We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Ranked #90 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staff were very friendly on arrival/check out and when we were asking for directions/information. Rooms were clean, well kept and spacious. Location was fantastic as we walked everywhere for the weekend. In heart of china town, 5 min walk to circular key and approx 30mins to Darling harbour. Price was very reasonable for the long weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpaGirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter-NRDH, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear SpaGirl85,

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review of the hotel. I am delighted to read that you received excellent service from the staff, and enjoyed the hotel's location and rooms.

I hope you enjoyed your long weekend in Sydney, and we hope to welcome you back to Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour again soon.


Kindest Regards,
Peter Emery
General Manager
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is one of the more affordable properties I could find in Sydney CBD. Also, the in room dining food is good and service prompt and courteous.
Its close to Chinatown in a secluded corner but close to Darling Harbour. But the property by itself is a disappointment. Its more like a cramped 3 star hotel...rooms are so small, passages narrow, and lobby is functional. The elevators felt spacious.
Go here for a functional hotel in heart of the city with good room service.

Room Tip: Not much to advise on. Room upgrade only gives you better toiletries/safe but not much else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The location is very good. Unfortunately that is the only thing going for it. The room was not cleaned to a decent standard. The furniture looking tired and the bathroom was in need of renewing. The immediate area had building work going on and was a bit unsightly. The 5 minute walk to the Harbour was not an issue.
The wi-fi did not extend to the rooms and the computers in the cafe style breakfast area were very much hit and miss. Breakfast itself was rather chaotic as there are not enough tables for the guests. It looks like they are an internet cafe, as a coffee is about all you want there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyOpinion22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter-NRDH, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear MyOpinion22014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour. Firstly, please accept my apologies for your experience during your stay at the hotel. We have been in a process to upgrade rooms, which is a long process as you may appreciate, and therefore currently still have rooms that feature old furniture. However, I am disappointed that the cleanliness of the room was not of a good standard and I have addressed this issue with my management team to ensure that this does not occur again.

There are many developments currently taking place in Darling Harbour, and I can empathise that some surroundings are a bit unpleasant to look at during this transition period. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel though, and hope that once all of these developments are completed, we are able to welcome you back to Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour again one day, so that you are able to experience the renewed product.

Once again, thank you kindly for your review, your earnest feedback is very much appreciated.


Yours Sincerely,
Peter Emery
General Manager
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank notneil
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter-NRDH, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Filyn101
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter-NRDH, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Accommodation is really difficult to find in Sydney, and more difficult when there is the Vivid Festival and hundreds of Rotarians in town. We managed to get two rooms here and for the week's stay could only reflect on our good fortune. The rooms were more than fitting for the price we paid (have paid a lot more for a lot worse) but what really stood out was the fantastic service from the staff. They were only too willing to help and nothing was a problem. There was an issue of the booking for one of the rooms. It was not the hotel's fault but they very quickly took the position that the customer is always right and sorted it out. We never ate here so cant comment on the food but the location was good, the rooms clean and kept that way and the beds very comfortable. Will certainly be back here when staying in Sydney again.

The only irritation was that the bedside alarm clock emitted a very bright light but that was easily solved by turning it upside down.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter-NRDH, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Kiwilah,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review for Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your overall experience here, especially the location, rooms and staff service.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour during your next visit to Sydney.


Kindest Regards,
Peter Emery
General Manager
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Curtains faded with large holes, worn, threadbare furniture, loose tiles in bathroom, poor TV reception and WiFi that would not work, let this hotel down badly. Cleaning was cursory at best. The hotel's location great, reception and coffee bar very modern encouraged me to stay for my five days, otherwise I would have been "out of there"!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishaDel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter-NRDH, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear CoatesvilleLavender,

Please accept my apologies for the state of your room, especially in respect to the curtain. This is simply not the standard this hotel should be setting. I have taken immediate steps with my housekeeping team to follow up on what happened and the measures to ensure the room is completely ready upon each arrival. I am, like you, not be happy with his level of cleanliness and attention to detail.

Please be assured this is not the typical standard for which the hotel is renowned. I would like the opportunity upon your next visit to Sydney for you to communicate with me direct, so that I can accommodate you in a room with a special offer and help restore the faith in our product.

Your feedback is very much appreciated, and I thank you for taking the time to write this review for Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour.


Yours Sincerely,
Peter Emery
General Manager
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 180 in Sydney
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour

Address: 17 Little Pier St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £81 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour is ideally located in vibrant Darling Harbour within easy walking distance of the city centre of Sydney. Perfect for business trips, holidays and city breaks, the hotel is adjacent to the ICC Sydney. Guests can enjoy a drink or delicious meal in our renowned heritage listed Pumphouse Bar and Restaurant. Other features include meeting facilities, a heated indoor lap pool and a gym. Close to all the excitement and attractions Sydney has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novotel Hotel Sydney
Novotel Sydney
Sydney Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing