We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but needs renovation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location but needs renovation.”
Reviewed 17 March 2011

To begin...we were extremely excited to be staying at another Park Hyatt. We had stayed in the Park Hyatt in Melbourne a few weeks before and LOVED it! Unfortunately the chain is not consistent.

This hotel is one of the most expensive hotels in Sydney. It's location cannot be beat. It has a great reputation, but lacked in most areas. The room was old and worn. We had a room with the view of the opera house and that was AMAZING. It's fitness/spa center is tiny and the pool area lacked any amenities. We had spa services. There was only 2 massage rooms, a sauna and a steam room which is used by everyone in the hotel. There was no "relaxation room" so we decided to use the jacuzzi prior to getting our treatment. The treatments were, standard, and the ladies were sweet, but it was nothing to write home about. The hotel staff, in general, was snooty and did not seem to want to be bothered. We are used to this attitude in the USA, but after we had been in Australia for a month we were more than disappointed in their hospitality.

Because this is an extremely expensive hotel and one of the highest rated I would have expected much more. Maybe they can learn a thing or two from their sister property in Melbourne.

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thrPRICESareRIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronGriffiths, Guest Services Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Warm greetings, and thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Melbourne, and at our sister property Park Hyatt Melbourne. It is also one of my favourite hotels for the attentive hotel teams, quiet location and world class facilities. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel in the historic 'Rocks' district, and the view of the iconic Sydney Opera House from your room. We like think we have one of the best backyards in the world.

Our apologies that the customer service your experienced did not meet your expectations, and that you felt there was a lack of consistency between our two properties. As a brand, Park Hyatt should always equate to a similar ambience and experience with subtle regional differences.
This is certainly something that I will personally work on over our refurbishment period, to strengthen brand continuity from one property to the next.

You will also be pleased to know that our Iluka spa, gymnasium and rooftop pool area will be a major focus of our refurbishment and will incorporate many new treatment rooms and facilities to provide our guests a world class destination to relax and unwind.

Thank you again for your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you be planning a return stay to Sydney, so we might have another opportunity to show you a more refined service experience.

All the best for the year and kind regards,

Cameron Griffiths
Guest Services Manager
Email: cameron.griffiths@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,873
    269
    97
    45
    32
See reviews for
406
1,226
115
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We cashed Hyatt Passport Points to stay at Sydney Park Hyatt. What a big different from Y Hotel Hyde Park! (Read my previous review of Y Hotel Hyde Park). The hotel is about 10 minute walk to Circular Quay. We did not get the Opera room, but our room faced Circular Quay and International Cruise Terminal. I was told that to use the Wi-Fi, I had to log on with my last name and room number as password. When I opened a browser, the log on screen was automatically populated with first name and last name of the guest who stayed in different room. For privacy reason, it wasn’t good. I explained the system issue to the front desk. Internet is free for Hyatt Platinum members. One day the front desk helped me to mail several postcards free of charge but the next day other staff asked me “would you like to pay $2.10 for the postcard stamps or bill to the room?”

The heat wave caused the temperature to jump to 42 C. It was the perfect time to try the roof-top pool. I notice a popular restaurant “Pancake on the Rocks”, just 5 minute walk. We did not eat there because the line was too long. We decided to dine at Hyatt Harbor Kitchen. We ordered McLeay Valley rabbit braised in balsamic with fregola, marjoram, pecorino and Tasmanian wilderness beef short rib with tamarind, molasses glaze, watercress, horseradish. The sauce was so overwhelming that I could not taste the meat at all. The food was unappealing (see photos) and looked like what Fiona serves Shrek every morning. Overall, the hotel and restaurant service were excellent but food is not good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaby_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronGriffiths, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Warm greetings from Sydney and thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt.
I trust your overall time in Sydney, and the postcard perfect weather left positive memories on your time 'down under'.

With regard to the number of service lapses you experienced during your recent stay with us, firstly our apologies that we were on this occasion unable to exceed your expectations and offer our usual seamless service experience. We welcome our guest feedback as a way to refine and refocus our operations, please rest assured that your points of concern have been passed onto the respective department heads for corrective action and to prevent recurrence.

You will be pleased to know that during our refurbishment period we will be focusing on all our received guest feedback, to strengthen any areas of opportunity to enhance our world class product and service.

I look forward to personally welcoming your return stay to our 'mansion by the harbour', and will be at your disposal should you require any further assistance.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Griffiths
Guest Services Manager
Email: cameron.griffiths@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We loved the Park Hyatt Sydney. We had a deluxe Opera View Suite with a balcony and floor to ceiling windows. The suite, one very large room with sitting area, is furnished in a contemporary style and has a beautiful bathroom. The view overlooking the Opera House is breathtaking. Pictures that you see do not do it justice. It is fun to be able to walk out of the hotel and be right on the wharf. There is so much excitement and activity there with lots of cafes, restaurants and boats cruising the inner harbor.

We had dinner one night in the hotel dining room and the food was only okay, but the atmosphere and harbor views made it worth while.

The staff is gracious and competent--most eager to help in any way. This is a luxury hotel, and worth every penny. We walked by many other hotels and feel that this is the best place to stay while visiting Sydney. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank discerningNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return to stay again.
I do apologise though, for the restaurant food not being to your expectations. I will be sure to pass your review on to the Executive Chef who will no doubt look into it.
I hope that I can welcome you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future and thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed at the park hyatt for five days in jan 2011 and have to say,everything about this hotel is first class.Situated in the rocks area our view from the room was of the sydney opera house and harbour.The bar was a very relaxed affair with excellent staff as was the breakfast restaurant which had the added bonus of floor to ceiling glass windows allowing views of the bridge,harbour and opera house.Concierge were probably the best concierge i have ever dealt with,providing us with ashes tickets,restaurant reservations and driving out to a poorly managed hotel in the hunter valley to pick up some items i had left there and posted them onto our next port of call,even though we had left the park hyatt four days prior(a big thankyou to bruce and grant btw).We would never stay anywhere else in Sydney.One other thing, the hotel is closing for a refurb in march , so should be even better when it re-opens

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbkgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular, to Bruce and Grant for the return of your lost property from another hotel. Both Bruce and Grant have been with the hotel for a long time and always go above and beyond to assist our guests. I have had the pleasure of sharing your review with them both who were very pleased to hear your feedback.
We are certainly looking forward to our renovation this year which will see an even better Park Hyatt Sydney in late 2011. I hope that we can welcome you back to see first hand the improvements right around the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I spent a week in Sydney on business - the business day would start at 10a and we would go thru to 5p eating lunch at the conference table. Coming home to this hotel was such a breath of fresh air - literally there are floor to ceiling retractable windows looking out onto the spectacular view of Sydney harbor and the opera house. the air was caressing, wonderful help in the bar so courteous and friendly. the restaurant was where I ate most of my meals and was really good. (everything tastes better in australia) the room had a balcony looking straight into the opera house, fabulous bath tub, great service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Light_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney. I am very pleased to read how relaxing you found the hotel to come back to each day.
We do try to give the hotel a 'homely' feel and certainly being able to sit on your own balcony to enjoy the view helps us achieve this.
I hope that you will stay with us again for your next visit to Sydney and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Best hotel in Sydney by any measure. Fantastic location, great staff, excellent rooms. I stayed one night in the Four Seasons just a few blocks away, and it's good too, but I'd go back to Park Hyatt without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JunkyardWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney. I am very pleased to read your review and pleased that you would choose us again when next in Sydney.
I hope that we can welcome you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

The Park Hyatt Sydney on the edge of Sydney Harbour has point blank views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, the Opera House and Circular Quay. All rooms have a view of the water because the hotel follows the curve of the harbour and overlooks Circular Quay. The service is flawless, the staff charming and the rooms without fault. The restaurants are excellent and the city and historic Rocks area is on the doorstep. This is a great hotel that makes you feel welcome and special.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montySydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. It was certainly a pleasure to have you.
We certainly are lucky with our position right on the waters edge which allow us the very best views in Sydney. As you experienced, our rooms too, enjoy wonderful views off private balconies.
I hope that we will be your choice of hotel next time you stay in Sydney and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
1,039 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
6,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
1,666 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Property: Park Hyatt Sydney
Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing