We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”
Review of Napoleon on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Napoleon on Kent
Ranked #122 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 4 October 2007

This is the second time we have stayed here and we find them perfectly located apartments.
We traveled from the airport to the apartments by train this time after seeing on our last visit how close they were to Wynyard station.
The staff were very friendly and helpful in giving us some ideas on what to see and do.
The rooms are well equipped and comfortable, but we didn't spend much time in them as we were out and about all day. We made breakfast in the apartments each morning and some lunches.
We had no problems with outside noise even though we had a room on the street level with lots of cars going past at all hours.
The location provides the best of both worlds as you are just moments walk from Circular Quay, the Rocks, Darling Harbor and the City Center.
For dinner we went down to Darling Harbor direction and there was a variety of restaurants to eat from. One night we attempted to find China Town but gave up after 20min of walking, only to find it in the next street! (it was a wonderful meal in the end!!)
Both trips we have booked our stay through the hotel website and have been in both a studio and one bedroom apartment.
Have recommended Napoleon on Kent to many people who have traveled to Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Swimmer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    145
    81
    31
    26
See reviews for
65
148
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

Booked directly with the hotel for a studio room at 150 AUD per night all inclusive (don't panic with the "taxes apply" once you have booked from ther website, WYSIWYP whatyouseeiswhatyoupay). For such central place in Sydney, it was not that expensive.

It is unclear if the bypass is buit on top of the hotel or the hotel is built as a support pylon to the bypass ... Anyway, at first sight, it was a bit depressing ...

But frankly, once inside, the place is so great that it could have been built upside down we would not care less. OK, our room faces the street so natural light is not plenty, but it is surprisingly large and so well equipped.

The reception was friendly and efficient.

The location is so great, half way between darling harbour and Circular quay, 10 minutes walk away. 3 minutes to Wyndyard station. What can you ask for more ?

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2007

We stayed on 17/18 March and were quite impressed. The overpass is literally on top of the hotel but you can't hear a thing. We walked from Darling Harbour and it took about 10 minutes, also 10 minutes to Circular Quay. Its around the corner from Wynyard Train Station from where you can go pretty much anywhere. The security is good as after checkin you need a key/pass to open the front door to the building. Reception staff were excellent, very helpful. Parking is underneath so you don't have to walk to separate carpark like many Sydney hotels. We were very impressed with the room (studio) which was huge, and very clean and well laid out. No noise from roads or other rooms or hallway could be heard. Would be good for a night, a weekend or a week, good base for business etc as well. We got it for $150 per night on a Sat/Sun through wotif. Great value for money in central Sydney. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The location and general cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becandjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We got a really good rate here around Australia Day in 2006. I agree with the reviewer who said that you shouldn't be put off by the overpass. It looks really bad in some photos and on the map, but we didn't find a problem with it (although you won't be spending much time out on your balcony!!).

An excellent location, and the rooms are very well equipped. One problem we had was with parking outside to drop off our luggage. There is parking outside, but it's very limited and quite expensive metered parking.

  • Liked — Facilities and Location
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank markmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Western Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

My partner and I spent a week in a studio apartment at Napoleon on Kent and while in terms of decor etc it was nothing special, in terms of convenience and value we were very impressed.

We booked directly through the hotel website and when we booked, which was quite a long time in advance, this was cheaper than prices quoted through any other websites.

The location is great, very close (150m from memory) to Wynyard station. If you are used to travelling fairly independently, don't consider a taxi from the airport or, worse, the overpriced and unreliable shuttle "service", but catch a train.

You can see on the website where the apartments are situated - directly under a freeway - which is bizarre, but was never a problem for us. You can easily walk into central Sydney and the Circular Quay/Rocks area, and Darling Harbour is even closer. Most ferries depart from Circular Quay but there are infrequent services to and from Darling Harbour as well.

The night we arrived we headed the wrong way looking for somewhere to eat and couldn't find anything open - head for Darling Harbour instead (ie look at a map, don't just head off like we did!) which is really well set up for tourists and where you can eat until late. There are many cafes and pubs and a food hall near the apartments as well. We didn't actually cook in the apartment, just ate breakfast, but it was definitely very well set up for it. There is also a huge list of restaurants that deliver to the apartments.

Staff members at reception seemed very helpful and there was lots of information on what to do and where to go in Sydney. (By the way, we recommend the outrageously expensive Bridge Climb, the Zoo and the tour of the Opera House especially).

The laundry in the basement is very handy with heaps of machines.

Overall, a very good value option in Sydney - we would go back.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Penny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

The hotel is in a great location - right in the Sydney CBD and short walks to absolutely everything! However, we were unfortunate enough to hav
e road works between 8pm and 5am (yes - overnight)! Because the rooms are right on the road, there was no escape from the concrete drilling and noise of trucks constantly backing up and moving forward. It was terrible, and needless to say, I did not sleep a single minute and was incredible angry and tired the next day. I'm sure this is a one-off occurrence, however, because the hotel is situated in a high density commercial area, bear in mind that construction is allowed to occur overnight. So make sure when you book that there won't be any road works scheduled during your stay! We were only provided with ear plugs, which did absolutely nothing! And we were also not informed that construction was going to occur, which was disappointing.

When you first see the hotel, you'll wish you had chosen another one because this is situated right in the midst of two busy roads and underneath an overpass! However, even though Our room was right on the footpath, it was well insulated. However, you did get the occassional motorcycle or truck that would wake you in the middle of the night. The bed was very uncomfortable, and caused us lower back pains during our stay.

The room had the stove and all equipment you would need to cook and was very well self-contained. We also had cable with heaps of movies - so that was good too.

Staff was friendly, even after a night of mind-breaking concrete drilling. They gave us a bottle of champagne to compensate.

Overall, am quite indifferent to this hotel. The roadworks on our first night probably tainted my perception of the place...

  • Liked — The location - right in the CBD
  • Disliked — The location - noise from the road
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fabs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

Went in April and to say it is under the underpass to the bridge, it is remarkably quiet inside, in fact of all he places I stayed in in Australia It was the quietest.

The staff were frendly and even told me where to go for a cheap steak and beer, but werent pushy.

Very centrally located short walk to the Harbour/bars and Darling harbour.

The Washers and driers werent cheap but hey,

All in all Great Apartment

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chapas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#66 of 178 in Sydney
263 reviews
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Central Business District
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon on Kent

Property: Napoleon on Kent
Address: Napoleon on Kent Serviced Apar 219 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon on Kent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Napoleon on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon On Kent Sydney
Napoleon On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing