We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice comfortable and well appointed rooms but getting to the hotel by light rail is a rather experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #68 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“nice comfortable and well appointed rooms but getting to the hotel by light rail is a rather experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

the hotel can't be faulted as such. large comfortable clean room with soft bed.
but we decided to get to the hotel via light rail because the parking fees quoted to park at the hotel is $45 per day which is quite an outrageous fee in my view considering the vast amount of car spaces in various car parks around the hotel. (there is a public car park right next door that charges $15 overnight stay but the hotel failed to tell us about it). so to get to the hotel form the light rail station, you have to walk inside a covered car park which is badly lit and unpleasant to walk through and there seems no other option if you want to get to the hotel via light rail.
the extra charge for using credit card to pay your hotel bill is not a welcome extra though not a large amount of money.
Pyrmont view rooms are perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: take a car and stay at the public car park next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We understand that CBD parking can be expensive and therefore are always looking at other areas where we can save our guests money.

Please rest assured that we be looking into the lighting from the Light Rail station and will endeavour to get the appropriate persons to fix this issue, as we would like our guests to feel safe as possible when walking from the station.

We hope you choose to stay at Novotel next time you are in Sydney as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    1,720
    779
    241
    166
See reviews for
1,310
1,391
245
844
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

overall very good although not helpful to not have a stationery area at the hotel entry for baggage drop off and check in point, I was immediately directed into the hotel car parking area where there is no immediate and easy access to hotel reception, the Ibis Darling Harbour has better facilities in this respect


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank unknown_quant27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The location is very good for Darling Harbour attractions, the Lyric Theatre, Star Casino, but a little out of the way for Sydney CBD to walk, however the light rail runs adjacent to the hotel, and ferry services are close by to most Sydney destinations. The Darling Harbour facing rooms have good views of Cockle Bay.
There are firework nights in Darling Harbour on some Saturday nights at 9pm, rates for those nights seem to have risen sharply, and you will need to book early at the local restaurants for dinner as they are very popular on tall Saturday nights but especially on firework nights.
The restuarants and eateries at The Star are very good. Convenience stores with beer and wine are available across from the rear of the hotel on the Pyrmont side.
Harbourside is a tourist type shopping mall in front of the hotel, but has little to offer compared to Sydney CBD shopping. Star Casino has top label shopping and is about a 5 minute walk. Good Farmers markets are held on Saturday mornings near the hotel. Sydney Aquarium is close by, and the National Maritime Museum is very close by and is well worth a visit.
The rooms are well appointed, comfortable beds, reasonable size bathrooms, the usual overpriced minibar. There is a safe, ours didn't lock, but a call to housekeeping had a new battery inserted within minutes. Unfortunately, the safe wouldn't open for us the next morning, again, housekeeping sent someone to fix the problem within minutes, but I was wary of the safe after that.
A free late checkout upto 1 hour is available, but any time after that is charged at $20 per hour even for Platinum members, Novotel does not offer rewards like newspaper or late checkout for card holders.
I had booked the hotel through the Le Club webpage at a special rate, but the rate at checkout was substantially higher. I had a copy of the booking and reception adjusted the account, but it was a bad look on an otherwise good stay. For Accor travellers, the Ibis is next to the Novotel.
A taxi to the airport cost $50 including road tolls, and took about 15 minutes (off-peak time).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thedoultonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a detailed review of your stay!

We are glad that you found our location ideal for the purpose of your stay and the information you have provided on here is sure to help out fellow travellers!

We do apologise for the issues you encountered with your in-room safe, sometimes technology just isn't on our side.

We all hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best Wishes
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have been staying here for 3 nights, and enjoy the location of this hotel, and we were in the executive room, and which give us enough space for family of 4. The staffs are friendly, and helpful, and the bed is comfortable.

An incident happen...I was trap in the lift for 5 min. on my first day, it felt like hours, there were another 7-8 people there with me. I hope this wont happen again, when we are back next year!

Overall, we will be back, really enjoy our stay.

It will be good if they have some kids swimming support in the pool....it is not kids friendly pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenwenaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sydney.

We have to agree it can be a frightening experience when a lift decides to stop working and luckily it is not a regular occurrence!

We hope to see you back at the hotel soon!

Warm Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#64 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#63 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing