We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel down to the last detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel down to the last detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

There are not enough words to explain how amazing this hotel is.

To start with we landed after a midnight horror flight and completely understood that we couldn't check in but hoped to just leave our bags, not only were we able to do that but the very understanding staff allowed us to have a quick shower in the gym change rooms which after a 4 hour flight was just amazing.

When we did check into our room later that afternoon we were blown away with the view! 180 degree views with no obstruction at all. We could easily see the bridge, Opera house and were lucky enough to see two cruise ships come and go :)

Public transport is also a dream from this hotel, only a couple of minutes and your at circular quay and on your way to where ever you're going.

Then there is room service, always on time, always hot, staff were always friendly and at completely reasonable prices.

But the part that blew us away.... We were visiting for the Easter weekend to Celebrate my nana's 95th birthday and to our surprise when we arrived back at the hotel after a day out and about was a bottle of champagne and a card wishing nana a happy birthday! This honestly bought tears to my eyes, and Nana was just so excited.

The hotel is amazing, but what will keep us coming back and what will make us tell our friends and family about this hotel are the small details and the most amazing customer service I have ever received! This is a first class hotel and you would be crazy to overlook staying here!! You just won't be disappointed.

Thank you Quay West! We can't wait till next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saz_handy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much 'saz_handy' for your review, we are so pleased to celebrate your Nana's 95th birthday with you and your family! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    335
    93
    42
    16
See reviews for
549
271
29
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
301 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel has a great location - walking distance to circular quay, the Rocks, George St etc.
Rooms are spacious & well maintained.
I was on the 22nd floor and had fairly non existent internet access that was included in my rate (unless I was in the bathroom) and the $5 drink/snack menu at 5pm deal that is advertised in the rooms is no longer available.
A good selection at breakfast but unless it is included I normally head elsewhere for breakfast - everything is so close anyway!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you 'Bridget M' for your feedback from your recent stay. I do apologise about the wireless service, this is an issue we are focusing on and understand the frustrations this may cause. Regarding the 5@5 special on the minibar menu, this has since been replaced with Happy Hour and so we do apologise for this miscommunication. This will be rectified as soon as possible. I hope to welcome you back to Quay West Suites in the near future.

Regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Central to the city with wonderful views over Circle Quay, Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. The hotel is very comfortable.. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were large, clean and spacious.... Comfy beds too, we had a great sleep... To watch the evening lights over the harbour area from the room was devine.. Make sure you get up really early to watch the dawn arrive over the Opera House and harbour.... Then down for a tasty breakfast... We can recommend Quay West as a place to stay when in Sydney.

Room Tip: Hmmmm.. Hard to choose... A balcony is perhaps best but some have restricted views... Just make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you 'Malcolm C' for your great review - I am so pleased to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us! The view from the rooms really is spectacular! I hope to welcome you back to Quay West Suites in the near future.

Regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Quay West for one night prior to our P&O Cruise. 2 bed apartment was fantastic. As it was pouring with rain, we ordered room service for dinner and was not disappointed. Chips were crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside yummo. This is the second time we have stayed here and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelindaNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you 'BelindaNash' - I hope you and your family had a wonderful cruise! We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were really pleased with the 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the harbour room 2204 (22nd floor). We booked it through travelbag and got breakfast included which is worthwhile as Australia is so expensive at the moment for us Brits especially for a family. Apartments are very spacious, wonderful view, great housekeeping and lovely beds. We washed all our clothes and even though Wifi isn't included you can log on in the hotel lobby or restaurant level for free and sometimes get it in the room for free if the signal is ok! The location is excellent for transport but we struggled a bit for any family friendly restaurants in the area as are mostly pubs or close in the evenings as in the CBD. Good old McDonalds very close by and overpriced local food stores. We got pizza from Giovannis in Harrington Street opposite twice, very good pizza but a bit old fashioned inside. The nearest Coles supermarket was in Wynyard station. There is no balcony in the 2 bedroom suites but wonderful large bay windows and fully air conditioned. Our kids loved the space and the pool although it was a bit cold. Overall an excellent stay, but it was pricey. We sat for hours watching the view and the cruise ships and all the activity around the harbour. Would def recommend with harbour view if you can afford it, great for a family.

Room Tip: high floor harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyhols66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you 'Familyhols66' for your response, we are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here in January with 2 adults and 2 children on 5th floor 2 bedroom with city views. The concierge service was great and the concierge was very helpful with our car, luggage, and general information.
The rooms was great and we were very happy with the accommodation, the only disappointing thing was that there is no information folder, you have to turn on the TV to find information about the Hotel and area.
It is a great base to explore Circular Quay, The Rocks, The Opera House, etc. Our children loved the heated pool as well with amazing views of the harbour and surrounds.
The only negative we can find is that in our stay this is the only place our credit card was used and not long after our credit card was hacked.
The clerk did the credit card, and even though we entered a pin, there clerk requested that we signed the receipt, and then the receipt was added to the pile on the peg with our details for all to see. I did question this, especially in this electronic age, but was told it was fine and normal practice. Only to find a week alter that our credit card had been hacked and we had numerous online transactions booked against it via internet sources. We have since had these reversed but had to cancel our cards, accounts, etc and redo the whole banking affair. We did get the charges reversed but it is not an easy or likeable process to go through.
Overall a great place to stay in an excellent location, we just had hopefully a one off problem and would stay here again but will use a different payment method next time, just to be sure.

Room Tip: If you can afford a room on the harbour side book there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank areasontosmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you 'areasontosmile' for your review, and for discussing this issue over the phone with our Front Office Manager. I am pleased to hear that this matter was resolved, and was agreed that this matter was not related to Quay West Suites. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Quay West Suites in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,005 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Property: Quay West Suites Sydney
Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, TravelUp, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing