We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel”
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #4 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Well located with excellent facilities and service. As a business traveler I usually find this to be the case with the Hyatt no matter where I go and this case was no different. Great food in the hotel and in the surround area too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerjack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,921
    273
    99
    46
    33
See reviews for
415
1,251
121
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The best thing about Park Hyatt, besides the amazing location and beautifully refurbished interiors, is the service. The staff there are constantly smiling and extremely helpful in every circumstance! This is what made the stay memorable for me. The rooms itself are spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable. The bathroom is huge and the amenities (by Le Labo nyc) are worth using and taking back home ;) The pool is salted and warm, perfect for a dip during a cold afternoon. Overall, one of the best Park Hyatt I've ever stayed at!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderluster_rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback .We are always delighted to receive feedback on our guest’s experiences and are thrilled to hear that your recent stay at our Park Hyatt Sydney was a memorable one.

I am pleased to hear that you were well taken care of by our team, as we strive to exceed our guest expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
169 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

If you can afford their high prices, you must stay at this impeccable and flawless establishment!
The views of the harbor at this Sydney location in The Rocks Historical District is a real plus.
The rooms are very modern and beautifully appointed. The friendly staff aims to please as they quickly accommodate any of your requests. Staying at this welcoming hotel has made our first trip to Sydney a dream.

Room Tip: The views of the harbor is remarkable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flarbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. We will be sure to share your positive comments with them.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aztec, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Had a wonderfuld experience at the spa. The staff was great. Spa treament was one of the best that I have ever receieved. The view of the bridge was amazing. My therapist was very thoughtful and paid attendtion to details.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights while spending the weekend in Sydney. We found the hotel to be impeccable and the service to be flawless.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Sydney Opera House, the Rocks shopping area, and the Sydney Contemporary art museum.

The rooms are lovely, decorated in a modern but warm aesthetic. The room was comfortable and spacious. Our room had a view of the Sydney Opera House--it doesn't get much better than that.

There are several restaurants in the hotel. We ate breakfast a couple of times at The Dining Room, which overlooks the waterfront, and had drinks at the aptly named The Bar. We were pleased with the food and service each time.

The concierge team was very helpful in making dinner arrangements (both prior to our stay and during our stay) and making suggestions for sight-seeing. They were able to recommend both tourist sites, as well as local haunts (e.g. artsy neighborhoods and local markets away from the city center).

We loved our stay here and believe it is "the place" to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. We will be sure to share your positive comments with them.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed for three nights in January in an Opera House view twin room. The hotel has been recently refurbished and looks stunning. Warm tones and very light and modern. The room was beautiful though not overly large. You are mostly paying for the location and view. The view is incredible. If it is your dream to visit Sydney and see the harbour, then save up and stay at this hotel. You will not be disappointed. Sitting on the balcony of the room, you feel as though you are floating on the water and the Opera House seems close enough to touch. The Harbour Bridge IS just about close enough to touch! Being only four stories high you feel so connected to the surroundings, unlike in a high rise hotel. During the day, the coming and going of the ferries and yachts and huge cruise liners is enchanting to watch and at night, the view is almost indescribably beautiful. This hotel sits on probably the most valuable piece of real estate in Australia.

It is as though someone from this hotel has gone through reviews on Tripadvisor or similar and noted all the things that bug people when staying at expensive five star properties and eliminated them all. For example, it always annoys me how the room is never dark or quiet enough so that you find sleep difficult or wake very early. At the Park Hyatt Sydney, the room is so dark that we slept in until 11.30! So nice to be able to do that on holiday. The room was quiet and there is nothing to disturb your sleep such as a bright clock radio that you find in most hotel rooms. They have really thought of everything. Needless to say, the room was spotlessly clean and the bed and pillows incredibly comfortable.

Check- in was very fast and friendly and most staff appear naturally nice people. Some are a little stiff though and need to remember that Australians are known for their warmth and friendliness.

Breakfast in the restaurant was delicious each morning and again the view from the restaurant is to die for. Room service food was also very good with a great selection of healthy options and fresh juices and delivered very promptly.

We had a few small incidences but it was the way they were handled that makes this hotel so special. For example, when ordering our room service meals it appeared that we had an outdated menu which made ordering a bit difficult. I made a mental note to ask for a new menu in the morning but within a few minutes of placing our order a new menu was delivered with an apology from a very polite young man.

The location of the hotel is the best in Sydney. Apart from the stunning views, it is very close to transport. An easy walk to ferries that take you to Manley beach, the zoo, Watson's Bay for fish and chips on the beach and also to the train station for a really hassle- free trip to and from the airport. It is an easy stroll to the Opera House, the Harbour Bridge, The Botanic Gardens, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the city and exclusive shopping precincts, the historic Rocks precinct and a vast number of restaurants and cafes. All of Sydney on your doorstep.

I really could not fault this hotel. It is expensive but you truly get what you pay for in terms of an overall amazing experience. Would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Opera view rooms provide an amazing view. I think that some rooms might have the view obstructed whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishandcait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback .We are always delighted to receive feedback on our guest’s experiences and are thrilled to hear that your recent stay at our Park Hyatt Sydney was a memorable one.

I am pleased to hear that you were well taken care of by our team and had enjoyable experiences in our hotel. As we strive to exceed our guest expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

There's no doubting the location, the views of the Opera House and the beautiful refit make this hotel a top venue hotel and a special destination. However, despite the large number of staff throughout the hotel, the service was quite disconnected.

We stayed for a week, over the New Year's celebrations, so the price was astronomical, which we knew going in (not least because we had to sign a contract and prepay for the rooms). We had communicated several times over the arrangements for New Year's Eve and I had made it clear each time that one of us needed to eat gluten-free. However, this message did not filter through to the Rooms team, so at least one of the "amenities" (little treats to help justify the price) delivered to the room was not gluten free - surprising, given that they were an assortment of macaroons. On enquiring as to whether it was safe to eat, I was told they would check, and received a call to tell us that it wasn't. We discussed what they might do about this and they offered to send up a gluten-free pavlova. When this was delivered (eventually), I was presented with a bill for over $20! A few words of explanation dealt with it, but really, how much communication was going on here?

Later in the week, the super-sophisticated TV and internet service failed for almost 24 hours. We returned to the room the next day to find a nice letter of apology and.... some more glutinous macaroons. Hopeless, and rather poor gesture for a hotel of this level, even without them being poisonous to one of us.

And finally, a simple request that a jug of milk be placed in our fridge each evening proved too difficult to execute correctly until the third day. the first evening when we chased it up, a butler appeared with a milk shake, a pat of butter and the jug of milk, presented me with a bill for $0, apologised that it was in error, and left to correct it. We never saw her again. We put the random extra items outside our room and wondered just what kind of set up they ran here.

Interesting that its sister hotel in Melbourne sent us a guest satisfaction survey, and followed it up, but we have heard nothing from the Sydney Park Hyatt, not even a thank you, something the more basic Hyatt Places all manage to do.

It's only the lovely physical facilities and views from the room that save this review from being a 2 or lower. For over $13,000 for 7 nights, you expect to be blown away with the experience, not have to laugh at it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerkhamstedJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Park Hyatt Sydney.

We were disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel as we place great importance on exceeding our guest’s expectations.

This is not indicative of the level of service to which we strive, and we will certainly share your feedback with our team so we may continue to enhance our offerings and service delivery at the hotel.

We would welcome the opportunity to personally discuss your concerns in greater detail, and request your assistance in emailing us on sydney.park@hyatt.com at your earliest convenience.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Sydney soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Property: Park Hyatt Sydney
Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing