We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cricket awful, hotel brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #32 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cricket awful, hotel brilliant”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Unless you get a deal (we had 3 nights for the price of two) you need deep pockets to stay here but it really is a great base in Sydney. Hollywood lobby, large room overlooking the park, big comfy bed, walk-in shower, attentive, friendly staff, easy walking distance to Darling Harbour restaurants, the Barracks etc. In quality, quantity, presentation and price the hotel's evening seafood buffet (stuff yourself with lobster tails, oysters, king prawns etc) beat anything we had elsewhere and you could have something different for breakfast every day for a fortnight. Which must all have been some comfort to fellow guests Strauss, Hussein and Gower (TV cricket commentators, for the uninitiated) who were left well alone to muse on England's collapse.

Room Tip: Head for the upper floors facing the park. You might even be tempted to join the early morning exerc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dynevorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Dynevorman,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review on Tripadvisor. I’m delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travels return you to our shores.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,141
    1,090
    292
    142
    136
See reviews for
539
1,322
305
1,143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,050)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed at the Sheraton from 29/12/13 to 10/1/14 and had a great stay. Spotlessly clean and staff very helpful and polite even to us Poms!
Food was excellent although quite expensive as were the drinks.
Minor problem with the third bed for our son we had put in as it was broken but this was quickly replaced.
Wi-fi bit of a headache as you have to keep going to reception to access codes which last for one hour and they only work in the lobby.
My main issue was the waking up at 5.30am every morning with the sound of 2 car park barriers on Castleraigh Street that kept beeping loudly every time a car entered or exited the car park below. We stopped on the sixth floor and the noise was enough to wake you, our friends stopped on the 19th floor and couldn't hear it.
So if stopping either stop in a higher floor than 6 or ask for the Park View side of the hotel.
The rooms are very nice and have plenty of room although the storage space for clothes is a little puzzling as there is hardly any, about 10 coat hangers and 3 very small drawers was noit really sufficient for a family of 3 staying for 2 weeks, hence clothes were just left on tables and spare chairs which I know is not of paramount importance but made the room always look messy despite the great job the cleaning staff did every day.

Room Tip: Top hotel but stay in as higher level as possible to alleviate street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilcrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear neilcrump,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park for your trip Down Under and for your wonderful feedback. In regards to the internet usage, we provide complimentary wireless connectivity in public areas of the hotel and for a small fee in all guestrooms we offer wired and wireless options for up to 3 devices at one price. Our apologies for the noise you had mentioned as this is from the Carparking Station across the road from the hotel, which has not been raised as a concern from any of our guests however, I have taken your feedback on board and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Sheraton. Everyone was really friendly and the room was stunning. I loved having the full sized bath in the bathroom.

We had room service three times, and although expensive, it was well worth the cost. Each time it was lovely and exceeded our expectations.

The pool area is beautiful and the staff were great - they even lent us some goggles as my daughter forgot hers :-)

Check in and out was very easy and the location of the Hotel is brilliant. We were able to walk everywhere and there was always a taxi available.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try the soup for dinner one night - it is huge and definitely enough for a mail meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Sam F,
I’m delighted to read your review and truly appreciate your 5 Star Rating and wonderful feedback. I’m pleased we met and hopefully exceeded your expectations and look forward to your speedy return.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here over Christmas holiday. I was very disappointed with the wait in line to get my room which was part of a cruise tour package. I stood in line for a good 20 minutes and before getting service and was told they did not have my reservation. A good 10 minutes late and another computer later they finally found my reservation (even though it was confirmed the day before by my tour guide along with the letter with the reservation). The room was a good size, looked a little dated with the black tiles in the bathroom that could use some good cleaning, but overall the room was comfortable. Shops, park, and malls were within walking distance and the reception staff help with suggestions for shopping. I was really sorry for the porters who brought our bags into the hotel as our bus was unable to park in the front of the hotel they had to take us into the back of the hotel which only had stair to take 17 peoples luggage up. We felt sorry for them and helped they take them up the stair when we came and when we left. I was really disappointed with the buffet. The food was only so-so not much variety and they really catered to certain nationalities and was not worth the $42. Check out was horrible again another 20 minute wait to hand in my key. I would recommend it if you want a good location, plenty of shopping, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemgirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear gemgirl115,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay you encountered on arrival to the hotel as this is not at all typical of the high standards that we constantly strive to achieve. I’m pleased to note you were comfortable in your guest room and our associates were able to suggest some good locations for shopping. Please note the tour buses do not park in the front of the hotel as our arrival area for our groups is in the rear of the hotel, close to the stairs leading to our reception area which indeed does have a capacity to take more than 17 guests luggage, however apologies for the disappointment. The buffet in our Feast Restaurant is a very popular choice for guests in our hotel and we also do provide express checkout service which allows guests to drop their keys in the box located near the lobby lifts and an email is sent to you of your tax invoice. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and reinstall your faith in the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have stayed in Sydney many times over the years but this was the first time at Sheraton on the Park. We were here for 3 nights in December as a 'mini holiday' before flying out to Fiji. Our accommodation was 2 park view suites - one for us, the other for our teenage kids. The rooms were spacious and well designed - the bed was comfortable and bathrooms were very clean. The pool area was excellent. The hotel is in a very good location, close to the heart of the city and an easy stroll down to the Quay. Would definitely stay here again, and would recommend to others..

Room Tip: Stay in a suite - very spacious..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandSonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear SteveandSonya,
I’m so pleased to read your family mini holiday was such a memorable and comfortable trip for you all. I very much appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous foyer, central location, spacious, extremely comfortable rooms with dome excellent extras (I.e. motorised blinds, extra roomy lounge area and a large walk in robe that doubled as a nursery) - we were really pleased with our room. The service was really good, it was no problem when we asked for a couple of extra rubbish removals (smelly nappies) and everyone was very helpful. We had dinner in Feast Restaurant - they had a FB special on - $50 including a cocktail and it was magnificent. The seafood on the buffet was fresh and lovely and the chef dishes were lovely. Highly recommend this hotel - a great Sydney 5 star and the rate was reasonable too!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Donna S,
I’m so delighted to read that you had a great mini break at the Sheraton on the Park and that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our $50 Facebook Special – the cocktails were great! I appreciate your recommendation and wonderful feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Warm regards,
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I've stayed in this hotel on several different trips to Sydney and it's always outstanding. Staff are fantastic, rooms beautiful and spacious (with the most wonderfully large bathrooms in the whole of Sydney), and it's in a fabulous location. Reliable and never lets me down.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Caroline B,
Thank you for your loyalty and patronage to the Sheraton on the Park, I’m pleased to note we have always ensured your stays are comfortable and memorable and look forward to welcoming you back!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
3,198 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#37 of 178 in Sydney
4,465 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
1,952 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing