We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Hyde Park, Town Hall transit station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Regis City Centre
Ranked #137 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay ( even though it was cut short a day because of a delayed flight). The room is of adequate size, had a refrigerator and hot water pot, shower was strong and hot, front desk folks were nice. I would rate it more of a 3 1/2. It has a small lobby - but why would you want a large lobby? The bed was comfortable - and I am picky. There is construction going on and it is loud between 8 - 4 but we did not spend time during the day at the hotel. The pool isn't open now but should re-open sometime. We took the 555 bus on George Street (it is free) to Circular Quay one day and the other walked to
Macquarie Point to view the Opera House and walk around The Rocks. Great location to explore Sydney and a reasonable price. We also walked to the convention center area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 9th floor facing the street, there was some street noise but not bad with earpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear looski
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Park Regis City Centre. Our entrance and lobby area is small however as you mention it is perfectly adequate with a seating area and the front desk. Many guests have compliments about our beds and mattresses so that you for including this in your review. The construction noise you have mentioned is repair work to the exterior of the building. This work is on going and any noise is kept to a minimum and only during designated work hours. Our swimming pool on level 45 has re-opened since your stay, I apologise that you did not have a chance to experience this during your visit. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review.
Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,906 - 1,912 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located to transport & shops. But definitely not a comfortable place to stay. Room is very small & dated. Aircond don't seem to work well. Shower facility is horrendous. Can't get the right water temperature for a comfortable shower. It is either scalding hot or freezing cold. Noted that this is the constant feedback and yet nothing is done. Need to pay for Wi-fi which is a standard provision in many developed cities where such free facility is available only in the common area. Definitely not value for money & would be disastrous to recommend the place to anyone.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Judy T

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apology that your stay was not to your expectations, we aim to provide all guests with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Our hotel has a centralised air-conditioning system with an individual control for the fan speed in each room. The showers at the hotel have an individual electric hot water system installed in each bathroom, these have just recently been upgraded which has improved the temperature control which you have mentioned. There is a charge for wifi however our members receive 1 hour complimentary for each stay. I disagree concerning value for money as I believe we are reasonably priced considering our nearby competitors and our central location.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Port Macquarie
1
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The front desk service I received upon late entry was exceedingly good. Nothing was any problem for the staff and they were exceedingly courteous and professional. I requested the same quiet room which I had on a prior visit which was large & at the rear of the building with plenty of sunlight. The ensuite was scrupulously clean as was the bedroom. All electricals worked perfectly, as I knew they would. The Park Regis City Centre is right in the middle of the CBD with transport only a few steps away. I recommend the Park Regis City Centre highly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with innstant.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed in park regis hotel on few occasions for different purposes like staying overnight then the following day I went to Sydney International airport for my flight. You choices of transportation like the train from Town Hall train station or by taxi or by shuttle service to the airport.

The hotel is so convenient to everything, pubs are just around the corner and department stores are all walking distance. This is great if you are in Sydney for shopping spree.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belen302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The location of this hotel is great if you want to be in the heart of the CBD, being just around the corner from Town Hall Station.

It is essentially a high rise motel. The service on arrival was good and they let me put my bags into the room at 10.30am before going to my meeting.

The room was motel style and quality and the common areas were a bit tired.

The bed was OK and the room not too noisy bearing in mind that Park Street never sleeps. That of course is the trade off for convenient.

Sydney was full when I booked, so paid top dollar for the room - hence I have marked down value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I used this hotel for a conference and stayed two nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful (great work). The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable and had everything you might need in them, however they apparently had a plague of Bogong moths in Sydney. The entire hotel stank of moth balls - a really pungent napthalene smell. At first I was given a room on one of the floors further up the building, 11 or 12, I cannot remember. I could smell moth balls quite strongly and opened the window, until I saw that the management had placed a sign in the room saying, "Do not open the window - moths will come in". There were no screens on the windows. The room was nice and it was a good size, cosy but comfortable and I quite liked it so I accepted it and tried to put up with the smell. I ate dinner and returned to my room, and after sitting there for an hour or two, felt quite sick and was having trouble breathing from the napthalene smell. I did some internet research and discovered that napthalene can be harmful to breastfeeding mothers and infants, and exposure can cause health problems for others as well. After two hours and a sick tummy I was over it and called down to reception about the problem. They were very helpful and offered me a room change. The next room was bigger but not as comfortable, and it was on the 7th floor. The air conditioning in both rooms was very noisy and old, so without being able to open windows there was really no way of having air circulation through the rooms. The napthalene smell was less in the second room, but the noise was phenomenal. Apparently in Sydney people are a lot naughtier on Friday nights than Saturdays, as there were sirens every 15 minutes or so, which echoed and bounced off the buildings and were incredibly loud. Both nights I only got about 4 hours sleep because of the noise but I was unwilling to complain and get moved again. The service was good, but the moth balls are not a healthy way to get rid of moths. Try fitting some screens, so at least people can open a window? Really, I got home and my clothes in my bag stank of moth balls, just from being on the floor in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up, but if it smells like moth balls when you walk in, get another one, because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Bexytea

Thank you very much for staying at Park Regis City Centre. I am pleased that you have mentioned our friendly staff and our clean and comfortable rooms. Bogong moths were an issue across the whole of Sydney earlier this year. During their migration every year they pass through Sydney and are attracted to the lights in the city. At the hotel we keep our windows closed during this period, all rooms have air-conditioning, and we leave a note in each room advising guests not to open windows. Our housekeeping department clean all rooms very thoroughly each day and I disagree that there is an odour or naphthalene smell. As you have mentioned our staff were able to offer you an alternate room. In regards to the noise our hotel has recently completed installing double glazing into 3 floors which has reduced the noise levels inside the rooms. I apologise that the city noise disturbed your sleep. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It's ok is about all I can say. Reception is clean, beds are comfy enough and room is clean. Downside, additional charges for the wifi!! Why do some hotels still do this!? In my opinion, in this day and age wifi is as essential as a bed and I wouldn't expect to be charged extra for my bed!! I'm pretty sure they borrowed the shower curtain from my 88 year old nan, I didn't feel too safe in the squeaky lift, the pool was out of order and reception staff perhaps require a wee bit of customer service training! Location was good though, about 20 min walk to the harbour and close to the shopping district.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank flyrobfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, Front Office Manager at Park Regis City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear flyrobfly

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and our beds comfortable. We do charge for wifi access at our hotel. I understand that wifi access is becoming more and more important to guests and this service will be reviewed by our General Manager. All bathrooms at the hotel have a shower only, we do not have bath tubs. Most rooms have shower curtains however we have very recently installed shower screens into selected rooms and are reviewing which is the best option. There are 2 lifts for the hotel which are reliable and serviced regularly. The swimming pool on the rooftop is currently undergoing maintenance repairs and will be back in service early in the new year, I apologise if this inconvenienced your stay. Our central location is a positive for many guests, we are walking distance to most attractions in the city. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Cheyne Stebbing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#104 of 186 in Sydney
738 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#113 of 186 in Sydney
2,033 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 186 in Sydney
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#107 of 186 in Sydney
71 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#108 of 186 in Sydney
5,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Centre

Address: 27 Park St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £79 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Regis City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Regis City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Centre Hotel Sydney
Park Regis City Centre Sydney
Park Regis Sydney
Park Regis Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing