We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
Ranked #21 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The main reason to book a room at the Quay West is the Location. It is situated less than 5 minutes from Circular Quay home to the Sydney Harbor bridge as well as the Sydney Opera House, If you are lucky enough to be in a room with a Harbour view - it is worth every penny spent. The Location is without question 5 star, THe service at the front desk was inviting and competent and engaging. Be sure to take the elevator down and walk across Harrington rather than the steps down to George street. it is a far easier much faster walk. THe front desk shared that 'secret' the second day of our stay, The Breakfast Buffet included with the room is diverse and fresh as any I have experienced throughout my travels. However, the concierge service left much to be desired. They did not seem to know teh city well and were vague with suggestions of things to do beyond the obvious, commercial tourist attractions, They were unable to share any hidden gems or offer many suggestions for dinner. Now - to the rooms: Our suite itself was clean, but very tired, resembling more of a Holiday Inn. Housekeeping was unresponsive to turn down requests and extra towels had to be requested repeatedly. For a good part of the stay only one of three elevators was in operation for the hotel guests. I was told that the suites are each individually owned and updated by owner request - so perhaps other rooms were up to speed. Ours was not. In summary if you are traveling with a family and want a suite this is a perfect spot. If you are expecting the level of accruements offered by a 5 star hotel you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Be sure to request Harbour View. WE were on the 11th floor - one of the lower ones - and it was mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggtrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you 'ggtrix' for your review - we are thankful for your comments regarding our Front Desk staff, they are a true asset to the hotel. Regarding the comment about our hotel suites being owned, each apartment is owned however all hotel apartments maintain an Accor 5 star standard which is mirrored across each apartment and furnished identically. All apartments are maintained by our on-site Engineering and Housekeeping departments.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    354
    95
    42
    16
See reviews for
574
283
31
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Only stayed one night on this occasion to see the Socceroos friendly ;) ,Well again the staff saved the night with great friendly service from arrival to late night room service and went out of there way to ensure we got to ANZ stadium on time for the match.We requested the same apartment on 21 floor with does have the best view

Room Tip: Book direct with accor and request sea view and the lot will be thrown in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you 'HowardDG' for your review, I am pleased to hear that all your needs were met! Shame about the Soccor draw, but hope that your stay at Quay West Suites made up for it! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This stay was a massive improvement from my last stay in November.
All staff gave 5 star treatment from the General Manager 'Joleen' to operations manager 'Hagen', Concierge's down to the cleaners. The apartment was very clean and spacious with a spectacular views of the harbour. Dinner was fully booked but reception arranged the concierge to find another accor restaurant for our party of 6 to dine at so we could use our advantage plus cards. Breakfast at the hotel was wonderful with a very good seslection of food to choose from, however the coffee machine was hit and miss.
The heated indoor pool is always a bonus when cooler. This time staff were fully aware of the Advantage Plus entitlements.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank bigtones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you 'bigtones25' for your wonderful review! I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your return stay with us, and really do hope we will see you again soon! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can assist with a future reservation.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This apartment at the Rocks is at the center of attractions, everything is within walking distance and yet very quiet and comfortable. From there, one can explore the Rocks, take ferries to the beaches, attend a concert at Opera House and walk the Gardens. Our ventures further afield was also extremely convenient as the Wynyard train station is just a couple of minutes walk downhill. The view from towards the harbour is really a million dollar view with the Harbour Bridge, the Opera House, the harbour, the north shore and eastern suburb- simply stunning. Service is tip-top too, most comfortable stay! There is also an indoor swimming pool at the roof level where you can do laps with an adjacent jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Get one with the harbour view, stunning experience and most enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review 'Calvinta' - it sounds like you had a great time in Sydney! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

i really enjoyed my stay at Quay West! as i am an extremely forgetful person i usually forget a lot of my luggage as i travel a lot. a lot of hotels have declined my request of returning my lost items. Quay west thankfully found my item and have agreed to send it back! there is not much more to say other than this was an amazing place and the views, service, amenities (pool, gym)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellabellat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you 'ellabellat' for your review, it is always so nice to hear that our staff have gone above and beyond for our guests with returning lost property. I do hope we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Flats, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment with Sydney Harbour views. Valet parking and check-in were efficiently taken care of by friendly staff. On opening our door to the apartment, we were greeted with one of the best views in Sydney - the Harbour Bridge was right in front of us, Opera House to the right. The apartment was spotlessly clean with everything you need for an overnight or longer stay - well-equipped kitchen (mini bar), laundry, toiletries worth sampling. Beds were comfortable and rooms quiet. It's a little pricey but worth the money for a special occasion in Sydney. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linlu65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you 'linlu65' for your wonderful review, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay here in Sydney! I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Regards,

Joleen Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

A dissapointing stay at this hotel. Room and view were very nice & the concierge was great. Unfortunately the hallway outside our room smelled like vomit. The free wifi wouldn't work with our Apple products (we were told it was a server problem).We phoned reception to say that our toilet was clogged at 9:30pm. Reception said at they would send someone to fix it. We waited up until 1a.m but no-one came. When we checked out I told the receptionist that no-one came to fix our toilet, but she didn't seem too interested and couldn't trouble herself to apologise for the inconvenience. High price - low value

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kpopfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleenH2000, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you 'Kpopfan' for your review - I do apologise about the Internet issue, and please rest assured that we are investigating with our supplier to have this software incompatibility fixed as soon as possible. It appears to only be an issue in the rooms at this stage, but hope to have the ease of access that is available in the lobby, across the hotel. If you are able to please email me directly at H8764-GM@accor.com I would like to discuss the maintenance issue with you further.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,321 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Property: Quay West Suites Sydney
Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing