We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Six stars!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Six stars!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

There cannot possibly be a better place for the Sydney tourist to stay! Out one door is the Circular Quay, with ferries to everywhere, the train station for easy access to Bondi and the airport, and the cruise ship pier in case you are arriving or leaving by that method. Walk a little ways to the right, past an assortment of outdoor cafés, and you're at the Opera House. Out the other door of the hotel is the botanical garden, and the beginning of many other walking adventures.

But it's not just the location! The hotel itself is wonderful. The suites are beautifully designed with living room, bedroom, kitchen and a large balcony for breakfast, tea, or wine overlooking the harbor or the botanical garden.

And it's not just the rooms! The staff is wonderful. We got lots of help in making arrangements to visit the Whitsunday Islands... And even more help in getting us back when Cyclone Lusi was dithering off that coast. All in all, we spent over a week here in two sections. We will never stay anywhere else in Sydney!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xLennaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear xLennaMae,

Wow! Thank you for your review!
I am so glad we were able to accommodate you with a wonderful experience!
The location, the suites and most of all the staff; you certainly experienced what we aim to achieve with all our guests.

I am very thankful we were able to assist you during Cyclone Lusi and that you made it safe and sound. That certainly would have made your trip to Australia very memorable!

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    259
    64
    26
    11
See reviews for
371
658
47
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Given that this used to be an apartment complex (indeed, there are several permanent residents), every room is a suite with kitchen and good-sized bathroom.

We are regulars at the quite divine Q Dining (which used to be called Quadrant Restaurant) – great service, great food – so of course we had a scrumptious dinner there during our stay.
One of the very few Sydney hotel restaurants which has a lovely breakfast, as well. That is a real treat, given the inferior breakfast dining options we have become used to.

Good-sized television with DVD player and sound system. Comfy bed. Extensive pillow menu.

Pricey but efficient valet parking, and wonderful service at the front desk.

The only real quibble: when we arrived, there was an ozone machine running full-pelt in our room. No explanation or warning given when we were checking in, but it was quickly evident that this was because the previous guest, contrary to all the rules, had been smoking in the room. The ozone machine was doing its best, but the smell was still disgusting, even when we flung open the balcony door, so we had to request at second ozone machine. At this point, most hotels would have offered to move us, given our reaction to the smell … but no, they just had someone bring up the second machine, which we had to keep cranked up all night.

On the other hand, the views cannot be beaten – the location and proximity to the Opera House and a gazillion restaurants, ferries, museums and the like can’t be beaten.

Room Tip: Definitely go the extra $s for harbour view - you can look at a park anywhere in the world - there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maruschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear maruschka,

I would like to thank you for your very kind and detailed review!
You've certainly described each facet of the experience we aim to achieve for our guests.
I am so glad you found our suites both suitable and comfortable to your needs.

Q Dining certainly is a treat! I'm sure the staff would have very much enjoyed having you dine with them.

I sincerely apologise about the need to the ozone machine in your room. I also apologise that you were not offered to room move. We certainly aim for the best possible outcome to any given situation. It is quite possible that the hotel was fully booked during your stay and we may have been unable to offer you another room.

I hope to welcome you back in the future and offer you an experience even better than the one you had.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, Uk
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After long flight we were glad to have the comfort and convenience of the Pullman Grand. Beautiful apartment in fantastic position on Circular Quay meant easy access to everywhere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank The_Flukies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear The_Flukies,

Thank you for your kind review and high recommendation!

I am so glad we were able to warmly welcome you to Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, and to Sydney itself!

It sounds like our suites and location were perfectly suited to your trip.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here in January on-route through Sydney. Took the taxi driver a little time to find it. Apparently there are more than one Pullman hotels in Sydney. But what a nice location. The rooms are more the style of self catered, but what you loose on luxury you gain on convenience and location. Good place to stay if you don't want that transactional 'hotel' feel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Joseph C,

Thank you for your review.
Our suites certainly have a great feel about them being self-catered style, with all the benefits of a hotel!
I'm glad you found our suites both comfortable and convenient for your stay on-route through Sydney.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband took me here for a surprise 3 day trip to Sydney to celebrate my 65th birthday. The apartment was comfortable but the only gripe I had that you have to pay for the coffee "'pods". Reception staff was friendly and helpful and the free umbrella's came in handy. Very conveniently located to the Botanic gardens and opera House and many restaurants in the area. The view over the cruise ships was great and the Queen Victoria was moored nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear MaffieAustralia,

What a wonderful surprise!

I'd like to personally wish you a very Happy 65th Birthday!
It sounds like you celebrated it so wonderfully.

I'm so glad our friendly staff contributed to your stay being that much more enjoyable.

I sincerely apologise about the confusion regarding the coffee 'pods'. We certainly value our guests' feedback and have recently made them complimentary to all guests.
I am currently amending the confusion for our future guests.
Once again, I apologise for the confusion.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the space of the appt type room, with. good amenities and washing machine (albeit v slow). Perfect location for access to anywhere in town via ferry, train, bus or walking. Service was very good indeed and nice feel of a smaller hotel. There are 60 or so rooms. We were a couple & 4 yr old and one bedroom appt was ideal. Some elements of room need upgraded slightly and it's not super 'plush'. Pool area is ideal for a city center hotel. We also liked the view out to the bridge, opera house and cruise liners. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Mercedes1970,

I am so thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
Our apartment style suites are perfectly suited to families such as yourself, so I am glad we were able to accommodate you comfortably.

It's great to hear you enjoy the nice feel of a smaller hotel... We certainly enjoy being a smaller, boutique style hotel. It allows us to get to know our guests individually and create a positive experience personal to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,142 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
6,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
1,666 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour

Property: Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Address: 61 Macquarie Street | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#3 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#12 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star apartment hotel located at the edge of East Circular Quay boasting stunning Sydney Harbour views. This luxurious and boutique hotel features spacious 1 and 2 bedroom suites, Sydney's best Bar by far ECQ, a newly refurbished restaurant on the mezzanine level of the hotel Q Dining, 3 versatile function rooms and superb hotel reacreation facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay Grand Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay Grand Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing