We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views,professional staff,we wouldn't stay anywhere else”
Review of Park Hyatt Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Sydney
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed at the park hyatt for five days in jan 2011 and have to say,everything about this hotel is first class.Situated in the rocks area our view from the room was of the sydney opera house and harbour.The bar was a very relaxed affair with excellent staff as was the breakfast restaurant which had the added bonus of floor to ceiling glass windows allowing views of the bridge,harbour and opera house.Concierge were probably the best concierge i have ever dealt with,providing us with ashes tickets,restaurant reservations and driving out to a poorly managed hotel in the hunter valley to pick up some items i had left there and posted them onto our next port of call,even though we had left the park hyatt four days prior(a big thankyou to bruce and grant btw).We would never stay anywhere else in Sydney.One other thing, the hotel is closing for a refurb in march , so should be even better when it re-opens

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbkgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular, to Bruce and Grant for the return of your lost property from another hotel. Both Bruce and Grant have been with the hotel for a long time and always go above and beyond to assist our guests. I have had the pleasure of sharing your review with them both who were very pleased to hear your feedback.
We are certainly looking forward to our renovation this year which will see an even better Park Hyatt Sydney in late 2011. I hope that we can welcome you back to see first hand the improvements right around the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,515)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,127 - 2,133 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

I spent a week in Sydney on business - the business day would start at 10a and we would go thru to 5p eating lunch at the conference table. Coming home to this hotel was such a breath of fresh air - literally there are floor to ceiling retractable windows looking out onto the spectacular view of Sydney harbor and the opera house. the air was caressing, wonderful help in the bar so courteous and friendly. the restaurant was where I ate most of my meals and was really good. (everything tastes better in australia) the room had a balcony looking straight into the opera house, fabulous bath tub, great service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Light_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney. I am very pleased to read how relaxing you found the hotel to come back to each day.
We do try to give the hotel a 'homely' feel and certainly being able to sit on your own balcony to enjoy the view helps us achieve this.
I hope that you will stay with us again for your next visit to Sydney and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Best hotel in Sydney by any measure. Fantastic location, great staff, excellent rooms. I stayed one night in the Four Seasons just a few blocks away, and it's good too, but I'd go back to Park Hyatt without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JunkyardWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney. I am very pleased to read your review and pleased that you would choose us again when next in Sydney.
I hope that we can welcome you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the near future and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

The Park Hyatt Sydney on the edge of Sydney Harbour has point blank views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, the Opera House and Circular Quay. All rooms have a view of the water because the hotel follows the curve of the harbour and overlooks Circular Quay. The service is flawless, the staff charming and the rooms without fault. The restaurants are excellent and the city and historic Rocks area is on the doorstep. This is a great hotel that makes you feel welcome and special.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montySydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. It was certainly a pleasure to have you.
We certainly are lucky with our position right on the waters edge which allow us the very best views in Sydney. As you experienced, our rooms too, enjoy wonderful views off private balconies.
I hope that we will be your choice of hotel next time you stay in Sydney and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This hotel has to be the best in Sydney for location and service. (We have stayed here before, both times on points.) The restaurant is excellent, the service is excellent, the hotel staff is friendly and efficient; nothing was too much trouble. About the only faults one can find with the hotel is that the rooms are rather small for the price--and the rooftop pool is a joke. The rooms have been refurbished and are quite comfortable, making up for their size. But the pool is tiny and when it is colonized by children, as it was when we were there, there weren't even enough deck chairs for everyone who wanted to be on the pool deck to sit. People were pretty unhappy with the situation. But you simply cannot beat the city/harbor/opera view that the rooms have. One of our favorite hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALKDVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

Thank you to the author for your review of Park Hyatt Sydney, We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and service.
My apologies that you found the pool too small on the rooftop. Also, at the time you stayed with us, it was the school holidays so there would have been more children than usual in the hotel.
I do hope that you will return to stay with us again and my apologies for those things that you didn't find were up to standard.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

All aspects of the Park Hyatt Sydney were first rate. The location (Rocks district, directly across from the Opera House, nearly underneath the Sydney Harbour Bridge, adjacent to circular quay) is unrivaled; the room (deluxe opera king) beautiful, spacious, smartly designed, with an amazing view; the personnel - professional, attentive, responsive; concierge solved problems (broken blackberry repair as an example) with incredible efficiency and care. This is a top notch hotel in a perfect location with a terrific staff. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajmia111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

Thank you to the author for your wonderful review of Park Hyatt Sydney. I was just thrilled to read your review on the hotel and in particular, the staff.
I will be sure to share your comments with the whole team who will be very pleased to hear them.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Sydney in the future and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard.
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We arrived by night in Sydney, check-in was a casual, relaxed affair and we were shown to our room and were wowed by the amazing view across the harbour to The Sydney Opera House. The hotel is perfectly situated at The Rocks in Circular Quay.
The room was spacious and comfortable, but a little dated. The hotel is closing for a six-month refit at the end of March, so I would say it will be spectacular when it reopens, as all of the common areas were very nice.
We had a drink and some bar food, in the old fashioned bar which was a lovely spot to unwind from the days travelling.
Breakfast was wonderful, overlooking the Opera House, Bridge and Harbour.
The rooftop pool and patio were a little small, but a pleasant place to chill.
The hotel staff were really first-class, they could not do enough for us. The concierge arranged some brilliant, inexpensive tickets to the Ashes for us, a great day. Julien was very attentive waiting on us for breakfast.
And Grant was amazing, above and beyond, to reinstate us with left items.
Would definately return, I am sure it will be amazing after the renovation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelongboatkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM1Sydney, Front Office Manager at Park Hyatt Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

Thank you to the author for your wonderful review of Park Hyatt Sydney. It is very pleasing to get such a wonderful review.
We will close at the end of March this year for a full refurbishment and so do watch this space for a new and improved Park Hyatt Sydney towards the last quarter of this year.
I will be sure to recognise Grant and Julien for their service to you and I am sure that they will be pleased to hear your comments.
I do hope that we will be your hotel of choice for your next visits to Sydney and thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel.
Regards,
Leigh Shepheard
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,313 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 178 in Sydney
1,810 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Sydney

Address: 7 Hickson Road | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sydney
#2 Business Hotel in Sydney
#2 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £533 - £1,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated majestically on one of the world’s most beautiful harbors, Park Hyatt Sydney perfectly personifies contemporary harbourside luxury with its coveted location between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Reminiscent of an exclusive harbourside residence, Park Hyatt Sydney offers intimate surrounds with architecture, art and design that reflect the Australian landscape. Highlights include 155 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary interiors and floor-to-ceiling glass doors that open to private balconies; 24-hour butler service; and a day spa with rooftop pool and sundeck. The hotel’s dedicated team of butlers provide for an unparalleled guest experience with around-the-clock discreet, personalised service for all hotel guests. Eleven luxuriously appointed suites, including the exclusive Sydney Suite, offer one and two bedroom suite options ideal for the most discerning traveller. Park Hyatt Sydney’s restaurant and bar offer a quintessentially Sydney dining experience, whilst The Living Room provides guests with a comfortable and elegant setting to enjoy refreshments throughout the day. The Spa at Park Hyatt Sydney offers the ultimate in beauty and body treatments, with a selection of spa rituals tailored to individual needs and preferences. A relaxation room, aromatherapy steam room, sauna and pool complete the tranquil pampering experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Prestigia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Hyatt Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hyatt Sydney
Sydney Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing