We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need, at a reasonable price for Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Ranked #51 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what you need, at a reasonable price for Sydney”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked a Superior Deluxe Room and it was great. I had a very comfortable bed, the place was clean and staff friendly.
Positioned in a good spot, easy to get to Pitt St Mall as well as Haymarket and World Centre etc.
I parked at the World centre and it was more convenient than I anticipated.
We had very noisy people next door who woke us up at 3am in the morning, but that was no fault of the Hotel.
All in all, I would consider coming back with my family.

Room Tip: Our Superior Deluxe Room on the 2nd Floor, overlooking Pitt street & found it fine. We stayed F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review. Later this year we will be in the process of refurbishing our entire hotel, which will be fantastic in time for summer months. Hope to see you back.

Cheers
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    587
    252
    75
    31
See reviews for
165
446
148
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the Metro on Pitt Street while attending a training course at the Sydney Masonic Centre. The hotel was in a great position fro this venue and other attractions nearby. The hotel was clean and the room was in mainly good condition. it was starting to show its age with some of the paint starting to flake. Generally though I can not fault the room anther than that. I had a corner room looking out over Pitt Street and towards Central Station. You could also see the Capitol Theatre across the road. If i was staying in the city to see a show at the Capitol Theatre, I would stay at the Metro. The main drawback for this hotel was I had the park the car in The World Square carpark. It is ok if you want to leave it there, but can be expensive if you want to go in and out. Other than that i enjoyed my stay at the Metro.

Room Tip: Cant really speak for much of the rest of the hotel but I had a corner room and didn't really he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for the review, however I believe you stayed at our sister property opposite Capitol Theatre rather than the Pitt Street Hotel which this is. However thank you and hope you try our Hotel next time in town

Kind Regards
Tom Marsic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed a few days in mid June. Very central to the city and if your happy to walk you can cover both ends of Pitt, George streets easily.
Have a deluxe queen Room which was very comfortable, bathroom was spacious and a huge shower with great pressure. Not much of a view but with high rises all around most don't in the city unless your in the 15 plus floors. Service was friendly & good, room was serviced each day and free Wi if was great!!
There were a couple of major sporting events on and prices were premium on those nights however if you planned the rooms were still very good value. Would stay again in the same type room as the others look quite a bit smaller and a little dated from photos.
Taxis always handy from outside front door and train station 5 min walk.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
This review is as good as if we had done it ourselves. You have pointed out all of the benefits on offer while at Metro on Pitt Street. Recently we also reopened our Brasserie after a refurbishment which is the first step to the eventual goal of having the entire hotel refurbished in the next 6 months.

Cheers
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had booked this hotel based on price and location for a night in the city. The room was on the small side with no view. Other than that we were happy with our stay. The staff were polite and helpful. And the cheap parking at world square offered was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
When coming to the city, for a well-priced hotel in a great spot there is no one better than Metro on Pitt Street. We are located in the heart of the city, minutes from Town Hall train station. And with our planned refurbishment to start later this year, we will have a brand new modern hotel by February next year. Exciting times for Metro hotel on Pitt Street.

We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location is great, right in the CBD, close to the airport link train (only a short walk to station Town Hall). We (2) stayed here for 2 nights.

I tried to check in at 11 am and a staff member told me that is was possible to check in now, but there was only a small room available , if I came back after 2 pm, he had a bigger room available. So I decide to wait awhile and check in at 2 pm. The room they checked me in was still very small, there was hardly enough room for my suitcase. I'm wondering how small their small rooms are! It's not an cheap-cheap hotel, so I expected a little bit more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soezen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
It’s disappointing to hear you were not fully satisfied with your accommodation here at Pitt Street. We have many options available, to suit all needs. We have also started the process of refurbishing our rooms, following on from refurbishing our Brasserie which reopened on the 23rd June. All going according to plan we will complete the entire refurbishment by February next year.

Thank you for taking time out to let us know your thoughts on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I spent a night at this hotel and found it average.

Positives: Great location that is an easy walk to Central Station and directly across the road from the theatre. My room was clean.

Negatives: Both beds in my room were horrible. I could feel the springs. They were very old and worn. Made for a very uncomfortable sleep. Also the bath was old and the grout chipping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I'm please you enjoyed the location, it is in a very central part of the CBD. I do however believe the property you stayed at was our sister property Metro Sydney Central which is also on Pitt Street near Capitol Theatre.

Kind Regards
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Good position, easy to walk to shops and transport. We had a spa suite, room was clean. There was plenty of room, but very dark inside lighting not very good. Room needs to be up dated, there was plenty of bathroom amenities but shampoo, conditoner etc not good quality, turned hair to straw. Would not stay here again until rooms are improved as there is plenty more options in area. Staff were all pleasant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, Manager at Metro Hotel on Pitt, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I am glad that there were positives with your stay and especially that staff were the positives. As far as the upgrade of the rooms we have recently began a process of getting the entire hotel upgraded. We have, after 3 months of work re-opened our refurbished Brasserie, which is step one. Next step will begin later this year, when we are refurbishing all hotel rooms and our 7 corridors. We have recently completed a couple of mock up rooms and they look fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#55 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#123 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel on Pitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel on Pitt

Property: Metro Hotel on Pitt
Address: Metro Hotel 300 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pentura on Pitt)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Hotel on Pitt 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located, Metro Hotel on Pitt is the perfect option for both the leisure and corporate traveller’s seeking affordability and convenience in Sydney’s CBD. Metro Hotel on Pitt is within easy walking distance to major tourism landmarks such as Sydney Eye Tower and Westfield, QVB and Pitt Street Mall, Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford Street and Hyde Park. For those attending one of the conferences, trade shows or concerts, Entertainment venues and Conference spaces all over Sydney are within reach. Also many major corporate and government offices are within easy walking distance. Guests are spoilt for choice with transport options as Town Hall Station on our doorstep and Central Railway Station and Coach Terminal both just a short walk away. Buses to all parts of the city are only one block away on George Street offering easy access to Circular Quay and the Rocks. All rooms have high speed Internet connection and for guests travelling without a laptop we also have an Internet Kiosk with printing facilities located in the lobby area. Security is our priority, with a 24 hour staffed reception desk and all guest floors accessed only by personal security key card. Guests will also be able to take a breath of fresh air and enjoy a smoke free environment when they stay at the Metro Hotel on Pitt, which is a 100% smoke free hotel. Built in the 1930s, the original building was completely renovated and reopened as the Metro Hotel on Pitt, combining the classic art deco facade with a modern, state-of-the-art interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel on Pitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney
Metro Pitt
Metro Hotel Pitt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing