We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Ranked #72 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
1 review
“Perfect for a family holiday”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom family room (913) for 3 days recently and we were really happy with the hotel. As per suggestions and feedback on this website (thank you to all recent reviewers!), we asked for a high level room so that the renovations downstairs and the street noise outside would not disturb us. They put us on the 9th floor and we had no problems with noise. It was a corner room with a great view up and down George st.
The rooftop pool was a hit with my kids (although it's a lot smaller than it looks on the photos!) and the staff were very helpful whenever we had a question.
Although we had our car with us, we walked or used public transport every day as the hotel was so close to everywhere we needed to go. (Be aware of the $60 per night parking fee at the hotel though.)
The hotel's cafe being closed for renovation wasn't a problem for us- there's a Maccas on the same block as the hotel and a shopping centre (with Woolies as well as cafes & restaurants etc) across the road.
The main negative comment I have is that our door keycard drove us nuts! It hardly ever worked despite having it reset at the front desk numerous times and keeping it away from our credit cards.
Also, the small corner balcony was great but the door was extremely drafty, making that bedroom a little harder to keep warm.
But overall, we loved staying at the Mantra and we will definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Mantra 2 Bond St.
Our roof top heated swimming pool is always the best part especially for the kids.

We look forward to welcome you back with our new Memento restaurant & bar opening on 21st July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    910
    398
    132
    88
See reviews for
566
651
94
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I spent a night here when in Sydney to see a concert. The hotel has some positive features. It is very well located adjacent to Australia Square in George Street. That means it is within an easy walk from Circular Quay, the Opera House, Museum of Modern Art and a myriad of other attractions. It is also only a short walk to Wynyard railway station. The studio/apartment room allocated (room 808) was well prepared and comfortable. The bed was fine with pillows to my requirements. A spare blanket was available in the wardrobe - a plus for me as I find the regular doona quilts too hot for me regardless of how low I can adjust air conditioning. The shower was fine and the bathroom generally satisfactory. It is possible to open the balcony door to take in the view acrioss George Street and up Margaret Street. On the down side - the air conditioning controls are hidden in the wardrobe, not intuitive to use, come with no instructions and the air con seems to operate according to its own wishes regardless of any change to desired temperature. One light fitting in the bathroom had no globe. There were no tissues provided - I have never found this in any other hotel. There was no desk for any work a guest needs to do. There was a round dining table but I expect lighting would be less than ideal and the common problem of low chair-high table would apply. This is also a hotel which has not learned that almost every hotel in Australia, and certainly overseas, now provides free wi-fi in the room. The price here is a steep $24.50/day and even worse for shorter time frames. When will Australian hotels learn that this is a real turn-off especially for foreign tourists who already find Australia a high cost destination? I was told there is free wi-fi in the lobby. This is not satisfactory if, like me, you want to listen to music or online radio in the room or work in the room. Also the lobby here is small and under renovation. The hotel provides no breakfast, sending guests on a walk to the Raddison Hotel five minutes away with a pass that gets the guest a price reduction at the Raddison. In all, a rather ordinary hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatheralbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
It’s good to hear that you enjoyed the great location of the hotel close to major tourist attractions.

We do apologise for any inconvenience caused due to our restaurant & bar being closed during your stay.

I am glad to inform you that our new Memento restaurant & bar is opening on 21st July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Mantra on Bond Street for 4 weeks for work in a studio apartment. The room had a kitchenette, Esperanto lounge and dining area, queen size bed with tv in the bedroom, and laundry facilities in the bathroom.
The hotel was undergoing renovations which meant no on site restaurant during my stay. This was fine, the location is perfect and close to cafes and restaurants ( Jamie Oliver's Italian on Pitt street is fantastic and a five minute walk away). Wynyard train station is directly across the road which suited my business travel. The staff are professional and even allowed me to keep food in their fridge on the weekends when I flew back home.
I'd recommend this hotel for business or couples. It is fairly quiet as it seems popular with the corporate sector, no late night parties here and good night sleeps. :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank simplicityrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

I am glad to hear that you had a very comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the spacious room with kitchenette and in-room laundry facilities.

It’s always a benefit for any traveller staying with us to be close to major attractions and restaurants city has to offer.

We look forward to welcome you back with your new Memento restaurant & bar opening on 21t July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed once a week for the last 6 weeks just recently. We experienced many rooms across many floors. All rooms were clean and tidy. The beds varied in their comfort, we prefer softer mattress but each to their own. Easy access to underground parking with a lift to reception. A short walk down George street to the rocks or circular quay. We sampled some great food in the area as well. Every time we needed anything the staff were more than happy to help and were so efficient. But... we were blown away with the hospitality of staff member, Sanchit who I met this week. He was immensely helpful and showed us to the very luxurious penthouse suite. Thank you Sanchit. We look forward to returning when the restaurant opens.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 96KarenN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I am glad to hear that you had a very comfortable stay with us and you experience with our friendly helpful staff.

We looks forward to welcome you back with your new Memento restaurant & bar opening on 21t July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Excellent location. A short walk to all attractions. Apartment had all facilities you could wish for., and very clean. Interested staff who helped a lot with information for my family. Looking forward to the return trip and try out their new restaurant. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itea714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I am glad to hear that you had a very comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the spacious room with kitchenette and in-room laundry facilities.

It’s always a benefit for any traveller staying with us to be close to major attractions and restaurants city has to offer.

Your team looks forward to welcome you back with your new Memento restaurant & bar opening on 21t July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. A supposed 4 star hotel in sydney CBD that DOESNT hav free wifi.

Wifi is $15 an hour or $25 a night !

Roof top pool closed at 9pm ! It was heated tho but there was a MASSIVE cockroach up there that we had to kill by ourselves!

There was no bath, shower only.

Room was nice and clean.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana T, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing your feedback.

Just for your information we do have complimentary internet in our lobby which is for all hotel guests to use.

We are please to hear that our rooms were clean and tidy for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Location,Location,Location! Travelled to the Mantra 2 Bond St by car.Easy access to underground parking and then take the lift to reception , no valet parking required, so you have easy access to your car at all times.
Our room was on the 13th floor facing George St - no traffic noise through the night - liked the idea of having a choice of being able to open a window for fresh air or utilising the airconditioner.
Booked in thinking we would be staying in a hotel style room,but pleasantly surprised to open our door and walk into a separate lounge / dining area,adjoining a full functional kitchen,seperate bedroom with built-in wardrobe,washer and dryer in its own laundry cabinet and separate bathroom - much more than we were expecting!
Easy walking distance to the Rocks ,Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay or the other direction to Sydney city shopping or business.
Looking forward to returning once the restaurant has reopened - would highly recommend a stay at this Hotel offering good value with wonderful amenities and great location - thank you Mantra.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alana T, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Ken,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location and our spacious rooms we have on offer.

Thank you for providing your great feedback and we can't wait to welcome you back at Mantra 2 Bond Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#79 of 179 in Sydney
432 reviews
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,281 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#71 of 179 in Sydney
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Property: Mantra 2 Bond Street
Address: Cnr George St & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Memento Lounge & Bistro is located onsite at Mantra Bond Street and showcases Australia's best produce, modern food with a traditional touch and an exclusive selection of Australian and International wines - perfect for a night in. If you want to head out there is a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Mantra 2 Bond Street is perfectly positioned to take advantage of what Sydney has on offer. Enjoy a swim or some sightseeing at over 70 harbours and ocean beaches including the famous and iconic Bondi Beach. Entertainment is first class with an array of world-class theatres, museums and galleries spread across the city, but if shopping is on the cards the CBD is a shopper's paradise with a number of department stores, one of a kind boutiques and designer fashions. The Rocks sits just north of the CBD and is the perfect blend of old and new in Sydney with beautiful buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street has a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Mantra 2 Bond Street is a NON SMOKING hotel. Maintenance Notice: Mantra 2 Bond Street is planning an upgrade of rooms and facilities to begin on Tuesday 13 June 2017. It is expected the works will continue until 30 September 2017. The hotel does plan to minimise disruption towards all guests, but understands there will be some inconvenience incurred. For all up to date information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing