We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very pleasant bar service and buffet area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #74 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kiama
1 review
“Excellent location and very pleasant bar service and buffet area”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Is the buffet area available for lunch at the Novotel?

I did wonder though when I was having breakfast on 19th August and it was very busy - why an area was marked with reserved tables so were therefore not available?

I would like to stay at this hotel but there were no rooms available to see when I enquiried. I always prefer to see the room I am likely to have before booking - having had a bad experience in a different hotel before.

I would also like to enquire if rooms at this hotel are available for the New Year celebrations.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Peilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    1,783
    813
    252
    175
See reviews for
1,364
1,442
256
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is located on Darling Harbour and thus quite well located, but, I have really one complain.In 2012, the internet fees are a shame. Asking the customer to pay for 25 AUS$ for one day pr 12 AUS$ for 2 hours while the room charges are already 200 AUS $ for one night, made me felt I came back 10 years or more ago... Although the hotel is quite old ,the rooms are very cleaned and the bed very good, but, the lighting sytem is not convenient at all. There is no central panel to switch on/off the lights which is not conevnient.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Olive1981,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us.

We have to agree with you in terms of our location as Darling Harbour is a renown tourist destination.

Access to cheap, reliable and fast broadband and other internet services are a rarity in Australia. Australian broadband & Wi-Fi networks are considered to be of a poor and expensive quality when compared to other major global cities. To combat this perception we offer our guests the best and most affordable internet access available. With this understanding we offer a free Mac internet kiosk which is available 24/7 as well as free Wi-Fi access within our hotel lobby. We also have a Business Centre located on the first floor which also provides complimentary internet access and copying facilities.

Regarding your feedback of a central panel to switch on and off the lights, all of our rooms are equipped with a central switch at the entrance where you place your room card to activate the electricity in the room. This complies with our Earth Check certification. We apologise that this was not convenient for you stay.

Olive1981, thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Sydney.

Have a lovely day.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahroonga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

great Hotel. great location. Friendly staff. But.... everyone had to wait 10 minutes every day for the elevators. Ridiculous. i opened the fire stairs to help people down. I even carried their luggage. Stupid

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravelJunkkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I booked this hotel with 50% off price because my husband got a loyalty accor card. He worked at sydney convention center as a loyalty casual staff during uni time. All the casual staffs who worked more than 3 years will entitled accor loyalty card from company. back to hotel itself, i don,t complaint about the service. The rooms is clean and smells good. All the staff are friendly and always greet u whenever they see you. Keep a good work guys:)

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Great location at Darling Harbour. Nice view of harbour although small window.
We arrived late and tired after delays at airport looking forward to a hot bath and relaxation. No bathrobes in room. Rang housekeeping to ask that 2 be bought up. 30 minutes past so I rang down again for the same request.......30 minutes later no bathrobes still nor any communication about the delay. Third time ........ an hour later I phoned and asked to speak with duty manager. Within 15 minutes there was a knock at the door - delivery of 2 scungy looking bathrobes not folded with no ties and staff member saying we had to hunt everywhere to find these.........They looked and felt as though they should have been in the bin..Disappointed greatly expect better service and quality for a 4 -4.5 star hotel.
Will think twice about staying here again. Not a cheap hotel and expected better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinnieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#68 of 179 in Sydney
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing