We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing Room This Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Ranked #72 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank SueandCranston
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,933 - 1,939 of 4,578 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great location and view from our harbourside room but the positives stop there. We had arranged to meet friends in the bar which was meant to stay open until 11pm - it was closed so we decided to go back up to the room and order room service. It was now late so our choices were limited to 6 items which required no cooking. Our order took an hour to arrive and was not as described in the menu. Apart from that the room was not clean, the sheets were poor quality and scratchy, the water pressure below standard for sydney and breakfast very average. There are plenty of harbourside cafes serving breakfast so dont bother with the hotel. I couldn't believe we had to drink coffee from a take-away machine out of paper cups Including parking and 1 breakfast our room for 1 night cost $359 ! We will not stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Barbara

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.

I will share your comments regarding your bedding with our Executive Housekeeper as it allows us to improve on the concern you have raised providing future guests with a high quality product Novotel is renowned for.

I will also share your comments with our Restaurant Manager so she can investigate the concern with the bars trading hours and the Quality of your Room Service. Currently our lobby bar is open for trade until 11pm daily. I would like to inform you that we are already reviewing our trading hours to carry on catering the needs of our guests.

Barbara I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The staff were kind enough to give my partner and I a complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival as we were celebrating our anniversary. It is a great place to stay overnight as it is in the centre of Sydney, quite close to public transport and a great view over the harbour!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lukaowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Lukaowens

On behalf of the hotel we wish you a happy anniversary and we are glad you enjoyed the sparkling wine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently in a harbour view room and had a great stay . About the only issue was the hot water that you had to wait for 45 seconds to come on and then it wasnt hot enough to mix with cold water for a shower. Apart from that the place was great to stay , we were given our room early when we arrives at 11am and the best part we thought was the breakfast. The range of food was fantastic and one of the best brekkys I have had

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulyjCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear PaulyJ

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

I will pass your Comments regarding hot water onto our Chief Engineer. However I am pleased to inform we have already put in practices that resolve the issue and prevent future recurrences.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We picked this hotel as it was close to Doltone House where I was attending a dinner. It is only a 5 - 10 minutes easy walk away to Doltone house and the casino is on the way. We got the accomodation at a great price so upgraded to larger room overlooking the harbour. It really Is spectacular at night as well as day. The room was large enough for a king bed but had a softish queen bed which was dissappointing. Other wise room was nice and also quiet with a great block out blind for sleeping in.
There were renovations going on downstairs in the lobby but no sound of construction bothered us. Staff were pleasant and check in and check out no hassle.
Breakfast was pretty ordinary so maybe go elsewhere for it. Otherwise if you want to visit darling harbor or the casino this is a good place stay.

Room Tip: If it's not too expensive get the darling harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gundagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Gundagirl

I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the dinner you were attending. It is encouraging to read that our staff were pleasant during your stay.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto our Housekeeping Manager as we are currently working on process to enhance the ambiance and decor of our guest rooms.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel.

We hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights with Harbour View.

We had a lovely room, however, the shower would havd had to have been the most unsatisfying experience. Not only did you feel the need to run around to find the water but it was, luke warm on full. In addition we had a hole in our sheets on the second night. Finally, paying $45 a day for parking and then not be able to park there is a bit of a let down.

Lovely hotel but don't think ill be paying over $500 to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Melanie

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.

I’m sorry to read of your disappointment in regards to our car parking facility. Please rest assured that we do our best to ensure that our prices remain competitive within the Sydney CBD and our packages are reviewed on a regular basis to make certain we cater to our guest needs.

I will also share your Hot water comments with our Chief Engineer to express your disappointment. However I can reassure we have located the issue and put in place practices that will prevent any future recurrences.

I am glad to read that despite your inconveniences you did enjoy your stay. Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel. We hope your next visit will be a more memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed two nights Check in was ok but rooms not ready on check in plus rooms were meant to be next to each other or very close by and this was not the case, As we had a special 50th and that did not happen my points not put on my Accor Membership. Shower hot water needs fixing only had it on hot tap only and was only warm. Our room had a connecting door to some one else's room and you could hear every word and noise all afternoon and night so ask for a room with out a connecting door. Lost sleep and could not hear our tv. Staff friendly on ground floor and always had a smile. Breakfast was good but very squashed in with renovations and could not pay on way in as eftpos machine run out of paper stood waiting for 15min for a new roll the rest of my party had already gone in and were eating. Apart from these issues would stay again but would expect better. Friends room was great they had hot water and a larger room as they have a paid for membership.

Room Tip: One with no connecting door unless u know the people. Try for a Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Strongl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Strongl

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience whilst here at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour.

I have passed your comments onto our Executive Housekeeper in regards to hot water and noise. I apologize as this caused some inconvenience whilst in house but we are currently working on effective procedures to minimize these impacts during peak periods.

We appreciate your understanding in regards to the renovations currently taking place within the hotel. Whilst this may cause some inconvenience initially, we can reassure the finished product will be seen as a leader for the Novotel brand providing our guests with a different and unique experience upon their next visit.

Strongl please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance or “LIKE” our Facebook page to see what else is happening within our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ruwan Peiris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 181 in Sydney
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
4,984 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#64 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £115 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing