We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean rooms and easy to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Ranked #50 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice clean rooms and easy to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Good location, literally on Pitt Street. Lots of places to eat nearby. Town hall station about 5 minutes away by foot. We stayed in a basic room, which was more than adequate. Staff were friendly. They usually have good deals so check their website.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Freshjive_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We appreciate you review, and I will certainly pass on the positive comment to our staff as they will appreciate It.

Our location is second to none and soon we will have an in-house restaurant once again after we open our Metro Brasserie following a refurbishment.

Kind Regards
Tom Marsic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    561
    249
    73
    31
See reviews for
161
434
145
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

If your husband or wife, your parents, your children or anybody else book a room for you in this hotel, you'll never get to actually see the room: you HAVE TO PRESENT at reception - as your security - the SAME credit card that was used to book the room, even when the booking was made well in advance and the money has actually already come out of the account of the person who made the booking.

If you want the room, you'll have to pay - on the spot - with YOUR credit card or cash - in order to secure your accommodation; and if you decide you don't want to stay there because of the way you are being treated and decide to cancel the booking, you'll be charged the full amount as you haven't cancelled the booking more that 3 days before the intended stay.

and if you DO cancel, lo & behold! - WAIT FOR IT - the credit card originally used to book the room but which that could not secure that booking because you don't have it on you (because it's not yours) is suddenly GOOD ENOUGH to be used to pay the cancellation charge!

DO NOT STAY HERE - these people are c--ts!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
It is unfortunate you didn't have a great experience. Hope you try us again and if you would like to discuss this matter further please don’t hesitate to contact me on tmarsic@metrohg.com

Kind Regards
Tom Marsic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I would rate this as 4.5 stars. I booked the Spa Suite and this room did not disappoint. It had a king size bed, lounge and a deep spa. Everything was clean and plenty of dispensers for soap, shampoo, etc. Very central to everything in the city and a short walk from Town Hall Station. I had looked on their website for the prices and when I rang to book, it was cheaper to book online as they had an online deal with chocolates, wine and late check out included.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveSleepingInPlanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you kindly for your review

I don't think I could have said it better myself, in the next week we will also re-open our hotel restaurant after a refurbishment to offer another service to our guests. And best news of all we are in the process of finalising our plans tom refurbish our hotel rooms which is extremely exciting.

Kind regards
Tom Marsic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014 after leaving our cruise ship Cunard Queen Victoria, sadly the hotel room we were provided left much to be desired, extremely small & dark , the window looked out onto the air conditioning units & enclosed yard. The bathroom was fine.No room to store luggage & very cramped. Unfortunately for us the hotel was full during our stay so we were unable to upgrade to a better room. We did not choose this hotel it was part of the holiday package, & I would certainly not choose to stay here again. Couple of upsides, the reception staff were friendly & the location of the hotel is good for central Sydney. Next time we visit Sydney I will look at hotels on The Rocks.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LesleyB485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

The rooms are the next project which is in its final stages of planning, we are forecasting to get the rooms refurbished within the next 12months, at this point we will have a brand new product to show off. All of the items within the rooms will be looked at including lighting.

Hope to see you again once the work is complete.

Kind Regards
Tom Marsic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although placed in a very good position in Sydney (15 min walk to Central Station,30 min to Sydney Opera) and close to local transport stations,from a services perspective it's poor.We've been a group of around 40 people and had to find out on arrival that breakfast could not be served at th ehotel,but on a Italian restaurant about 100 m away.Even that would not be so bad if the personell there would have been prepared to serve quickly a bigger number of people.But they were not ! We had to wait even 1,5 Hours to have all our group served.1 point for this
As for,the hotel,rooms are small and you have windows either with street view(noisy) or inner court,only some walls.No chance to open windows to get fresh air,and the air conditioning was really a "cold breeze".1point for facilities thanks to good WiFi connection(free)
Rooms were clean,so a 4 points for,this service.
So for the good access to Sydney attractions 4 points.
Overall,,1 point,not to recommend for a stay longer than one day,and the price isn' t compelling,either

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ioan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are constantly improving our product, and as such it can sometimes cause a bit of pain for a lot of gain. The restaurant will be reopened on the 23rd, offering a full buffet breakfast for all of our guests.
The rooms are the next project which is in its final stages of planning, we are forecasting to get the rooms refurbished within the next 12months.

Hope to see you again once the work is complete.

Kind Regards
Tom Marsic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent a night here,because it was close to the Capitol theatre,where we went to see Lion King.The room was ok for 1 night.Didn't like the fact that the hall light couldn't be turned off,without removing the room card,and because of this couldn't have the air conditoner going.The bathroom wasn't to great,for tall people,had to sit sideways to use toilet as no leg room,the shower was really low also,my husbands head touched the ceiling!!There was mould around the taps in the shower.Was ok for 1 nite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are in the process of finalising the plans to refurbish our hotel rooms, providing an even better experience for our guests. We have a great location and soon we will have a great new product which is very exciting.

We look forward to welcoming you back once all the work is completed.

Kind Regards
Tom Marsic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, and really enjoyed it. Great location, right in the heart of the city, and quite reasonably priced, definitely good value for money. The room was a bit old but very clean and comfortable. They offer moderately priced parking nearby. The restaurant was under construction while we were there, so they had organized a restaurant nearby to provide room service. A good selection of brochures and tourist info is available at the lobby. Our room's view was the back of a building which was the only negative.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are in the final stages of the restaurant refurbish, which will be ready and open by the 23rd June. This of course is all part of the bigger picture of refurbishing the hotel rooms in the next 12 months.

We look forward to welcoming you back once all the work is completed.

Kind Regards
Tom Marsic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#122 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel on Pitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel on Pitt

Property: Metro Hotel on Pitt
Address: Metro Hotel 300 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pentura on Pitt)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Hotel on Pitt 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located, Metro Hotel on Pitt is the perfect option for both the leisure and corporate traveller’s seeking affordability and convenience in Sydney’s CBD. Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Sydney Eye Tower and Westfield, QVB and Pitt Street Mall, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street and Hyde Park. For those attending one of the conferences, trade shows or concerts, Entertainment venues and Conference spaces all over Sydney are within reach. Also many major corporate and government offices are within easy walking distance. Guests are spoilt for choice with transport options as Town Hall Station on our doorstep and Central Railway Station and Coach Terminal both just a short walk away. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street offering easy access to Circular Quay and the Rocks. All rooms have high speed Internet connection and for guests travelling without a laptop we also have an Internet Kiosk with printing facilities located in the lobby area. Security is our priority, with a 24 hour staffed reception desk and all guest floors accessed only by personal security key card. Guests will also be able to take a breath of fresh air and enjoy a smoke free environment when they stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt, which is a 100% smoke free hotel. Built in the 1930s, the original building was completely renovated and reopened as the Metro Hotel on Pitt, combining the classic art deco facade with a modern, state-of-the-art interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel on Pitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney
Metro Pitt
Metro Hotel Pitt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing