We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Ranked #107 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Awesome Everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Perfect location to Cockle Bay Wharf. Champagne and Chocolates on arrival. Safe and Secure. The room itself was 5 star, modern, clean and the loft was beautiful. Awesome view of Darling Harbour! We loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GreatDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Property.
I do thank you for all your kind words it truly makes all the efforts that all my staff and myself put in worth it.
Do hope that you can come and visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    148
    81
    38
    36
See reviews for
145
101
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Maitland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Have visited twice now and have had same room twice upon request, on top floor (executive). Great location, views, value for money. Found it was better value & more convenient to have a roomy apartment self contained than to have a tiny 5 star room elsewhere. Kitchens have been fully renovated and are lovely. Found staff to be helpful and most courteous. Will be staying there every time I go back to Sydney as I know what my money is paying for.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise & great views. Saturday night fireworks are great. Visite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi Katrina,
It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us twice now. Our great location and views from the Executive apartments are a fantastic combination. Along with the newly refurbished balconies and kitchens, it makes our Apartments a true comfort.
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Me and my friends stayed at this hotel last weekend and had the worst experience- we will never stay again. We ended up having extra friends needing to stay (last minute emergency) and while most hotels do not mind this hotel will hound you! We were happy to pay the additional fees in the morning with our credit card but the front desk night clerk (who turned out to be the security guard) insisted we pay cash despite it being 3am. He continued to walk into our room without knocking and demanded the cas. We even went to reception to call the manager who had no issue with us paying in the morning but the night clerk kept demanding the money straight away in cash. We ended up having to give him $150 before he would leave us alone. Based on the service I will not be recommending this hotel. While the rooms needed an upgrade and the balcony a clean the level of service was the worst I have ever experienced as I believe this employee took advantage of tired girls with little choice compromising our safety.

Room Tip: Another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kali111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Kali, I apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us.
However, I would like to note that when you had spoken to me regarding the extra guests(3 as you only booked for 2 guests) at 3am, I informed you that you would need to pay the extra charge to Security Guard straight away, which you agreed to. You explained to security that you had to get your credit card from the room which he allowed. After 30 minutes, when you had not returned to reception, the security guard called your room and was informed by you that you were unable to come to reception and that he was able to come to the room to collect the cash.
I have views the video cameras of that night and the log of the security. The security guard was following our procedure as we are also a residential building with a strict no party policy, which you signed on arrival to the apartments.
We also allowed a 5th person into the room despite the fact that NSW fire regulations only allow us to accommodate 4 persons max in the room. This was not due to a ‘last minute emergency’, it was due to the fact that your extra guests lived quite a distance away and had no accommodation plans.
We have these procedures in place so that ALL our guests and residents are able to stay in a safe, secure, quiet and comfortable apartments that are so well located and appointed in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Geelong, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The apartment is in a good location, the room was clean and comfortable with a good use of space with the bed room and bathroom on a mezzanine level. Good value for money and I got bonus Qantas frequent flier points for staying there. Would use it again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you Richard, for taking the time to review our apartments.
I’m glad you enjoyed the well-equipped rooms and the fantastic central location we have to offer I hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The metro appartments are in a brilliant location just a stones throw from Darling Harbour but thats all they have going for them. The building itself is a climb of about 20 steep steps to the reception area so if you have heavy cases - good luck with the heave up.
The appartments are seriously tired - could do with a complete refurb.
They are lightly serviced every day but could do with a deep clean to get up to hotel standards
The windows have a shade coating on the glass for protection from the sun - this was torn off in large strips - not very nice
The balcony is a tiny strip - mostly taken up with the air con unit - not big enough to sit out on
There is a night club across the road which starts up with seriously loud drum and base from mid afternoon till way gone midnight - so no chance of an afternoon nap or an early night
There is a seriously uncomfortable sofa bed downstairs but you will need to pay extra for person/s to stay the night
Other than that - all ok

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferEckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to review the Metro Apartments.
I’m sorry to see that you didn’t enjoy your stay. Whilst our location is excellent, due to the fact we are in the heart of the city, outside noise is unfortunately unavoidable.
Thank you for mentioning the window tinting, as we are now getting all rooms re-tinted to solve the issue.
Also our sofa mattresses are being replaced to provide more comfort to our guests.
Thank you again for taking the time to review and we hope your next stay will be a more pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The location is primo, the staff were very friendly and efficient, the room was comfortable, clean, and well worth the price.
The loft-style rooms are very cool and give the impression and feel of space (not outer limits kinda space, normal spacious space).
I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moonenback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you Moonenback, for your review.
It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our well-appointed apartments, convenient location and courteous staff make the Metro Apartments a great place to stay.
Thanks again for your review and I look forward to you staying with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

It's a good location , the room was cofortable and clean , the hostel was very close of every attraction and shopping , the staff very friendly and helpfull . the view on darling habour is good and we close with the aquarim , it's great when we have some children , not so fare with the QVB and shoping . they have a pool ???
My family an me have good time there we like it .

Room Tip: The rooms are very quieter , large and sunny ; good place .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thierry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thierry, thank you for taking the time to review our apartments.
Our proximity to Sydney’s major attractions and shopping malls is one of our best features. Along with our great views, well-appointed rooms and friendly staff, the Metro Apartments is truly a home away from home. Unfortunately the Metro Darling Harbour has no pool, however the Metro on King Street, located right across the road, has a rooftop pool
We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#62 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour

Property: Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Address: Darling Harbour 132-136 Sussex St | Corner of King and Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Darling Harbour views from your balcony. Whether on business or leisure you will enjoy the benefits of staying in a loft style apartment right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Easy walking distance to Sydney's Convention & Exhibition Centre and many of Sydney's shopping precincts, theatre and entertainment venues. The loft style apartments are fully serviced with plenty of room to relax and enjoy your stay. The bedroom and bathroom is located on the mezzanine level and the fully equipped kitchen and lounge with balcony downstairs. Complimentary WIFI in all apartments. The Executive loft style apartment offers the same features and cathedral style windows from floor to ceiling overlooking Darling Harbour. Nearby Darling Harbour attractions are the Chinese Garden of Friendship, Sydney Aquarium, IMAX, Australian National Maritime Museum, harbour cruise departures, Tumbalong Park for concerts and events and Sydney Entertainment Centre. This is a smoke free apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing