to complain. Generally we treat any booking the same and we do not differentiate if a booking comes through a website or direct with the hotel. Our check-in time is from 2pm and it can occur that rooms are not ready before that time particularly if the hotel was fully booked the night before. We apologies if we have allocated and cut you the key to a wrong room. This is a human error and should not have happened. We are very sorry that this has happened and we take this incident very seriously. Again, please accept our apology and please do visit us on your next trip to Sydney. The new season with Jersey Boys is starting at the end of September and the theatre is not far from our hotel. With kind regards, Thomas Brand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We booked the Mercure because we would be arriving in Sydney early in the morning and they have a hospitality suite where we would be able to take a shower - this really made a difference to the rest of our day! Be prepared for other guests being let into the room whilst you are using it though!!

We found all the staff to be polite and helpful, and the hotel also has a taxi rank right outside, which was particularly useful when we had to leave for a 6am flight back home!

The hotel is located close to Central Station, and about a 45 minute leisurely walk up to Circular Quay via St James Park. It's a busy area, but once inside the hotel it's not too noisy.

Our room was on the 14th floor so we had quite a view across the city (though unfortunately not to any of the main sites). I think the rooms on lower floors have probably been refurbished and they are working their way up - the decor was a bit tired, but the room was functional and comfortable, so no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teignmouthlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Brand, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All our rooms are of the same standard and we have no rooms that are not renovated. We differentiate in Standard Rooms, City View Rooms, Privilege Rooms and Deluxe Rooms. But there are also a few Balcony Rooms and Studio Suites. Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to see you on your next trip to Sydney. With kind regards, Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#64 of 179 in Sydney
1,282 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#99 of 179 in Sydney
4,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Property: Mercure Sydney
Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing