We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #74 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014. The staff are extremely friendly, all smiles. The view from the room was amazing. Most of the attractions are a short walk from the hotel, a cab ride from hotel to Sydney tower eye will cost you less than $10 and if you prefer to walk, its roughly around 20 min walk. The rooms were good size, although I must say its about time the rooms need some extra care. One thing I would have expected from this hotel is the in room foot wear. I don't think that's provided. Also, the room service crew need to ensure tea coffee are all topped up when they do the daily room service round. I had to chase them up for tea coffee sugar everyday.
As I mentioned, its a great family hotel, I will most definitely be staying there again if I was to go back to Sydney.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rajan_g4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing us with such positive feedback, it’s always great to see.

Thank you for the feedback in regards to your room amenities I pass your comments on to our housekeeping manager to share with their team.

I am glad to see you visited the Sydney tower eye. Did you know that the hotel offers a “Go wild Package” which includes a complimentary family pass into two of Sydney’s top attractions with a choice of five to choose from? Bookings for this package can be made directly through our reservations team on 02 9934 0000
We do hope you visit us again soon and that your next stay will be as pleasant as the first.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    1,783
    813
    252
    175
See reviews for
1,364
1,442
256
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Booked through Accor for my complimentary night when arrived told I would have to pay even though I had a confirmed email. I was told someone would contact me no one has. An invoice placed under my door stating nothing was owing so I assumed it was sorted out. Two weeks later my credit card was charged without any contact. I manage a resort and would never treat a guest how I was. The professional contact of this company and staff was disgusting. I would advise people to stay clear of this motel, room was not ver clean and staff very unfriendly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing us with feedback, I do apologize if you stay did not meet your expectations.

It is concerning to me that you had issues with our staff and charges on your credit card. Due to the privacy restrictions on trip advisor we cannot see your contact details and we would like to speak to you personally in regards to this matter. One of our assistant managers can be contacted on (02) 9934 0000 and are available to talk at any time.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you do contact us, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night and had great views of Darling Harbour and the 5 minute fireworks at 9pm and while the room was spacious and comfortable the overall experience was overshadowed by the curt and unsmiling reception staff and the extremely disappointing quality of the room service. The kids ordered pizza which was undercooked, frozen pizza and my beef salad had raw beef that was unseasoned. On checking out the reception were again unfriendly and when they made a mistake with the bill didn't apologise but rather seemed put out that I required a refund of the over charging.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyseB980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback, I do apologize if you stay did not meet your expectations.

It is concerning to me that you had issues with our staff and room service, therefore I will be share your comments with our Front Office Manager, as it allows us to improve on the issues you have raised providing future guests with a high quality product that is the Novotel standard. Should you wish to discuss the matter further please don't hesitate to contact her on 02 9934 0000.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights for our anniversary and couldnt fault this hotel. Everything was what we wanted. We didnt find it at all tired looking, on the contrary we were really pleased with our room. There is happy hour in the evening and a grab and go breakfast first thing. We brought ours up to our room and it was really good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing us with such great feedback; it is always a pleasure to see.

We are glad to see that you made use of the grab and go menu; this is something we started on a trial basis and soon became a permanent feature due to its popularity. It is very popular with our corporate guests who are always on the go and it great for those days where you don’t want a huge buffet breakfast.

I do hope you visit us again soon and that your next stay will be as pleasant as the first.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely family friendly hotel. Staff were accommodating and helpful. We only had one night here but we took advantage of the swimming pool which was great fun. The restaurant was fabulous for both breakfast and dinner our food could not be beat especially if you own an Accor card which made it extremely affordable. The location is handy to harbourside and darling harbour as well as a short walk to town. Our only negative is not about the hotel itself but a hairdresser in the harbourside mall that shafted my parents for mens basic hair cut for $250.00AU. We were shocked. If we are in Sydney we will be staying here again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DameGabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with such great feedback; it is always a pleasure to see.

The Novotel brand strives its self on their Family benefits, its glad to see you took advantage of this with breakfast, not many guests realize the potential i.e. two children can eat breakfast for free when dining with their parent or guardian in our restaurant. It’s these small benefits that make the Novotel brand stand out.

I am glad that you enjoyed our pool facilities it is a rare opportunity to relax and unwind in area that showcases spectacular view of our city.

I do hope you visit us again soon and that your next stay will be as pleasant as the first.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights before a cruise and one night on our return. On our second stay we had a great view of Darling Harbour. Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. The free wifi in public area was very slow, it was better to use one of the computers but you needed to wait until one became available.

A good selection of food was available at the breakfast buffet and staff were helpful in replenishing food and tea bags.

This hotel is conveniently located near many restaurants, the maritime museum and approximately a 10/15 min walk to the main shopping area and Sydney Tower.

If we were ever back in this area we would certainly stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to other tourists.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JN51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with such great feedback; it is always a pleasure to see.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast; our food and Beverage team are always looking for new and fresh ideas to produce a variety of breakfast options.

As mentioned by many of our guests, one of our key features is that the hotel is centrally located in the heart of the darling harbour precinct and is most convenient for all needs.

I do hope you visit us again soon and that your next stay will be as pleasant as the first.

Kind Regards
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#68 of 179 in Sydney
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing