We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Ranked #102 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 19 June 2014

More than enough space for a single traveller. Well equipped kitchen, washing machine. I liked the balcony with good view and posilbility to spend time with glass of wine and sigarette
not very well working wifi - the best place to catch it was in the balcony.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ivakoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Ivakon
Thanks for taking the time to review our apartments.
I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our well-equipped rooms and spectacular views are a real plus.
Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you are in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

1:) The best thing about the hotel is very close to some major tourist attarctions.
2:) There are some good resturants in Darling Harbour area so you can enjoy the quality food.
3:) The rooms needed to be upgrade because its looks liitle old.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hjawaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you, hjawaid, for taking the time to review our apartments.

It is true that we are very well located, within walking distance to all major attractions and restaurants. You will be please to know that as of the end of June, all bathrooms will be renovated.

Again, thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Terrific views over Darling Harbour & balcony was ideal for watching the Saturday night fireworks. Location is ideal as it's close to all the CBD shopping, theatres & restaurants. Darling Harbour is a short stroll over the bridge. Kitchen is well supplied & spacious & room has a nice open feel to it with the huge windows. We had a top floor apartment so heard no street noise at all. We would definitely use these apts again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Karen A, Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments.
I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in room 702 on the top floor.

With our great location, centrally located to the CBD and Darling Harbour, we truly have a spectacular view. It's great to see you got to watch the Saturday night fireworks, this happens every Saturday night and our apartments are a great place to view them from.
It's good to see that you made use of our fully equipped kitchen, which is just one of the conveniences that make the apartments a home away from home.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A word of advice, the rooms need upgrading for the price you pay, the photos on website make the rooms look a lot newer. Our bed was only pulled up each day not made. The bathroom needed a good clean. The view from our room was awesome looking over Darling Harbour, overall the room was very tiered and I would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you, Graeme M, for taking the time to review our apartments.

Thank you for mentioning the fantastic views from our Executive Apartments.

You will be please to know that as of the end of June, all bathrooms will be renovated.

The photos on our websites have been uploaded and updated as the apartments have been updated in recent months. I also regularly upload my own photos and videos on this and youtube.

Again, thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great location for an economical few days stay in Sydney if you want the option to cook for yourself. Its a bit dated, tired furniture and well worn carpets, but everything was clean and in working order. Staff are pleasant and efficient at check-in - Check-out. The winning factor is the easy stroll to Darling Harbour or CBD. Its a little further to walk to The Rocks and Opera House but helps work up a thirst!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IanM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you, IanM16, for taking the time to review our apartments.

I’m glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Metro Apartments. Our well equipped newly renovated kitchens and central location make the Metro a great place to base yourself when checking out all the local attractions.
you will be pleased to know that the owners and Metro Hotels are constantly updating all the apartments, currently all bathrooms are being fully renovated.

Thank you for mentioning my staff as I am proud of the efficiency and their ability to help all of our guests with whatever they need, we pride ourselves on being a small friendly family run apartment hotel, whilst being in a chain hotel.

Again, thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Metro appartments were in ideal location to darling harbour , kings wharf,etc staff were friendly rooms clean and tidy..and convenient to have washer dryer..and kitchenette..beds very comfortable..value for money ..only negative was the traffic noise. But this comes with being inner city.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise from traffic and harbour views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you, Lyn B, for taking the time to review our apartments.

I’m glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Metro Apartments. Our well equipped kitchens and laundry facilities make for a convenient stay as there are no extra costs for dining or laundry.
We say its a little home away from home.
and our staff are very helpful and knowledgeable, just like staying at a friends place.

As you mention, being so centrally located in the city, road noise is unavoidable, though this is minimized when booking our Executive apartments on the top 4 floors.

Again, thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Its one of those "if you can stand on tiptoe and press your face against the wall" views of Darling Harbour type hotel. We stayed here for a special break and felt let down from first entering the room.

Shabby-shabby rather than the more trendy shabby-chic. We felt even more let down when we were told to change rooms some half hour later (having unpacked) to one just above the entrance, with a view of a freeway. Some debating later we were reinstated to our stained and tatty but at least third floor room.

Noise was constant during our stay. Freeway immediately opposite, then a whole nights sleep lost on a Saturday night, due to a nightclub bar being immediately opposite.

There are no additional features provided by this hotel to comment on.

Other reviews clearly describe the Metro on Darling as tired and poorly maintained. I would trust these reviews and be very, very dubious reading reviews telling you other wise.

Would strongly advise to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere first. If having to use this venue, the highest floor may offer some sleep
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pumperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you, Roundtheworlders , for taking the time to review our apartments.

I’m sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Unfortunately, due to our central location, some road noise is unavoidable.
With regards to you having a view of Darling Harbour, you must of went with the cost effective lower floor option, and not our Executive Apartments which defiantly provide you with a view of darling Harbour.
I do not see the shabby shabby comment as all the apartments are constantly being updated and renovated, last year all apartments received all new kitchens, white goods, desks, 50 extra channels on foxtel, this year we have renovated the verandas and are completely re doing all the bathrooms.
I do hope that your next visit will be soon so you can see all the improvements we have done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#74 of 178 in Sydney
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour

Address: Darling Harbour 132-136 Sussex St | Corner of King and Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £107 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Darling Harbour views from your balcony. Whether on business or leisure you will enjoy the benefits of staying in a loft style apartment right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Easy walking distance to Sydney's Convention & Exhibition Centre and many of Sydney's shopping precincts, theatre and entertainment venues. The loft style apartments are fully serviced with plenty of room to relax and enjoy your stay. The bedroom and bathroom is located on the mezzanine level and the fully equipped kitchen and lounge with balcony downstairs. Complimentary WIFI in all apartments. The Executive loft style apartment offers the same features and cathedral style windows from floor to ceiling overlooking Darling Harbour. Nearby Darling Harbour attractions are the Chinese Garden of Friendship, Sydney Aquarium, IMAX, Australian National Maritime Museum, harbour cruise departures, Tumbalong Park for concerts and events and Sydney Entertainment Centre. This is a smoke free apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing