We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saguenay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was at the Radisson Blu on a business trip and stayed for 2 nights. This is quite a "chic" hotel, luxurious, very well located near attractions, shopping malls and business center. Service was excellent all over the place.

Room Tip: Inward facing room are cheaper and quieter, but no view. Anyway, if you are in Sydney for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewistfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,145
    1,090
    254
    69
    51
See reviews for
703
1,870
293
1,200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Recently I had the need to stay overnight again at the Radisson Blu in Sydney. From the moment I parked the car outside to the moment I left the next day I was just "impressed" .. ON arrival I was greeted by a happy friendly porter/valet who assisted with my luggage and took care of my car. I was checked in by a young lady who offered the friendliest and most professional welcome I have experienced in many years but was, at the same time, relaxed and welcoming. I was recognised as a return guest and even extended a roo upgrade, which for the price I was paying as I booked though a discount website, I certainly was not expecting. There was a small hiccup with the room key as the computer had not recognised me as being checked in. In this time, I was offered coffee and a drink, a seat to relax in the business lounge and as more than friendly smile from the staff on the accommodation level. At this point it started to dawn on me that service standard was consistent...everyone offered great service in a relaxed manner. I later had a drink in the business lounge and went in and out of the hotel which was easy to do. The room was fantastic and one of the cleanest and well appointed and presented I have seen for a long time. I had a great nights sleep and the departed the next morning with ease to the airport. If I could rate the hotel I would give it 6 stars as it was just "perfect" in location, presentation, facilitates and most importantly, service. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great venue business or holiday.

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room in this hotel before
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityTraveller011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My last review was 2 years ago and I'm pleased to say that on staying here for 2 nights recently, it is still a fantastic place to stay. From valet parking to check in it is just smooth, efficient, friendly customer service. I was on the Business floor and the lounge there is just as good with a great choice of snacks and quality wines.
Nothing seems too much trouble for the staff here and if they aren't really enjoying their work they certainly make it seem like they do!
It's got to be one of the best places to stay in Sydney! Quirky floor layout due to shape of the building, but it all adds to the charm
Oh, and get breakfast included in your stay....it's well worth it...much better than the average hotel buffet!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Treated ourselves to an over night stay at this lovely hotel ,what a wonderful place to stay ! Ideally situated right in the middle of the city , five minute walk to Wynyard Station,probably ten minutes to Circular Quay, twenty to twenty five minutes to Darling Harbour also very close to shops. If you don't feel like walking there is a taxi rank right outside hotel where there always seemed to be taxis waiting .
Service staff were exceptional, extremely helpful and friendly ,rooms were spacious and very comfortable ,the bathrooms amazing !
Buffet breakfast was ten dollars cheaper if you book the day before, it was plentiful and had a great selection to choose from including eggs cooked to order .
Had high tea there before we checked in ,it was truly delicious, one of the best I have ever had and our waiter Brad was lovely making sure everything was perfect for us ,it certainly was ! Highly recommend this wonderful hotel,can't wait to stay again . Thanks to all staff .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Last year I stayed at Radisson Blu and have written about my great experience there in an earlier review. Going back there this year, I was curious to discover whether Radisson had maintained its high standards of professionalism, excellence and good service that I had so admired during my last visit. And I am pleased to say that, in my view, it has

Last year, I received an upgrade to the business level and the lounge facilities. This year, I did not receive an upgrade –which is not an issue for me, I’ll take what comes –but I must say that, apart from not having access to the business lounge, the difference was barely –if it all- noticeable in terms of the high standard of quality and excellence that I experienced during my hotel stay

This was particularly true when it came to my room, which had all the spaciousness, luxuriousness, amenities and comfort of the room which I had on the business level last year and lacked for nothing. The interior decoration and the furnishings of the room were lovely and gave the room a modern and upmarket/vibrant feel while at the same time reinforcing a warm and welcoming ambience. Every luxury and amenity I could want, I had. The desk was very comfortable to sit at and the desk chair was one of the most comfortable, relaxing and flexible I have ever encountered at a hotel. The lighting was good and the temperature in the room perfect. The bed was exceedingly comfortable, as were the nicely decorated cushions and the pillows –both of which seemed to be in ample supply. The bar fridge was nicely stocked, there were two phones (one by the desk and one by the bed) to allow for ample convenience in order to make a call –an amenity which some hotels lack and could be a potential inconvenience. The bathroom was spacious with a beautiful interior and a nice roomy shower and a bath, both of which were a pleasure to use. Toiletries were also amply supplied. This was a room I could quite happily spend a lot of time in and enjoy to the fullest and I was sad to leave it

Two aspects of this hotel particularly impressed me. First of all, I appreciate the free Wi-Fi. Too many hotels in Australia insist in charging exorbitant amounts for a Wi-Fi service which is complimentary in most American hotels. That Radisson Blu does not feel the need to do this is a wonderful reflection on the values and quality of customer service that this hotel offers. The second is that, when I made my hotel booking with the Wotif secret stays program and before I knew what hotel I was going to stay in, I specifically asked for a room near the elevator. The room they gave me perfectly fitted that criteria and was an easy and short walk away from the lift. I am glad they took the trouble to honour my request

The service in this hotel continues to be exceptional. From the welcome I received at check-in to the service I received in the bar and the restaurant, to the friendliness and helpfulness of the concierge, hotel cleaners, baggage staff and the people who handled in-hotel phone inquiries to the cheerful send-off I received when I departed, the staff were absolutely great and seemed to take a personal interest in my well-being. At least a few of them remembered me from my last visit which, considering it was about a year ago and given how many guests must flow through this hotel on a daily basis, is very impressive. Several of the staff were helpful to a fault, like the staff member in the hotel foyer who saw me struggling with my bags of shopping and arranged for it to be sent to my room, and I am very grateful to them for making my stay such an absolute pleasure

I again took high tea here and found it to be wonderful and thank you to the Chef, whom apparently gave me an extra pastry in recognition of my status as a return guest –much appreciated and everything was delicious. The buffet breakfast was also great (although I would have liked to have found the sausages which I’m sure must have been there and I couldn’t find them, either that or they’d run out because I came in late for breakfast –either way no reflection on the excellent staff on duty and the quality of food/service provided)

A minor issue while I was there –I noticed that the ATM at the front had an error message on it for at least two days while I was there. It was just a passing detail –so insignificant to me that it didn’t even cross my mind to mention it until much later on reflection –and there are numerous ATM machines in the vicinity of the hotel –but it did strike me as curious. And, since to my recollection I never tried using the ATM when it had that error message on it, I don’t know whether it actually was out of order was just displaying an error message because of an internal glitch. Either way, it had no impact on my stay here –just noting it.

Also, on the morning I left, the hotel bar had no staff on duty when I went down there for a drink and a snack. Again, not a major issue and I understand that the hotel staff were spread out in their many duties and probably unable to do everything at once –and in all fairness, they were quite prompt at sending someone to tend the bar when I notified another staff member about it –but I note it because I and believe other patrons were initially unable to find someone to give us food and beverages when we arrived. Again, it did not detract from the otherwise excellent quality of the place and my enjoyment of my stay

All in all, a wonderful pleasure and privilege to stay here again. A unique experience and I greatly look forward to coming back in the future

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OL1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in this superb hotel in a business class room but was upgraded to a wonderful room with a balcony. The staff were incredible very friendly and helpful, particularly Wayne in the business lounge. The room were extremely warm and clean and bathroom were fabulous. I will certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Whalerscove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Radisson Blu Plaza for business, (having stayed there a few times before as well) and was again blown away at the attentive, caring and professional service provided during my stay. It is the best hotel to stay at in Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#30 of 179 in Sydney
6,338 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,314 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing