We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useless management, no help, avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Ranked #70 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Useless management, no help, avoid this hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our 4yr anniversary. Chose this hotel due to being close to aria restaurant that we had a reservation at and the ettalong mantra we stayed at not long ago was great. As we walked in to a lobby under construction which was never mentioned took ages to check in due to staff not seeming to care very much paying additional $60 for parking seemed a bit steep after seeing the parking arrangements (most spots reserved for private use only not for hotel resident use) and construction worker vans block other side of road on entrance once in room we discovered the toilet didn't flush and overall didn't think room was at all up to scratch especially for the price payed rang reception and they sent manager up to fix toilet once he arrive I told him my querys and in return he was smart to me guessing due to my age (18) and completely unhelpful he told me someone had turned the switch off at the bottum of the toilet and it was fixed....... It wasnt and continued to not work night and morning. Almost jammed my fingers in the deathtrap that is a microwave cupboard door. Balcony facing the city was width of my feet only.(Almost an insult to even provide a door there) after the manager finally left as It was going no where and I was still trying to get ready for a dinner reservation that was now only 30mins away after wrestling the iron and board out of cupboard iron failed to heat up and leaked all over my shirt went to reservation with a damp and wrinkled shirt bedside lamp didn't work, kitchenette cupboards hanging out of whack spacer under fridge cut and not filled in random hole... Humming noise coming from air con vents outside (air con didn't even work properly even after adjusting temperature) completely unhappy will never stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thnak you for taking time to share your experience with us.
We always appreciate receiving constructive feedback which helps us to maintain and improve our service standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We apologise for your less than satisfactory experience.

Your feedback will help us in training our team members, so we can create a memorable experience for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    858
    369
    125
    85
See reviews for
529
614
91
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The positives.....great location, very central. We used the heated pool and spa even though it was cool weather. The downsides......noisy, especially on Friday night (nearby bars etc). On arrival we instantly discovered that the lobby cafe was under major construction and had been replaced by a small coffee cart. I don't recall seeing anything about this on the website. Reception staff friendly enough but extremely hard to hear over the construction work! We stayed in a 2 bed apartment with our 2 small children. Accommodation was adequate for our 2 night stay but would be cramped for any longer. Dishwasher smelt badly. Carpet looked like it had been vacuumed very quickly and some rubbish from the previous guests was still scattered around the apartment. Glass topped tables (dining tables, coffee table and side tables) very dangerous for small children as the glass is not fixed and slides around. Nothing majorly wrong with the place, but disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladychaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thnak you for taking time to share your experience with us.
We always appreciate receiving constructive feedback which helps us to maintain and improve our service standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back here at Mantra 2 Bond St with our new Memento restaurant & bar opening on 21st July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for one Saturday night in a One Bedroom Apartment. Apartment was absolutely huge, abundant natural light & spotlessly clean. Very well utilized, self contained space. We were on the 8th floor, which was extremely quiet. No road/city noise whatsoever.

3 adults in the apartment. Bed was big & comfortable, room was spacious & all in all, we had a great stay. Sofa bed was set up by the houseman for our 3rd guest & happy with service, he was even able to give us extra bath towels.

Fantastic location. Walking distance to just about everything. Simple to get to - jump on the city loop train from the Domestic airport, get off at Wynyard station & simply walk down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room if possible. Ours was on the 8th floor & just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djsamim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It’s great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us in our spacious one bed room apartment and enjoyed the convenience of our great location.

We look forward to welcome you back with our new Memento restaurant & bar opening on 21st July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gild coast
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Room was dusty, hair
All over bed sheets. Window in room broken so freezing cold air coming through the room. Opened the fridge cupboard door and a cockroach scuttled out!! Construction going on downstairs which seemed inconvenient and front desk staff seemed uninterested and not so polite... We were really looking forward to this stay and extremely dissapointed... Was expensive too considering maintenance issues etc. Will not be returning and in fact have been put of Mantra now!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We always appreciate receiving constructive feedback which helps us to maintain and improve our service standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

I apologise for your less than satisfactory experience during your last visit.

Your feedback will help us in training our team members, so we can create a memorable experience for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom family room (913) for 3 days recently and we were really happy with the hotel. As per suggestions and feedback on this website (thank you to all recent reviewers!), we asked for a high level room so that the renovations downstairs and the street noise outside would not disturb us. They put us on the 9th floor and we had no problems with noise. It was a corner room with a great view up and down George st.
The rooftop pool was a hit with my kids (although it's a lot smaller than it looks on the photos!) and the staff were very helpful whenever we had a question.
Although we had our car with us, we walked or used public transport every day as the hotel was so close to everywhere we needed to go. (Be aware of the $60 per night parking fee at the hotel though.)
The hotel's cafe being closed for renovation wasn't a problem for us- there's a Maccas on the same block as the hotel and a shopping centre (with Woolies as well as cafes & restaurants etc) across the road.
The main negative comment I have is that our door keycard drove us nuts! It hardly ever worked despite having it reset at the front desk numerous times and keeping it away from our credit cards.
Also, the small corner balcony was great but the door was extremely drafty, making that bedroom a little harder to keep warm.
But overall, we loved staying at the Mantra and we will definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Mantra 2 Bond St.
Our roof top heated swimming pool is always the best part especially for the kids.

We look forward to welcome you back with our new Memento restaurant & bar opening on 21st July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I spent a night here when in Sydney to see a concert. The hotel has some positive features. It is very well located adjacent to Australia Square in George Street. That means it is within an easy walk from Circular Quay, the Opera House, Museum of Modern Art and a myriad of other attractions. It is also only a short walk to Wynyard railway station. The studio/apartment room allocated (room 808) was well prepared and comfortable. The bed was fine with pillows to my requirements. A spare blanket was available in the wardrobe - a plus for me as I find the regular doona quilts too hot for me regardless of how low I can adjust air conditioning. The shower was fine and the bathroom generally satisfactory. It is possible to open the balcony door to take in the view acrioss George Street and up Margaret Street. On the down side - the air conditioning controls are hidden in the wardrobe, not intuitive to use, come with no instructions and the air con seems to operate according to its own wishes regardless of any change to desired temperature. One light fitting in the bathroom had no globe. There were no tissues provided - I have never found this in any other hotel. There was no desk for any work a guest needs to do. There was a round dining table but I expect lighting would be less than ideal and the common problem of low chair-high table would apply. This is also a hotel which has not learned that almost every hotel in Australia, and certainly overseas, now provides free wi-fi in the room. The price here is a steep $24.50/day and even worse for shorter time frames. When will Australian hotels learn that this is a real turn-off especially for foreign tourists who already find Australia a high cost destination? I was told there is free wi-fi in the lobby. This is not satisfactory if, like me, you want to listen to music or online radio in the room or work in the room. Also the lobby here is small and under renovation. The hotel provides no breakfast, sending guests on a walk to the Raddison Hotel five minutes away with a pass that gets the guest a price reduction at the Raddison. In all, a rather ordinary hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatheralbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
It’s good to hear that you enjoyed the great location of the hotel close to major tourist attractions.

We do apologise for any inconvenience caused due to our restaurant & bar being closed during your stay.

I am glad to inform you that our new Memento restaurant & bar is opening on 21st July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Mantra on Bond Street for 4 weeks for work in a studio apartment. The room had a kitchenette, Esperanto lounge and dining area, queen size bed with tv in the bedroom, and laundry facilities in the bathroom.
The hotel was undergoing renovations which meant no on site restaurant during my stay. This was fine, the location is perfect and close to cafes and restaurants ( Jamie Oliver's Italian on Pitt street is fantastic and a five minute walk away). Wynyard train station is directly across the road which suited my business travel. The staff are professional and even allowed me to keep food in their fridge on the weekends when I flew back home.
I'd recommend this hotel for business or couples. It is fairly quiet as it seems popular with the corporate sector, no late night parties here and good night sleeps. :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank simplicityrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchit G, Manager at Mantra 2 Bond Street, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

I am glad to hear that you had a very comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the spacious room with kitchenette and in-room laundry facilities.

It’s always a benefit for any traveller staying with us to be close to major attractions and restaurants city has to offer.

We look forward to welcome you back with your new Memento restaurant & bar opening on 21t July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#72 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 2 Bond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 2 Bond Street

Property: Mantra 2 Bond Street
Address: Cnr George St & Bond St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Saville 2 Bond Street)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#64 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra 2 Bond Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney is perfectly located close to Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay and is a minute away from the heart of Sydney's CBD. Mantra 2 Bond Street's accommodation is ideal for singles through to groups of six with a variety of rooms including Executive Studios, One, and Two Bedroom Apartments, penthouses or junior suites, most with stunning Sydney city views. Please note no twin bedding available. All rooms are fully self-contained and feature broadband internet access, cable TV, in-house movies, mini bar and climate controlled air-conditioning. Memento Lounge & Bistro is located onsite at Mantra Bond Street and showcases Australia's best produce, modern food with a traditional touch and an exclusive selection of Australian and International wines - perfect for a night in. If you want to head out there is a host of multicultural cuisines at an array of restaurants and bars located within close proximity to Mantra 2 Bond Street. For those that have time to indulge in some leisure, the luxurious rooftop pool and spa is the ideal spot to relax while watching the world go by. Mantra 2 Bond Street is perfectly positioned to take advantage of what Sydney has on offer. Enjoy a swim or some sightseeing at over 70 harbours and ocean beaches including the famous and iconic Bondi Beach. Entertainment is first class with an array of world-class theatres, museums and galleries spread across the city, but if shopping is on the cards the CBD is a shopper's paradise with a number of department stores, one of a kind boutiques and designer fashions. The Rocks sits just north of the CBD and is the perfect blend of old and new in Sydney with beautiful buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants. Guests must present a credit card upon arrival and Mantra 2 Bond Street has a no cash policy. If you elect to pay your account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative cost. Mantra 2 Bond Street is a NON SMOKING hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra 2 Bond Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 2 Bond Street Hotel Sydney
Mantra 2 Bond Street Sydney
Saville Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing