We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good affordable stay”
Review of Napoleon on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napoleon on Kent
Ranked #121 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend visiting from interstate, we really just needed somewhere to crash nothing super flash or expensive. But the hotel is clean, modern, we had a large bedrooms lounge bed and mini kitchen. I had a comfortable stay and was pleasantly surprised. Only down side.... Barangaroo construction is loud in the morning and the overhead express way noise. Perfect if you need to be up and at em early. Not ideal if you wanna sleep in.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank JodieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by how spacious the apartment was. We had a studio, downstairs, it was a very good lay out, with bed, kitchen, separate dining table and chair, desk and lounge with good sized TV. We had a cheap deal from living social so we weren't surprised to be in the basement floor. Wasn't too noisy but you could hear and see people going past in the street, so you tended to have the curtains closed. Bed was firm and comfortable. Extremely large shower with fantastic water pressure and huge nice white towels. Small vanity but overall bathroom size was good. It is self catering so servicing only happens on the 4th day if you are staying 7. The hotel is in the uptown reasonably close to Wynyard station about 250m. Lots of cafés close by Mon- Fri but not so many open on weekends as this is a business district. King st wharf isn't too far away and the main city centre just a couple of blocks up the hill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Wife and I stayed 3 nights in a very pleasant and comfortable studio apartment.
The place did not seem dated at all but seemed very modern, comfortable, clean and well managed and secure 24 hours.

The bed was comfy and firm and we had access to a small balcony which we did not use.
The area around the hotel is undergoing major changes to accommodate the new Barangaroo development which is almost next door to the hotel. There was some road works noise going on but nothing to seriously affect our stay or sleep.

On the negative side was the extremely difficult to slide balcony door and the huge towels.

Room Tip: ask for a room above street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geordie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at this place from 17-23rd July,and while it was clean,it was not worth the money.
The room we had 404 had a balcony but it would have been impossible to sit out on it as it was under the on-ramp for the Sydney harbour approach road,and the smell of fuel was overpowering.
The décor was a bit jaded and paint was coming off the walls.
The soft furniture was stained with what I hope was water,but who knows what it was really??
The crockery was incomplete with nothing matching.
The accommodation had laundry facilities,but to do ONE washing would have cost $4 for the machine and $2 for the drying facilities
There was no proper rubbish disposal facilities,as there was a sign stating DO NOT PUT ANYTHING down the chute as it would jam.
I would not recommend this place to any one.
It is certainly handy for transport with train station very close ,
There were major road works which started at 7am,but the hotel obviously had no control over these,although they DID NOT tell us that these would be happening during our stay.

Room Tip: not room 404
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erskine129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

spent 14 days here. Walking distance to The Rocks district, Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. Had a 1 bedroom apartment with cooking facilities dining table and chairs and also a sofa bed. Had a balcony but not much views to look at. We spent most of our time out sightseeing during the day coming back to the apartment to cook tea and then headed out for a bit of night sight seeing. In the foyer there was a drinks and nibbles vending machine and also there was use of a washing machine and dryer in the basement accessed by a lift. The apartment was clean neat and tidy and was a great base for sightseeing. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during our trip to Sydney for the British Lions tour and could not have been happier. It served our purpose perfectly , ten minutes walk to circular quay or ten minutes walk to Darling Harbour etc so it was a great base to sleep at night and then get out about to explore the sights and bars of Sydney. Furthermore the cost for such a central location was fantastic. Would recommend it and will defi use next time we are back in Sydney .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alpacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I spent 5 nights at these self catering apartments. I made my booking using Groupon coupons so the price was OK.
The location is very central, only 5 minutes from the Main Street in Sydney, George Street and a comfortable 10 minutes from the beautiful Darling Harbour.
A point to bear in mind. This is not an hotel, it's a complex of self catering apartments. Don't expect daily house keeping etc. if you want clean towels, you must go to reception & pay for them. Same for other services.
Once you understand what you're booking, it's good value at the Groupon price.
I'd hate to pay the full price, because, like absolutely everything in Sydney, it's grossly overpriced.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank BronzeTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#63 of 179 in Sydney
308 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#104 of 179 in Sydney
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#86 of 179 in Sydney
59 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Hotel CBD
Sydney Hotel CBD
#123 of 179 in Sydney
213 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon on Kent

Address: Napoleon on Kent Serviced Apar 219 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £77 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon on Kent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Napoleon on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon On Kent Sydney
Napoleon On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing