We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best front desk staff ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Ranked #43 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Possibly the best front desk staff ever”
Reviewed 7 December 2009

The Radisson is not an imposing building with grand public rooms or sweeping staircases but has a certain charm in that the service from its mainly young staff is excellent. The rooms are large and adequate with (in my case) huge beds and a big flat panel TV, a fierce shower, fridge and plentiful cupboards / wardrobes makes a stay here pretty good and its close proximity to Darling Harbour with all that has to offer means you can be out of your suit and into your jeans drinking a pint of the golden stuff in no minutes flat. Breakfast was good a selection of most of what anyone with a normal appetite would need. The front desk staff were excellent, helping with a printer problem in the business centre, using thier own equipment to sort it out and even running up the road to chase a taxi on my behalf! Prices were reasonable for central Sydney and its location a bonus with all forms of transport nearby including the monorail (75 yards)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    671
    177
    56
    41
See reviews for
593
423
96
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SLC, UT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We stayed at this property the last night of our trip and if I had known how great it would be I would have booked this for the entire stay! We had booked a studio room but were upgraded to a one bedroom, which had a kitchen, large bathroom, two TVs and a balcony. The property also had free internet in the room, which was a really nice treat after the high charges other properties had for this service. The closet was large and had plenty of hangers. It was simply an easy and comfortable experience, especially after staying at other properties that had fallen short of our expectations. The Radisson surpassed all that we anticipated and I would highly recommend it to other travelers. About 3ish blocks from the Town Hall train stop and one block off of vibrant George Street.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kschrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My family and I stayed here for 5 nights while I attended a conference. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a small balcony looking out onto nothing much. On opening the door of the apartment we looked onto scratched and dirty paintwork. The main bedroom held a Kingsize bed, the second bedroom just fitted 2 single beds. The 2 bathrooms were clean and pleasant. The toiletries were the smallest I have ever encountered in a hotel and given our stay over 5 days and frequent use of the pool, they really went nowhere. I had expected a laundry, but there was none to be found. The kitchen was reasonable but we could not get the oven to work. The apartment came with 3 spoons, 3 forks, 3 knives, 3 glasses etc etc but this was increased to a generous 5 of everything on request. There was no dishwasher which I was disappointed in. The couch in the siting room was pretty uncomfortable.

The swimming pool was very nice, the spa rather hot, but the gym is a bit of a waste of time with minimal equipment and oveused outside of work hours by residents of an adjacent building.

Apart from being a bit shabby, we had 2 major issues with the hotel, the first was their inability to control extremely nosiy guests in the apartment below us which kept us all awake until around 4am. They only left their balcony at that time to start arguing in the bedroom directly below us. Strangely, after calling and complaining around 4am, the front desk called me back about 20 minutes later (ie about 420 am) to tell me they had told the guests to be quiet. As there was only a phone in the living room, this woke my daughter who was sleeping there just ater I had finally got her off to sleep.

Secondly when we left the next day (ater a total of 2 hours sleep), I was unpleasantly suprised to find a charge of $50 per night added to the bill for a roll away bed my small daughter had slept on in the living room, in addition to the $30 per night parking and a couple of minibar charges we had not incurred. When I brought this up with the desk manager he could not have cared less and told me that I had no option other than to pay their charges. Apparently I was supposed to find this hotel good value at the equivalent of $380 per night or $1900 for 5 nights. Well I didn't and I complained to the conference organisers who booked my room. After 7 weeks of emailing, my complaint was answered in more or less the same way...the Radisson couldn't care less.

We won't be staying at another Radisson, as the experience has left me with a very bad taste. They really and truly couldn't have cared less.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights with some friends, in one of their 2 bedroom apartments. We were expecting an "ordinary"/"average" hotel. What we found, however, was a place with amazing staff who had great attitudes and were extraordinarily helpful.

We were attending a conference in Darling Harbour, and the hotel was only a block away. We could easily walk to and from the Radisson in our conference breaks. Town Hall and the Queen Vic Building were also very close by, and it was a fairly close walk to get into Pitt St Mall also.

If you want a good value hotel in the heart of Sydney, you can't go past the Radisson Hotel and Suites on Liverpool St.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2009

A superb hotel, the staff are the best that I have seen. They really go out of their way to make sure your stay is excellent. Definitely recommended.

Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed at the Radisson apts for 5 nights in Oct. Hotel was nice with very spacious rooms. The location was excellent (right next to Darling harbour) and we found it good value for money. We did’nt use the breakfast option as we prefer to expore other local offerings which we found at a bar called the Tokio Hotel in Darling harbour which did excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyC172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

We stayed in the Radisson at the end of a five week trip to Australia.
After staying in the Mantra , Siebel and the Westin on our trip this was by far the best hotel for service . The staff are amazing , and a special thank you to Coleen Kenny I wish there was one of you in every hotel I stayed in .
The hotel itself is pleasant close to Chinatown and Darling Harbour , We had a one bedroom suite which was both comfortable and clean with all mod cons but I will definitely stay here again when I return to Sydney

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IECOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 179 in Sydney
1,036 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney

Property: Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Address: Darling Harbour 72 Liverpool St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#41 Business Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Sydney Central Business District, Radisson Hotel & Suites Sydney is the ideal place for business and leisure travellers. Our 4.5 star Sydney CBD hotel's location is within walking distance or a short drive of many attractions, including Darling Harbour and Capitol Theatre. Chinatown, the city centre and other notable shopping districts are just minutes from our Radisson Sydney accommodation. All of our hotel's oversized guest rooms feature large balconies, kitchenettes, well-lit work desks and complimentary WiFi access. Spacious suites with one or two bedrooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Sydney
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing