We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and attention to details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing service and attention to details”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney for a weekend. From entering the hotel to checking out, everything went smoothly. It's appreciated that we were offered to upgrade to a suite with small fees, and discounted price for breakfast. The suite was well presented with a large bathroom. Although the room is next to a street, it's very quiet. Staff were always smiling and helpful during our stay. This was one of the best hotel services I've had in Australia.

Room Tip: Upgrade to suites if you don't mind small fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luke878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,035
    1,064
    249
    67
    50
See reviews for
665
1,826
284
1,161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This understated hotel is simply a joy to stay in. For those that are very experienced in staying in 5 star hotels will appreciate the quality/value.

Centrally located in the more prestigious end of town it is located in a quite spot but very close to the shopping malls located in the south and circular quay in the north. It is located just off George street and believe me that is a major benefit as you can get a perfectly quiet night of sleep. The most noise that you might hear is maybe an amorous couple noisily love making but given the location and quality of this hotel on a weekday night this us unlikely, maybe unlikely on weekends too...it's understated appearance and location makes it an ideal spot for the rich and famous to stay to maintain their privacy too...yet enjoy very good facilities and service.

The room we were in had high ceilings and the bathroom had marble tiles... And fairly decent sized squares too not like the crappy ones in westfields centrepoint. Everything was impeccably clean that can be reasonably expected. The complimentary internet was super fast and the bar refrigerator was very silent... Some of you who are more experienced stayers in '5 star' hotels would be able to attest how annoying noisy bar refrigerators could be to disturb a perfect night's sleep. The room had individually adjustable air con which was delightful to use, which is a huge bonus in comparison to those '5 star' hotels that are actually centrally heated/air con. There is plenty of drinking water from a cooler and apples in the gym which was great for a healthy lifestyle. And the pillows and bed were every comfortable to sleep in... I'm actually thinking of upgrading my pillow at home after sleeping there... They have a low one for back sleepers and firm and medium high one that was a pleasure to sleep by the side. Of course, for Asian tourists - please remember to bring your own toothbrush and toothpaste and shaver as it is standard that these are not offered in western hotels of almost any star.

The buffet breakfast at $25 if pre booked (it was an offer running at the time of my stay) the night before represents excellent value for money. Even at the full price of $35 it represents very good value for money in this part of the CBD. The ham freshly carved to order was simply sumptuous and there was plenty of top notch ham and smoked salmon and capers that you can help yourself to. The pastries looked ordinary but they tasted much better than they looked. Everything that you'd expect from a top 5 star hotel restaurant in this part of the world.

It was drizzling slightly on the morning of our stay (the weather had been pouring for the past two weeks) and there was a bucket of unbrellas which we could take one with us which was thoughtful and very kind benefit to offer to guests. Overall a very delightful stay indeed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rirji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel is central to most of Sydney. It is quiet, with great staff in both the reception areas and the dining room. Check in was efficient, the room well appointed and spotless. We were made feel most welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Thanks Radisson Blu Sydney for a wonderful stay. The room was beautiful and there was no problem with organising twin beds for us. The bathroom was the best bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel. The twin double beds were very comfortable and the late checkout was great for a sleep in!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

A recent stay at this heritage property was a respite. I had forgotten how quiet the money precinct of town was especially post Friday lunch. So you get quiet accompanied with easy access to all the cityhas to offer.The constraints of a heritage building keep the rooms spacious. Service is very old school in a good way, example being greeted on your entry and so on. best buffet breakfast I have enjoyed in many a long day, and the pool and spa downstairs are hidden gems. For this hotel is a warm retreat.

Room Tip: My anywhere tip is to ask for a room away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

After a wonderful welcome on my arrival by the awesome gentlemen at the front door, the checkin in process was fast and efficient, my bags were spirited to my room and after a long and eventful flight I was tucked up in bed in minutes. The staff are friendly, can't do enough for you. Rooms are roomy and well appointed, everything the business traveller needs is readily available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I found this hotel cold and inpersonal. Our room was on the smaller side and with average furniture that you would find in a 3 star establishment. The bathroom was good though. There are no special in-house condiments like plunger coffee or free bottle water provided. The restaraunt is inpersonal and ambience not so good and menu selection is average. This hotel rates only a three or maybe four star at very best. The best thing about this hotel is the location to the harbour and shopping centre of town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBluSydney, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Dear John W,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney with this feedback we can isolate issues and areas in need of attention. Your feedback is important in helping us to achieve our goal of 100% guest satisfaction.

Whilst I was pleased you found the location of the hotel to your satisfaction. I was dissappointed to learn that you found our to be a four star standard please be assured I will pass on your comments to our Food & Beverage team regarding the service this is certainly an abnormality. In 2015 the hotel will be undergoing a redesign of our guests rooms and with feedback like this we are able to isolate guest issues and rectify them in the process of this redesign. I do hope that you are able to return in 2015 and let us know of the improvements we have made.

Thanks again for bringing this issue regarding your stay to our attention.

Sincerely,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,206 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,195 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing