We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #30 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and location...”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed for two nights at a Grand Club room... great value for money... customer service was professional and friendly, room was clean and well decorated, location couldn't be any better, all good contact from reception staff to doormen to service reps in the Club Lounge. Great gym and nice pool... all in all an excellent choice for central Sydney!

Room Tip: Book at Hyde Park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,076
    1,066
    286
    136
    136
See reviews for
524
1,298
299
1,100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

went back to this hotel after eighteen months.

obviously the great location is the main attraction.

suprised by a few things:

1. they asked us to leave executive room at night (with our 5 year old daughter) and suggested we go the bar on level one......this was easter sunday.....someone please explain this to me.

2. we left a cash deposit ($300 dollars extra - above room rate) when we checked in and was then asked to pay cash for room service. What is the $300 for ?

3. no complimentary water in the rooms - they kindly offer $9 bottles

4. room service remains expensive and limited in choice - they still have the $8 delivery charge


service still a problem as there was limited staff over easter.

when you compare five star starwood properties in asia and this proeprty you will be very disappointed.

the westin in sydney is a far superior property in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear dgvictor,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor following your email correspondence with our Sheraton Club Lounge Manager. Due to the free service of alcohol in our Sheraton Club Lounge we do have this policy in place, aswell are bound by Liquor Laws regarding under age children in the environment where alcohol is provided complimentary as is the case in our Club. Our Conservatory Bar is monitored and does not provide free alcohol therefore is the suited option for guests accompanied with children. My apologies this has obviously marred your impression of our hotel as I am well aware of your correspondence with our Team here.

In regards to your cash deposit, the $300 covers all room incidentals such as movies, internet, phone calls and minibar. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment caused as a result of the policy not being clearly communicated to you on arrival. Bottled water is not provided on a complimentary basis and available from your Minibar should you wish to consume. Additionally the $8 In Room Dining delivery fee is benchmarked in line with all other Sydney 5 star hotels however I have taken your constructive comments on board and do hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton on the Park in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Large airy twin room with large comfortable twin beds and good blackout curtains. Park room glorious overlooking Hyde Park. Large sparkling clean marble bathroom with huge shower recess and comfortable bath. Very close to CBD. The door keys were a slight problem, but they were attended to straight away. Room service was a delight and professionally served. The concierge team were mind readers, and no question was too insignificant.

It is worthwhile an upgrade to the Executive Club Room for afternoon tea, drinks, canapes and breakfast. The food is definitely a credit to the catering staff and the service, even when busy, was outstanding. The views from the 21st floor were spectacular.

All in all a wonderful 2 night experience. I would definitely stay here again. Look at Wotif specials to help with the cost of this wonderfully appointed hotel.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Hyde Park has wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel because it made sense. I was going to a concert and transport options virtually were non existent afterwords. The hotel room was a cityside room as I was not particularly interested in a park view. The room surprised me as one of the most spacious I have stayed in. It had a walk in wardrobe, standard bathroom and spacious bed-living area. Of note was the homely feel the room had. Also the bed and pillows were particulary comfortable.
The staff were effcient and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are not worried about the view, the city side rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepidtravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We normally stay at the Intercontinental another 5 star rated hotel in Sydney. So here is the truth - Sheraton on the Park (SOTP) is more luxurious, has better rooms, better breakfast and dinner buffet ($60 per head for guests), friendlier staff and from our room on the 12th floor - just a glorious view of Hyde Park in front of you, the cathedral and the harbour beyond. Location is perfect for State Theatre (we saw John Cleese) shopping, museum, art gallery,etc. and you can still walk to Opera House. Try to book a room from the 10th floor up, for best views. Go to their own website for best deals. You can park on site ($45 per night). Black Marble bathrooms are fabulous with proper sized bath and separate shower. We will be staying here from now on.

Room Tip: Go Club if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philostratus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent two nights at Sheraton on the Park last week. We decided to book the Club Floor. This level of accomodation
included tea and coffee, breakfast and best of all drinks and canapes in the Club Lounge. The views from this area are oustanding and the array of food on offer is a credit to the hotel and catering staff. The staff in the lounge were probably the most welcoming and efficient I have experienced in a hotel in Australia for a very long time.
The hotel itself is as expected with front desk staff efficient and pleasant. A little more information about the facilities on offer would have been appreciated. The Park View room was a good size and well appointed. We had to call in cleaning staff as it wasnt as clean as it should have been. Instead of scrubbing stains on the bed head whilst we were in the room, it would have been better to apologise and move us to another room. The rooms are getting a little bit tired and worn, but we would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a Park View room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENKINSWILSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Everything you want in a top hotel, nice friendly staff and wel equipped rooms. Good central Sydney location.Importantly we slept well and ate even better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estniopery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#31 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#38 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,306 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,201 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing