We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #74 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The good things first: stayed here for one night with my wife and we had a great room on the 9th floor with views over Darling Harbour. The window is one large panel so you get the feeling that the city skyline is a wall mural and at night is visually stunning. the room was quite large as well (we had a Superior Room). Staff were very good at the front desk, checkin was pleasant and painless. Asked for an extension to our check out time and there was no problem. You also could select from a range of pillows which was nice. Buffet breakfast was ok - nothing special. Location is fantastic, especially if you're staying around Darling Harbour, or watching the fireworks.

On the negative side, yes these days the hotel should be providing FREE wireless into the room. And please don't offer that same old excuse that Australian prices for broadband internet are very expensive... Prices and capacity have changed dramatically over the last few years so Novotel please UP YOUR GAME! Also the bed was not very comfortable - it was pretty soft and we felt like we were rolling into the middle of the bed.

Room Tip: If you can, get a high floor facing the harbour - spectacular view. And if you're flexible with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    1,782
    813
    252
    175
See reviews for
1,364
1,442
256
897
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We just recently stayed at the Novotel Darling Harbour, rooms were very spacious, bathroom good size, staff were very friendly, and the full buffet breakfast was very enjoyable, the Novotel is just a few minutes walk to the Sydney Convention Centre and all the attractions Darling Harbor has to offer, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We just returned from a brief trip to Sydney, to attend a concert at Lyric theatre at Star City. We stayed one night at Novotel and found it very convenient as it is within 5-10 minutes walk to Star City. It is also a stone's throw from Darling Harbour. Room is large, by Sydney standards and clean. Minibar is well stocked and there is iron and ironing board in the room. Our only complaint is the lack of the usual accessories like shower cap and bedroom slippers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CF W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Was in Novotel from 18/8 to 21/8. The experience from booking online, securing the rooms to the last day of our stay was memorable, effortless and made us not only fell in love with Novotel but with Sydney as well. The online booking team was not only friendly but their reply was very prompt and helpful. Our two rooms with interconnecting door and harbour view were ready when we checked in. Arrived just on time to watch the fireworks from our room windows, it was awesome and spectacular!! I have read the other reviews commenting on lack of toiletries, toothbrushes, shower caps, bath robes etc but to us the strategic location wins hands down.
The Harbourside shopping centre right at the back of the hotel connected by a covered walk way is extremely convenient. You will be spoiled with choices of restaurants and eateries, eg, Blue Fish, Hurricane, Dragonboat chinese restaurant, Pancakes on the rocks etc. All the tourist attractions are within walking distance. The Maritime Museum, Star Casino, across the Pyrmount bridge to the Sydney aquarium, Madamme Tussaund and continue walking along Market street to the shopping area, Pitts street Mall, George street etc. We also took the Captain Cook ferry cruises to Tarango Zoo from the Darling Harbour itself.
Special thanks and praises to the check in staff, the housekeeping and those at the concierge particularly Josef for arranging a private van for 5 of us for only AUD 65. Thanks a lot and we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggielsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

As usual, we received an "upgrade" (harbour view room),and the room was ready and we were able to check in early.The staff at check in we great!.
It was a bit disappointing that we were unable to use the dining room for Lunch or dinner that night(Olympians were staying too), so we had to find somewhere else to dine that night.
The room was nice, however I think it is high time the mattress was changed, it totally sagged, no support at all,....bad backs in the am....not happy at all with that. Anna-Rose

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna-rose52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Only dissapointing issue was that daily cost of parking. I had thought that as a customer paying for room, breakfasts etc a better daily rate could be considered. Two days (arrival and departure) were less than half a day but the full rate applied.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Is the buffet area available for lunch at the Novotel?

I did wonder though when I was having breakfast on 19th August and it was very busy - why an area was marked with reserved tables so were therefore not available?

I would like to stay at this hotel but there were no rooms available to see when I enquiried. I always prefer to see the room I am likely to have before booking - having had a bad experience in a different hotel before.

I would also like to enquire if rooms at this hotel are available for the New Year celebrations.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Peilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#67 of 179 in Sydney
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing