We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
Ranked #18 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We were looked after the moment we walked through the door. Lucky enough to be upgraded to a harbour view of the bridge and the opera house. Staying in tone for a wedding so we were not in the room much but a very comfortable bed and suite.
With breakfast the staff were attentive to ensure that the food was replenished.
Great stay!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julesr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you 'Jules_7771' for your wonderful feedback, and I am pleased to hear that you all had a great stay with us and enjoyed the views! We hope to see you again soon, Joleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
There are newer reviews for Quay West Suites Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Have stayed here twice, great location easy walk to the rocks and circular quay. Apartment is great fully equipped with everything you need. Pool area us awesome with fabulous views of sydney harbour and the bridge, will be back...be sure to check to Harts pub next door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you 'Brooke R' for your wonderful feedback, we hope you will visit again soon! Joleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gavin G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Judie3939
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife, 2 yo and I stayed at Quay West Suites for a Saturday Night only. Having arrived into Circular Quay around midday, there was always the chance our room was not going to be ready - no problems with that.

However, we asked if there was somewhere we could change our clothes and change our little one's nappie. There were happy to accommodate and referred us to the top level (swimming pool) to change. They conveniently forgot to tell us upon getting out at the top floor, we'd still have to climb a flight of approx 20 stairs - not exactly easy with a pram and luggage. In hindsight, we should have just taken the clothes we need to change into.

We finally got changed and looked around for the baby change room - oh no, that's on the 2nd level a staff member informed us. So back down the flight of stairs again to catch the lift down to the 2nd floor.

Surely offering us a spare room for 10 minutes would have been easier.

With all that said.......
The hotel is sensational, we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and had city views. Room was clean, modern and had all the mod cons needed. The buffet breakfast that was included in booking was fantastic and included a range of cereals, hot food, cakes and fruit options.

Not enough time to have a swim, but this looked to be an awesome place as well!

A special thanks to Emily on the front desk for your assistance and the little gift for our young one, a special thanks to Steve (or Steven I think) for your assistance during breakfast and thank you to who I assume was a Duty Manager who also assisted us but had no name badge.

Last thing - having paid over $400 for one night's accommodation, you would have thought a $10 charge for a cot could have been waived. Nope, got hit with that a check out.

Other than that, we had a great (short) stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you 'Craig H' for your review, and I am sorry to hear that the beginning of your stay was not as smooth as we would hope. I have passed this feedback onto our Front Office team to review for future advice given to guests travelling with babies, as I understand it is not an easy process! Your kind words regarding Emily, Steve and the Duty Manager have all been passed on and have helped us to reward and recognise our staff. Thank you again, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Joleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Quay West for 3 nights with our 3 children during the start of the New Zealand school holidays, before embarking on a cruise to New Caledonia.
We found the hotel to be a haven from Sydney's bustle and expense.
I particularly loved the breakfast buffet: it s $10 ($12?) each for the children, and free for the adults if we stayed 3 or more nights. It saved us an unbelievable amount of money as an alternative to eating each meal at the expensive restaurants around the Opera House.
I also liked the mini-kitchen, however it seriously had its' limits:
There was a knife block but the knives were beyond dull, and there was no cutting board.
While that sounds petty, consider this: I was trying to prepare something somewhat healthy for the children, so I traipsed up to the Coles at Wynyard Station to buy some gluten-free bread, carrots, hummus and fruit.
I couldn't chop the carrots due to the dullness of the knives and lack of cutting board, so gave up on that and the kids had toast for tea.

The laundry room was a lifesaver - in concept - when travelling with kids. However, the dryer wasn't secured down and so it would shoggle its way in front of the door so the door wouldn't open.
However, maintenance was good and came promptly.

Another example of the "great thought but poor execution" theme was the pool. It's on the top level with stunning views over Sydney. It's a gorgeous pool...but cold, especially for winter.
There's a spa - but, alas! it's too cold to warm you up.
There's a cold water jet gushing cold water into it...and despite my mentioning it to the Front Desk twice, this situation didn't change. So, given that it was winter, it rendered the lovely pool area pretty much unusable because we won't get into cold water if there's no way to warm up. The kids loved it, though, and it was a great way to outlet their extra energy.
Shame, because it's a lovely facility.

On a good note, the concierge (Jay, the tall guy) was amazing and helped us with booking into a show at the Opera House, as well as giving us tips on using the public ferry to Manly rather than the more publicised & expensive tourist option.
We went on Sunday and got an all-day pass for $2.50 each! The ferry trip to Manly was awesome, and I'd recommend it to anyone, especially those travelling with children. There are many food options, though strangely enough the very best ones seemed to be at the ferry terminal rather than on the more popular beach end.

The housekeeping was thorough, quick and friendly when anything needed doing. I was impressed with the dedication and kindness of the staff that were there.

The restaurant was good, much better than I expected. The restaurant on a Saturday had quite a few non-hotel guests in it, which is always a good sign. The food was fresh, flavourful and interesting. The wine we chose was divine.
They closed on Sunday night, so we went across the road to the Four Seasons and ate in their bar which was called Grain. That was utterly divine, but the topic for a different review!

It seems that the hotel was set up properly, but it under-staffed and not as well thought out as it could be.

I concur with the other review that say it was a bit tired, under-staffed and not well-executed.
However, I don't know that there would be a better, reasonably-priced option in downtown Sydney if you're staying with a family.

Room Tip: We had a two-bedroom apartment facing the Harbour and the Sydney Opera House. The views were astonis...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Quack_quack_quackl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay in Sydney! I do apologise for the spa being in maintenance during your stay, and hope you will have the opportunity to experience this in the future. Thank you for your compliment regarding Jay, our Concierge. He is a true asset to our team! We hope to see you again soon, Joleen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Intensive
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,421 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,467 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £163 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing