We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tales from a bridge”
Review of Napoleon on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napoleon on Kent
Ranked #119 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at this place from 17-23rd July,and while it was clean,it was not worth the money.
The room we had 404 had a balcony but it would have been impossible to sit out on it as it was under the on-ramp for the Sydney harbour approach road,and the smell of fuel was overpowering.
The décor was a bit jaded and paint was coming off the walls.
The soft furniture was stained with what I hope was water,but who knows what it was really??
The crockery was incomplete with nothing matching.
The accommodation had laundry facilities,but to do ONE washing would have cost $4 for the machine and $2 for the drying facilities
There was no proper rubbish disposal facilities,as there was a sign stating DO NOT PUT ANYTHING down the chute as it would jam.
I would not recommend this place to any one.
It is certainly handy for transport with train station very close ,
There were major road works which started at 7am,but the hotel obviously had no control over these,although they DID NOT tell us that these would be happening during our stay.

Room Tip: not room 404
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erskine129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

spent 14 days here. Walking distance to The Rocks district, Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. Had a 1 bedroom apartment with cooking facilities dining table and chairs and also a sofa bed. Had a balcony but not much views to look at. We spent most of our time out sightseeing during the day coming back to the apartment to cook tea and then headed out for a bit of night sight seeing. In the foyer there was a drinks and nibbles vending machine and also there was use of a washing machine and dryer in the basement accessed by a lift. The apartment was clean neat and tidy and was a great base for sightseeing. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during our trip to Sydney for the British Lions tour and could not have been happier. It served our purpose perfectly , ten minutes walk to circular quay or ten minutes walk to Darling Harbour etc so it was a great base to sleep at night and then get out about to explore the sights and bars of Sydney. Furthermore the cost for such a central location was fantastic. Would recommend it and will defi use next time we are back in Sydney .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alpacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I spent 5 nights at these self catering apartments. I made my booking using Groupon coupons so the price was OK.
The location is very central, only 5 minutes from the Main Street in Sydney, George Street and a comfortable 10 minutes from the beautiful Darling Harbour.
A point to bear in mind. This is not an hotel, it's a complex of self catering apartments. Don't expect daily house keeping etc. if you want clean towels, you must go to reception & pay for them. Same for other services.
Once you understand what you're booking, it's good value at the Groupon price.
I'd hate to pay the full price, because, like absolutely everything in Sydney, it's grossly overpriced.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank BronzeTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Top spot, easy walk from the city, the rocks, circular quay and darling harbour. Rooms and place were OK, a bit old and tired, but you get what you pay for. The first room we were given was on the top (4th) floor which has a problem with damp and our roof had mould on it, and smelled of damp. We asked for another room on the 2nd floor which was fine. There was a bit of traffic noise from the street outside but not too bad. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are damp affected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toscanunan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

we stayed on a groupon offer, which was good value for money.although in need of some updating; our room was spacious and on the 4th floor. the staff are friendly and helpful..the big plus is situation. really close to darling harbour, the rocks and the city.

Room Tip: not sure what the basement rooms are like ; we asked for a higher room and got the 4th floor. you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

These serviced apartments were good value for money and ideal if you just want somewhere to sleep and shower. The room was large and well equipped. It had an outdoor terrace which we didn't make use of. Firstly, it was a really ugly space, and not very clean. But also, it was just below the public footpath with people walking just above our heady.
It was also quite noisy as it was on the road side, there was no view and it could also get very hot and stuffy, although it did have a good air conditioning unit.
The staff on reception where friendly and helpful. The apartments are very well placed for Darling Harbour and about a 20 minute walk to Circular Quay. Shops, bars and restaurants are nearby, as are the public transport links. About 30m away was a lovely cafe where you could get reasonably priced drinks and snacks as well as free wifi.
If you read other reviews, there are better rooms with better views so I would request this on booking again.
Communication before arrival was very good and staff offered useful advice around transfers and out of our checking in.
If you are on a budget, and not bothered about pretty views, then this is ideal.

Room Tip: Request a room harbour side away from the freeway and above ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellsbellsbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#66 of 180 in Sydney
299 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#44 of 180 in Sydney
928 reviews
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon on Kent

Address: Napoleon on Kent Serviced Apar 219 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £77 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon on Kent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napoleon on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon On Kent Sydney
Napoleon On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing