We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Clearly different….””
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #5 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A weekend in Sydney for my wife’s birthday was made all the more perfect by our staying at the Sydney Park Hyatt. We had stayed here many years ago and whilst we had found it very comfortable, we had no lasting memories of anything outstanding in the service area. Not so this time! Quite the opposite, in fact. We will remember this stay at the Park Hyatt for a very long time, if not for ever. What a revelation for Australian five-star hospitality! Nothing, simply NOTHING, was too much trouble for a team of professional, dedicated and, most importantly, extremely pleasant staff.

From my very first contact with the hotel reservations (I called the hotel directly) I was treated with respect and with understanding for my plans. When I stated cautiously that I would consider the discounted rate they offered me, and get back to them, the reservation staff member offered to hold the room for me. I did not have to ask…

On our arrival at Sydney airport I called to ask if we might be able to check in 2 hours early. Not a problem. The room was ready. On check-in, we were treated with the same level of respect and professionalism. The front desk staff were expecting us. Everything was ready. After a very efficient check-in process (including asking us about any transport arrangement they might pre-book for us on our departure) we were given an unexpected, but very welcome, brief familiarisation of the ground floor bar and lounge areas. We were then taken to our room, by the same very pleasant young lady, who went through the same process for the room amenities. Our luggage arrived shortly after with an equally professional young porter who made the requisite small talk enquiring about the length and purpose of our visit etc. Upon learning that it was for my wife’s birthday he offered complimentary Champagne and strawberries. … (No doubt ‘standard’ procedure, but done VERY well…)

And on it went….. When I needed a HDI cable to connect my laptop to the TV (and the one already provided in the room was not suitable) the attending staff member took the time to ensure that all was working before she left. This was indicative of the staff attitude here. No rush. Intent on delivering the particular service required... On every occasion, whether it was room service, or enquiries about booking a taxi to the Opera House, ALL necessary time was given to ensure that we were being completely looked after, and that we did not need ‘anything else’. Such a revelation and such an overwhelmingly pleasant experience!

It goes without saying that this is probably the best located hotel in Sydney. Its ambiance and its views make it a simply wonderful place to stay. But none of that takes any effort. What does take effort is the provision of such service. It takes a strong sense of dedication and professionalism to consistently provide this extra-ordinarily high level of service – at all times friendly, yet superbly respectful.

This is an expensive hotel. For the money you pay, you want something extra. You get it here. Clearly different……

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_and_J_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback .We are always delighted to receive feedback on our guest’s experiences and are thrilled to hear that your recent stay at our Park Hyatt Sydney was a memorable one.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. As we strive to exceed our guest expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,700 - 1,706 of 2,612 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Started my trip to Australia in Sydney, decided to splurge and stay at the Park Hyatt Sydney. I was not disappointed. Waking up to sunrise over the Sydney Opera House every morning was spectacular. Room was spacious and I wanted for nothing. The food from Room Service to the restaurants was excellent. The staff always attentive no matter what department. For my needs the location was convenient for all my activities.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. We will be sure to share your positive comments with them.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a stopover in Sydney and stayed at the Park Hyatt Sydney. We loved every minute of our stay. We had a Opera King room which had a fantastic view of the Opera. We used the pool and spa and we were very satisfied. Service at the pool could be a little faster, we waited about 30 mins for a Caesar salad.
The concierge service was excellent and they booked us a fantastic table at Restaurant Aria close by. We would definitely come back when we come around Sydney again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at Park Hyatt Sydney, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our suite was beautifully appointed and had a stunning view of the Sydney Harbour and the Opera House. The service was excellent. We arrived in Sydney at 6:30 a.m. after an overnight flight from Los Angeles so we appreciated being provided a private lounge while we waited for room to become available. Breakfast and room service were good. The hotel is within easy walking distance to harbor ferries, the Opera House, the Botanical Gardens and the Harbour Bridge, as well as a lot of restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I had stayed at other luxury hotels in Sydney and we both agreed this is the best hotel in Sydney: service (courteous, responsive, attentive), location (central to the best sights, walking or short cab ride), view (the best perspective of the beautiful Sydney Harbor and Sydney Opera -- from the rooms, the restaurants and the boardwalk). Our harbor-view room was very expensive, but hey, you have to pay for the best. The interior architecture of the hotel is stylish, serene and beautiful. Breakfast downstairs offered a nice, generous and diverse selection. Many Sydney restaurants choose to close on Sunday due to labor law requirements -- annoying; fortunately, the hotel has good food -- surely the lawmakers and unions could see the crowds walking around the harbor front and yet many restaurants are closed. if we return to Sydney, we would stay here again unless a better hotel comes into the market.

Room Tip: Harbor view, of course. But if that's too expensive, remember you can get excellent views from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MILKONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. We will be sure to share your positive comments with them.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed there for two nights recently and was unimpressed with a few things. Firstly for the price we were expecting a better view. Breakfast was ordinary, there was no shortcut bacon and the blended juices/smoothies were served warm! The controls for electric blinds in our room stopped working. We also heard people in the other rooms/hallways. Overall not too impressed compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Sydney.

We were disappointed to learn of your experience at breakfast and in your guestroom as we place great importance on our guests and always strive to exceed expectations. This is not indicative of the level of service to which we strive, and we will certainly share your feedback with our team so we may continue to enhance our offerings and service delivery at the hotel.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Sydney soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

My experience was everything expected from a Park Hyatt. Room was large and had a great view of the bridge. Clean and well appointed. Value for money is just fair - I find all hotels in Sydney are expensive and it's a market you pay for what you get.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location of our harbourside residence, and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. We will be sure to share your positive comments with them.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mensforth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 181 in Sydney
1,419 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 181 in Sydney
6,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#6 of 181 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
The Darling
#4 of 181 in Sydney
916 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £559 - £981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing