We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average and overpriced, unfriendly staff at front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Regis City Centre
Ranked #131 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel is a bad choice if you are on business travel as I was. It is overpriced, the rooms are incredibly small, also the hallways are extremely small and there were unpleasant smells when I went up to my room. The hotel pool on the roof is kind of nice but pretty useless, I don't think anybody actually uses it. When I went up there to go for a swim in the next morning after my arrival, there were lots of huge dead bugs and insects swimming in the pool, also some food and a newspaper, so obviously nobody takes care of the pool or cleans it (at least this was my experience). I felt disgusted and didn't go into the water. Also, "pool" is a bit overdone, it is more like a larger bathtub, you cannot really swim, because, after one stroke you've crossed the whole "pool" already. This "pool" is probably only installed there to earn more hotel stars or for promotion reasons, but it is actually pretty useless and a bit disgusting.
The hotel is not nicely decorated in the interior, the floor carpet looks very cheap, the rooms are extremely basic and VERY small, almost like in a backpackers hostel. There was lots of dust and dirt in the room, I didn't even have space to store away my luggage, and in the bathroom there where fungi on the tiles - DISGUSTING! This hotel is like a better backpacker's hostel but definitely does not have the quality of a a good, decent hotel. I was very disappointed and found the hotel WAY OVERPRICED, considering the quality of the room I had (7th floor with no view at all but to the wall of the neighboring building). Maybe top level rooms are nicer, but that's not the point here, because EVERY room has to meet minimal standards in a hotel when they charge that much for it.
The reason why I finally only give one point (=not acceptable) for this disappointing joint is the extremely unfriendliness of staff when I arrived after a 22 hour flight from Europe at around midnight. The clerk at the front was just an idiot, bossing me around and acting in an aggressive manner when I was asking for a better (and, of course, much more expensive and also overpriced) room. I couldn't get another room because, allegedly, the were booked out. Although I had credit card reservation, he said, they thought I would not arrive and that they would have given away my room to the next customer, so I should consider myself lucky to still have a room. WHAT AN IMPUDENCE !!!!! - such an idiot. I've been traveling all around the world, but such a cretin I've never had to greet me at a hotel front desk!! I acknowledge that the clerks on the next days were more friendly and helpful, so you could say, I had bad luck with that person, but I think, such a socially incompetent person should NEVER be in charge at the front desk to begin with. Because of that experience and the overall very bad, disappointing impression this hotel made on me, I can only give one point.

The ONLY advantage of this hotel is its convenient location near to downtown, in the middle of business district, but that's all and that is not worth the overpriced rates there. In particular, when I'm on business travel, it is important for me to have a good experience at my hotel, which wasn't the case here at all.
I recommend spending even more money for one of the other probably similar overpriced hotels in that area but having a probably much nicer experience and getting more value for your money.
All in all I cannot at all recommend this hotel. It's not worth your money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank einstein009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear Einstein009,


Thank you for your recent stay at the Park Regis City Centre and your feed back dated 29th February 2012. I was surprised to read your feedback and wanted the opportunity to address the issues raised in your review.

The Swimming Pool belongs to the building. All cleaning and servicing is conducted by Body Corporate services. The pool does not belong to the hotel but the building provides access for our guests to utilize the swimming and laundry facilities. I have forwarded your observations to the building Manager.

The Hotel has a painting maintenance program and this is ongoing. Rooms facing Park Street do not have views and considering we are in the heart of the CBD it can be expected that there would be a percentage of rooms which would not have a view.

During Event Periods and from mid week through to the weekend the Hotel is usually booked out. Arriving at Midnight on a night when the Hotel is fully booked makes it impossible to move a guest to another room. Rates will vary depending on occupancy and events and this is common practice throughout hotels. I am unsure what conversation occurred with the staff member on shift but with minimal details on this review it is difficult to identify who was on shift. All staff have been spoken to regarding customer service.

Thank you once again for your feedback I am confident that we will rectify the issues that you have raised and in the future offer yourself and all our guests the standards they expect.

I appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback.


Kind regards,


Michael Vera-Lobos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,984 - 1,990 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

location was really good, everything at ur fingertips, the room was way to small, it had a queen bed in it, l have stayed there before with twin beds, that size room was good, so l took my hubby this time he wasnt impressed with the bed touching the walls one step out of bed into the toilet, the room was very clean, pillows were crap, the linen xtremely clean, 2 tiny windows to stick ur head out and look at brick walls on either side, but close to everything in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank shirley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel was walking distance to all the major attractions. check in time was 2pm, the reception staff looked after our luggages at no cost as we were there at 10. Our room was the premier king bed on 12th floor. Theres a small window where u can see the traffic below. The bathroom was very basic, no toothbrush! The bed was very comfy. Overall I was really happy with the stay. We paid $135 per night which was alright as we saved lots of time and money with transport around the city. we found a pool on the roof on 45th floor, the view was amazing too.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I just spent 2 nights and had a fantastic time. The staff went above and beyond with help and service. The room was a corner one on the sixth floor which we were told allowed more room for the double and single bed requested. Nice view over Hyde Park and back to city. No problems with the shower pressure or flooding in fact better than my one at home. Location perfect to make use of many eateries, public transport or even to walk around the CBD. There was a problem with the air con not working the first day but once we notified reception it was fixed immediately. We overall felt excellent value for somewhere just to sleep each night. An amazing view from the 45th floor was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kims0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The rooms were clean if a little small and staff friendly and obliging. The main thing was the Hotel is walking distance to everything near the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandC1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I had read the reviews regarding noise and was slightly apprehensive, but we had decided that location was very important to two ladies who are getting on a bit!
Yes the noise from the traffic was there but it was more background noise than intrusive and I must agree with Penelope's comments that if you want to stay in a city within a certain budget you have to put up with the drawbacks. The helpfulness of the staff and cleanliness of the room more than made up for the noise.
Only negative comment was a slight stale smeel emanating from the bathroom (we suspect the shower curtain/drain) but it was not serious enough for us to complain about.

Room Tip: Try for a higher level room as this may make the noise level diminish a little, either that or take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AilsaPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel during a spur of the moment trip to Sydney. Having learned that most reasonably priced accommodation was booked out in Sydney that weekend, we felt lucky to find the Park Regis, especially because it is so central and they offered a "park view". On arrival we quickly realised why everyone was staying elsewhere.

This hotel is what I would call budget accommodation, even if the price doesn't always reflect that. Our room was comfortable but the building is quite dated. And the street noise was unacceptably loud in the room. The on-site parking is very cramped and we were very glad we had brought our small car - I would not have even attempted to drive our 4WD in there... way too scary and difficult to manouevre without hitting anyone.

This hotel may suit those on a tight budget who aren't looking for anything flash but want to be centrally located near Town Hall, Hyde Park and Oxford Street. It definitely wasn't to our taste and I certainly hope that international visitors don't judge Sydney by this place. Hotel management should seriously consider double glazing the windows.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellebana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#103 of 181 in Sydney
714 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#152 of 181 in Sydney
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#130 of 181 in Sydney
750 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#108 of 181 in Sydney
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Centre

Address: 27 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £64 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Regis City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Regis City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Centre Hotel Sydney
Park Regis City Centre Sydney
Park Regis Sydney
Park Regis Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing