We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel in great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #29 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I really loved the hotel. Good value, great location. MASSIVE room with big bathroom, bath, robes, room service and decirated in nautical theme. Great service from reception etc. Can fault it except room but dark with no windows to open, like a bunker. Couldn't find bar so not sure if there was one upstairs, or if u had to join Sheraton club to access ?!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,111 - 3,117 of 4,057 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

I think Australian hotels are way overpriced, especially compared with Europe. I stay in Sydney a lot, but I only stay at hotels where I get a deal from a discount webside. Having said that, the twin room here with breakfast included was great for $170, especially when the breakfast is normally $42.

Speaking of that...room service, what a rip-off. $32 for noodles. And the bottled water in the room, was $9. Just returned from Europe, where the bottled water was often complimentary.

The breakfast was great though, huge variety, but not worth $42.

Great CBD location, so you are close to restaurants and shops, where you can get noodles for $12 and water for $2.

I think 5 star should have be almost flawless, and although the rooms here are nice, with comfy beds and pillows and a lovely bathroom, there were some flaws.

Too hot overnight.

Could hear the frisky couple in the adjoining room.

Was looking forward to a bath in the gorgeous bathroom, but the hot water tap had very little pressure so took a long time.

I would stay here again if I got a deal, but not at full price.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one that doesn't have the door in your room that adjoins another as I could hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbuggedoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear travelbuggedoz,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park. All our rates are in line with other 5 Star CBD hotels and we often are able to offer reduced rates during certain times of the year so I am pleased to note you had the opportunity to take advantage of such a great package deal. Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise disturbance you had experienced and upon your return please ensure you advise our Front Office Associate to allocate you a room that is not adjoining to another.

travelbuggedoz, we hope to welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I have stayed in a wide number of properties in the Sydney CBD and rate the Sheraton on the Park as the best by a long way. Rooms are spotless, large and with a decent bathroom. The park right outside gives space to stretch your legs after a long day of business or flights coming in. Staff are friendly and efficient. The big upside is the size and state of the rooms. Especially if you can gte one of the corner rooms.

Room Tip: IF you can get a corner suite they have more space, but normal rooms are still large by Sydney Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Quite a poor experience had 4 nights at this hotel. The room did not get serviced at all on the first day and they only provided a turn down service twice. I had a room on the Club floor which I paid extra for the lounge could not check me out because they were busy and my room was directly under the Health Club so there was a thud from the running machines all day long. They sell outside memberships to the gym so it is crowded in peak times.

Used to be a great hotel has gone downhill

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Mitchpa,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review and apologise that you have been disappointed with your stay. Please note turn down service is available upon request via our Guest Services Department to ensure we do not disturb our guests, I do apologise that this has caused you disappointment. I have also taken your feedback on board regarding the noise which transpired from our Health Club. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused as a result of this noise and we look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was (possibly) our 5th stay at this hotel.
This time around we went for a city view room with a King bed for 3 nights.
There was not much of a view from the room, with most of the windows looking directly on to other buildings. This didn't bother us as we were able to angle the shutters for privacy. There was a small window of a view over darling harbour. We didn't mind the lack of view as the room was much cheaper than a park view room and it was very quiet.
We found the service friendly and efficient, as usual.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet although it was very busy on the Sunday morning. There was a large selection of items and the egg cooking station was great too.
The bar is a nice spot to relax, with a view of the park.
The hotel is well located, pretty much in the centre of the city which means it is close to shops, cafes, restaurants and public transport. If you don't want to have breakfast at the hotel there are plenty of other options very close by.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we next visit Sydney.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a lack of view, the city view rooms seem to be quieter and much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here during the June long weekend. Second stay over the last 6 months, The hotel was a lot busier than our last visit in December but still check in was super quick and efficient. The receptionist even organised our dinner reservation as we were checking in. We got an upgrade to a corner room which was nice. Overall, if you can pick up a good deal on the starwoods website this hotel is simply unbeatable value if you're looking to splurge a little or a lavish stay. The staff are all hardworking and frielndly. Every request was attended to in a timely manner. Cannot fault the service or value.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if possible. Has a hallway that leads into the room from the front door but it mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sporthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights and loved every minute. After staying at The Westin, Sydney, I was not sure if this would be as good. I thought SOTP was better! The staff were courteous and very helpful, the atmosphere was very grand, the rooms plush and beautifully decorated, a beautiful bath to bathe in, fantastic bed. The best part was the incredible breakfast buffet. Try the vanilla bean ice cream with pancakes! It was wonderful to sit at breakfast looking out over the verdant Hyde Park as the sun rose. Despite being in the centre of Sydney, our room was so quiet, we could hear nothing - a very serene sanctuary!

We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#35 of 182 in Sydney
3,372 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 182 in Sydney
4,710 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 182 in Sydney
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#77 of 182 in Sydney
1,462 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 182 in Sydney
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £135 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing