We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #4 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were heading here to celebrate my Fiance's birthday. The hotel is great. We were well received, and told that our room had been upgraded, which was fantastic. They also asked if it was a special occasion, and when I told them it was her birthday, they said they would send up a cake - which was delicious. We headed up to relax by the pool. The weather was great so we went for a swim and a jacuzzi. We were going to take some wine up from the room, but were told there was full service up there. But once up there, we rarely saw anyone. One lady gave us a menu, but we waited for a long time to order, and I ended up finding a phone (which was inside) and calling in the order. I also discovered a fridge with water, that was hidden inside a cupboard bar. The food/drinks took a long time to arrive, and I had to ask someone about them when someone eventually appeared. The food and champagne were great, and matched the setting perfectly.
We headed back to our room, got ready and went out to get dinner and watch Waiting For Godot at the Sydney Theatre Company. The hotel were great and had a cab waiting for us (it's a short walk, but we were running late).
Getting home and falling asleep in the great bed, and waking up to a view of the Opera House was all amazing. The service in the hotel, both when we arrived, and in the morning, was exceptional.
Overall I'd say this hotel is excellent. The only fault I would have is the service by the pool, and it probably wouldn't have been a problem if we had all afternoon. We were a little pushed for time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback .We are always delighted to receive feedback on our guest’s experiences and are thrilled to hear that your recent stay at our Park Hyatt Sydney was a memorable one.

We were disappointed to learn however that your pool order was delayed as we place great importance on our guests and always strive to exceed expectations. We will certainly share your feedback with our team so we may continue to enhance our offerings and service delivery at the hotel.

On a positive note, we were very pleased to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our harbourside residence and the view from your guest room.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Sydney soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    263
    95
    44
    28
See reviews for
394
1,203
111
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I can't remember the last time I slept in a single bed. I suspect it was 20 years ago. Until getting to the Park Hyatt. To compound matters, it was short, my feet stuck over the end. There was no top sheet on the bed. This is a stupid affectation being practiced in fortunately only a few establishments. The only had a light duvet on the bed, so if you are too hot, when you pull that back, you have no sheet. A stupid idea. Furthermore, one reason for a top sheet is to absorb perspiration so it doesn't go directly too the doona or blanket. Do the wash the doona after each guest? I doubt it. I think the no top sheet idea is unsanitary.
The ironing board in my room was broken, the iron had stickiness on the soleplate.
I also wanted to almost close the blind leaving a little gap, this is not possible with their electric blind. If it is shut, total blackout, if it is open, too much light. The switch only permits fully open or fully closed, a daft idea.
The breakfast was unremarkable.
In had a sensational breakfast at the Sydney Hilton and although the room wasn't as interesting Hilton had sheets and queen beds.
I upon checking out I raised the issue of no sheet and the staff member showed no interest. I completed the survey and got unsatisfactory response from the manager. This was the single most expensive night I had spent in an hotel and also the most disappointing.
The view is excellent and I think they rely on that to complete the emperors new clothes illusion of a good Hotel. I would happily return to the Blue hotel but not Park Hyatt. In fact, a Best Western in any town would have provided a better nights sleep than I had.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Rohan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Park Hyatt Sydney.

We were disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel as we place great importance on exceeding our guest’s expectations. This is not indicative of the level of service to which we strive, and we will certainly share your feedback with our team so we may continue to enhance our offerings and service delivery at the hotel.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Sydney soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We spent 6 nights here for a business meeting. The room was large, clean, modern,a great view of the bridge from the 3rd floor and well setup for doing work. Food and Beverage service was excellent and the overall hospitality of a very high standard. Staff were attentive, friendly and interesting. The location is hard to beat in Sydney and one can walk multiple routes of interest from here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at the Park Hyatt in October 2013 for two nights before boarding a cruise ship. When we arrived, several hotel employees/bell people greeted our car with a rush of activities . . . opening doors, grabbing luggage, asking for papers, in general, being pushy, and obviously all of them expecting a tip. Bad way to start, however, the hotel was beautiful, sophisticated, and well located. We are Platinum members and, upon check-in, asked if upgrades were available . . . none were available, yet we saw many dark rooms for the two nights we were there. They could have sent fruit to the room, or flowers, or a bottle of wine but nothing was done. We did use Hyatt points for this room so maybe, if we had paid full price for the room, we would have been treated differently. We immediately asked for availability of the Hyattt car to take us to the cruise terminal to board the ship. We were told those arrangements had to be made "in advance" and that was the FIRST arrangement we tried to make. When we got to our room we could see the easy walking distance to the cruise terminal and decided to do that. Someone called our room, later in the day, and told us they could "possibly" get us a ride to the pier but we would have to be down, at noon, on the day we checked out and, if the car was available, they could take us, otherwise, they would call a cab. We declined this generous offer. We did have room service and it was very nice. Our guest room was an open plan design and lovely. The bed was very comfortable and the views were fantastic. There is a open air spa on the top floor that is a must-do!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Sydney.

We were disappointed to learn that your arrival to the hotel was a negative experience as we place great importance on our guests and always strive to exceed expectations. This is not indicative of the level of service to which we strive, and we will certainly share your feedback with our team so we may continue to enhance our offerings and service delivery at the hotel.

On a positive note, we were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your guest room and the rooftop Jacuzzi.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Sydney soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Fantastic position,very helpful staff,rooms very pleasant but not as clean as one would expect ,given the very expensive cost of the accommodation, but if you can afford it,a fantastic place to stay due to its location adjacent to The Rocks.

Room Tip: Try to book facing the Opera House, great outlook over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. We will be sure to share your positive comments with them.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Wowee!!! From the moment you approach the Park Hyatt Sydney you are treated like royalty. Nothing is too hard for the staff and you feel so respected being there. We could not fault anything in the Park Hyatt Sydney. The rooms ooze sophistication and style. The recent renovations have really taken the hotel to the next level.

We enjoyed a fabulous 3 course dinner in The Dining Room and we have never had a meal that amazing! Aside from being treated to the best table in The Dining Room and some Moet and Chandon the expectation levels were set high... They never dropped. Instead the bar kept rising. Park Hyatt Sydney you should be proud of all aspects you portray in this hotel - the service is perfect, the decor is perfect, the rooms are perfect and the location is perfect. We can't wait to come back.

Luxury home away from home. You will not be disappointed here. Far from it... blown away is more like it. :)

Thanks for the experience. We cannot stop thinking about the Park Hyatt Sydney.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LozandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback .We are always delighted to receive feedback on our guest’s experiences and are thrilled to hear that your recent stay at our Park Hyatt Sydney was a memorable one.

I am delighted to hear that you were well taken care of by our team and had an enjoyable experience in The Dining Room. As we strive to exceed our guest expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed in the Park Hyatt for 2 nights before boarding the Solstice for a cruise. The hotel is in a great location that is easy walking distance to the Cruise terminal, the Rocks, Circular Quay ands the Opera House. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The view from our harbor side rom was fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Harbor have a great view of the harbor and the opera house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albert39l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. We will be sure to share your positive comments with them.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,997 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Property: Park Hyatt Sydney
Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Booking.com and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing