We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room, Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #10 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Believe the 5 star reviews. We just spent 2 perfect nights at the Radisson Plaza and would stay here again in a heartbeat. We were on the 10th floor (I requested a quiet room and ours was like being in a tomb; we never once heard street noise or our neighbors.) in a premier room with a king bed and soaking tub. Internet access was free and extremely fast. The hotel even offers you a choice of pillow types in case the standard down feather pillow does not suit you. (Many people overlook the importance of a good pillow for a good night's sleep.)

The staff was extremely polite and helpful, from the check in desk to the porters. I only found fault with the concierge and it was minor indeed. We did not eat at the restaurant as the room service prices indicated it was rather expensive for what you got. Tip: right next door on O'Connell St is an espresso shop called More and it's a good place for coffee and a light breakfast.

The Radisson is also an easy walk to the famous sights of Sydney including the opera house, the harbor bridge and the aquarium/king street wharf. The only thing missing as far as I can tell is a view, but it's a short walk to phenomenal ones. And with the current, favorable exchange rate, this hotel is very good value. Book online at the Radisson website.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,513 - 4,519 of 4,886 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2009

Excellent hotel, with good facilities and only a few minutes walk from both Circular Quay and Darling Harbour.

Pay the extra for the Executive Lounge option. Service there is impeccable, the "complementary" breakfast good and the evening canapes and drinks first class.

Very helpful Concierge service.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teesside_tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

My Wife and I went to this Hotel for our honey moon for 3 nights, it was really nice staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilienJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

When we arrived in the morning our rooms where not ready but the friendly staff provided us with a free breakfast while we waited which was not too long .The room was very spacious clean , nice trendy design with a beautiful bathroom , not much of a view just lots of offices but not a problem , very comforatable bed, flat screen tv and good selection of channels, interrnet was also very good and reasonably priced.
I used the bar in the evening , once again friendly staff the location is excellent although the hotel is in the finacial district it is a short walk from the opera house/ sydney harbour and there are plenty of bars/clubs nearby.
I have stayed at this hotel before and its always a pleasure

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcasLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We stayed at the Radisson for 5 nights and found the hotel to be of an excellent standard. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the concierge and bar staff. The concierge were able to suggest a pick-up and drop-off laundry service that was extremely efficient and unbelievably good value compared to the hotel's own service. We ate in the bar and found the food to be good quality and the service of a very high standard.

The hotel is well located for exploring Sydney, only a short walk to the harbour. The immediate streets outside the hotel are very quiet in the evening and at weekends since they are in the business district.

Our room was very clean and of a good size with an excellent bathroom. The decor was very modern and up to a high standard. The hotel pool was very quiet during our stay - there is a good size pool, jacuzzi and sauna.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelloverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We actually stayed at the Radisson Plaza Sydney back in Jul 04, but have only had a chance to review it now.

This hotel was amazing. The decor is rich and makes you feel like you have really gone out for a weekend away. Felt very sexy, expensive and rich.

We arrived with a deluxe room booked but was advised that a pipe had bust and they had to change our room. We were a little worried about this but shouldn't have been. We were upgraded to a Plaza Club Room with complimentary access to the Radisson Plaza Club Lounge and a view of Sydney Habour. We weren't disapointed. We had breakfast daily and canapes at night. The room was spacious, the decor was fresh, clean and cutting edge.

The Bistro Fax restaurant within the hotel is a must for those romantic dinners, we had a beautiful 3 course dinner there. The staff we great and always there to help.

The health club is great both gym and pool facilities are great and very clean. The pool temperature is superb even in winter.

The location is fantastic with a 5 - 10 min walk to Sydney Sky Tower, The Harbour Bridge and the Opera House.

Plenty of taxi cabs as its in the heart of Sydney's financial district.

We have to stay that we have recently stayed at the Hilton Sydney and this would have to be the better choice for 5 Star Hotels in Sydney.

We will stay at Radisson Plaza Sydney again for sure.

Tip: Make sure you order a picnic hamper to be delivered to your room with some wine. You can have a great picnic out or in your room for something more romantic.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lil_Bear_and_Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

The hotel is perfectly located downtown Sydney. Staff is really friendly and the hotelroom (premier room) is the biggest I have ever had in such a hotel. Huge beds and big bathroom. Food is too expensive - not worth having breakfast at the hotel, there is a superb cafe across the street. After 2 weeks in a caravan this was absolutely worth the price.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank db05292014i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#18 of 179 in Sydney
2,007 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £111 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing