We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Position Position Position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay West Suites Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quay West Suites Sydney
Ranked #24 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Coolum Beach
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Position Position Position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which had an amazing view over the Opera House / Bridge and Harbour. It was nice to be able to open windows for fresh air and had a balcony as well that you could take in all view/noise of the fast paced city. The hotel is obviously one of the older ones and they have tried to update and was clean. We were very comfortable and having a laundry always a plus to do those quick washes. Easy walking distance to the Rocks to enjoy market day. The kitchen a good size to make a quick snack or a whole meal, all the necessities. Unfortunately we couldn't check into our room as it was late being cleaned as the previous occupants left late but on the up side we were given a late check out. There is an area you can wait while you are waiting and have a drink and snack, which is better than 'hanging' in reception. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJN2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen W, Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear 'Paul H',

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am sorry to hear about the mix-up with your breakfast. I will be sure to follow this incident up.

I am glad you and your family enjoyed our centrality, views and amazing pool area.

We do hope to welcome you and your family back in the future and I wish to apologise again for the mix-up.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    334
    92
    42
    16
See reviews for
548
270
28
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the end of August. Check in didn't go smoothly. We were travelling as a family of 4 and had booked on a Bed and Breakfast basis. So I was surprised to be told that their records only had breakfast for two, despite our booking confirmation clearly showing it applied to all of our party. The receptionist was fairly helpful but didn't fill me with complete confidence that it was all sorted. We then booked our breakfast for the next day as room service as we were leaving on a trip before breakfast opened. She confirmed that was possible and we would not be charged extra. The following day having booked breakfast for between 06.00 and 06.30 it turned up at 06.50, 10 minutes before we were due to leave and even then not all of it arrived. They finally completed our breakfast delivery two minutes before we were due to leave and to add insult to injury it was cold and overcooked! I complained at reception and they offered not to charge us for the breakfast! They still didn't understand that instead we needed a refund as breakfast was already paid for. After three attempts the hotel manager did resolve things and offered a couple of bottles of wine as a goodwill gesture but even so this left us with a tainted view of the service on offer. To balance this though the hotel is ideally located, very well appointed, very comfortable and for a higher end hotel drinks were not too expensive. Our accommodation, a two bedroomed harbour view suite was very good, the view exceptional and the suite very spacious. We had two bedrooms a living and dining area, kitchen and laundry room, which was a very nice touch. There was a pool and viewing area around it with Sauna and Spa in the hotel, all of which were very good.

This hotel should be scoring very good or excellent but on this occasion the service fell short of expectations. The staff were very apologetic but seem to struggle to understand the nature of our booking, struggled to correct it as a result and due to the failure of our breakfast arriving on time I can't give it a higher rating. If the service had been up to scratch this would have had a glowing rating.

Room Tip: The Harbour View Suites are exceptional, worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We like this hotel. It's very close to the rocks area of Sydney which is really nice. The suites can be one or two bedroom, harbour or city view. The smallish pool, gym and sauna are on the 27th floor with a jacuzzi (unfortunately out of service on our visit this time). The rooms include a small kitchen area and a little room with washing machine and dryer with complementary washing powder. Beds are very comfortable and views of the harbour are fantastic. Breakfast is very good with lots to choose from- lots of fruit, several juices, reasonable choice of hot food. And lots of other things to suit anyone. Helpful staff in reception. The only gripe is that there is free internet only in the reception and first floor restaurant. Not free in the room. Easy walking distance to anywhere from here. Very good. A little bit of noise wafts up from the city but very god for this kind of location.

Room Tip: Pay more for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen W, Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear 'Purdey',

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed our services and your suite. We now offer complimentary internet services for Accor LeClub members. This is a free membership program you can join.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I know this is the problem with the majority of the hotels, but this one was particolarly noisy. Both the cleaners and the other guests constantly slammed the fire doors, which resulted in the all room shaking. Next door I had a group of friends who went in an out in the corridor, talking aloud and slamming doors. I couldn't sleep until 2 a.m. and at 7 a.m. everything started again...
The sminning pool upstairs was pleanty of kids, screaming and splashing, despite of being out of the school holiday period. Overall, as relaxing as a team park.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen W, Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear 'SaraB_11',

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sincerely apologetic about the noise you experienced. I am not sure why the fire exits were being used and will investigate that and the associated noise.

If you have any further concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us at H8764-FO@accor.com.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was once our favourite place to stay in the rocks. The location is awesome - stroll up the street and you are in the heart of the rocks action. The harbour views are spectacular.
However, their service lets them down and it has become a bit too expensive. Slow check in process, lack of a decent restaurant and ordinary all round service left us disappointed.
The rooms / beds are comfortable but you are paying for a 5 star view and location - nothing else about this hotel suggests 5 star. Better hotels with just as good a view which have a nicer feel and actual service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen W, Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear 'SaraB_11',

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear our service was not up to standard. Usually our service is very friendly and efficient. I am glad you enjoyed the view from your suite and we hope to welcome you back with better service in the future.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Went away for long weekend with 5 girlfriends, I booked the accommodation and the others could not believe the view, opera house and sydney bridge was what we saw at sunrise and sunset. The staff was very helpful and professional and the proximity to the Rocks and other attractions was fabulous. everyone agreed we will all be back.. Some lost items where efficiently found and sent back to respective owners as well. Well done to the team at Quay West.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Travelmad888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen W, Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear 'Travelmad888',

It sounds like you had a wonderful girls getaway!

I am glad you all enjoyed our wonderful service and views.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the future!

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Our family had an excellent 3 night stay here last weekend. A nice touch there was a birthday card, chocolates and sweets in our room for my sons birthday. It's been said a many times that the location is amazing, you can't get a better spot. This is definitely our choice for future family trips to Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Sydney, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Good afternoon lisabw,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the small "surprises" added to your stay.

We look forward to welcoming back to Quay West Suites in the future,

SIncerely yours,

Joleen R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,996 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Sydney

Property: Quay West Suites Sydney
Address: 98 Gloucester St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Quay West Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Sydney Hotel Sydney
Quay West Hotel Sydney
Quay West Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing