We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Sheraton - Comfortable Bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #31 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
178 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good Sheraton - Comfortable Bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was my second visit to the Sheraton on the Park in Sydney. It’s a very nice property located on Hyde Park with all of the major bus lines and train just outside the front door. The room itself was fine and the bed was comfortable. The hallways seem recently updated and the hotel was packed with visitors for special events, including a wedding. The front desk staff were friendly and welcoming.

My room was oddly shaped but very large (corner room at the front of the hotel). The bathroom was quite large with a wonderful glass shower and excellent water pressure. The marble choice for the bathroom was a poor selection though. It’s black marble with white streaks which only makes it look dirty as if water and soap had been running down the tile and not cleaned. The lighting in the room was very nice and strategically placed.

As a platinum member, I was able to enjoy the lounge at the top of the hotel for the light breakfast which can get crowded at times in the morning but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinKenChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear TravelinLeather
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to post your review and feedback, particularly as an SPG Platinum Member and Top Contributor of Tripadvisor. Im please you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and look forward to your return in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,032
    1,046
    275
    130
    131
See reviews for
509
1,267
292
1,079
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff make a hotel, and this is where this hotel is severely let down on various occasions.

Having high expectations of the hotel, I left very disappointed! The only saving grace was the outstanding Sheraton Club staff who were very helpful and friendly. It's just a shame the chef can't cook sausages.

So, check-in at the Club Lounge was fast and efficient by a lovely young man. We received the room we booked (Terrace Suite) with a great view.

Couldn't fault the room, which was very well maintained, the A/C worked well, excellent water pressure in the large bathroom and free water daily. The view over Hyde park was perfect and having a balcony with 2 chairs makes for a nice evening view.

However, that is where the positives end!

Had breakfast in the Club Lounge, and had undercooked chicken sausages for breakfast on 2 days. Several other guests also commented between themselves about the same issue. On the 2nd day we informed the staff who then went to get the chef, but we had walked out as this was occurring as I don't have time to tell staff that they can't cook food properly.

On our 2nd night, a Saturday, we ordered 2 cocktails from the bar. However the lovely, but forgetful staff member, forgot our drink order, then delivered it to another table and only worked this out when we got her attention, after approximately 30 minutes. She should have seen us without drinks for an extended period and, at worst, double checked with us what we ordered. Eventually after 35 minutes our drink arrived, at full price.

Ordered meals in the restaurant (after having to ask for menus as the waiter forgot about us) and received cold side dishes (mash & vegetables) Even a cheap pub can get the basics right, but at a "high end" restaurant cold food is served up. We also ordered a few drinks here, and they took close to 30 minutes to arrive, as they get made in the same bar where they forgot our drinks. We would have said something about this but the meals arrived and were dumped and then the waiter left, the same for the drinks. We were not checked on at any time during our meal and had to always grab the attention of the waiter to get anything. When paying over $60 for a steak with a side dish, I expect far better service regardless of how busy the restaurant is.

On our last day, after checkout, we came back to the hotel to get our bags and get a quick drink. I asked downstairs at reception to re-obtain access to the Club Lounge. She rudely said it was not possible and that I would need to pay for drinks/food at the bar or if she did decide to let us upstairs we could sit there, but not eat/drink anything unless we paid for it. I told her not to bother going out of her way for something the Hilton does without a fuss and instead go back to staring at her computer screen.

So we went back to the bar and the same staff were there from the night before but at least the bar was very quiet as it was a Sunday night so we thought it would be better, alas it was not. We ordered 2 drinks, 2 glasses of water and a warmed chocolate brownie. The 2 drinks arrived, and we were assured that she would come back with the water. The water never arrived. Eventually the chocolate brownie arrived, complete with only half of its pouring sauce as the staff member said "Oh I spilt half of the sauce on the way over, I'll have to get another one"

The brownie was cold, straight out of the fridge, and the chocolate sauce was cold as well. She came back as we had pretty much finished the dessert with another chocolate sauce which was cold as well. At this stage I asked for a menu to confirm it was meant to be warmed, which was a safe bet as a brownie is nearly always served warmed. Received a menu and then proceeded to the bar to ask for the charge for the dish to be waived. I was initially only offered another one, but pushed to get the charge waived, especially when combined with the poor service by the same staff the evening prior. The charge was eventually waived after waiting around for a few minutes. How can a dish leave the kitchen without being warmed and how can a staff member not realise the plate was stone cold?

So if you are happy with generally poorly trained and unhelpful staff who make mistakes and a lack of service recovery for issues, unless pushed you will enjoy this hotel.

I have had far better service at 3 and 4 star properties than what was received here, and given it was over different days by several different staff, it is endemic of poor training and/or poor Management. By far one of the worst hotels for customer service and food that I have stayed in over the past few years.

It's a shame as the hotel has lovely rooms but I regret not staying at the Hilton or the Park Hyatt. Yes the rooms at the Hilton are smaller but at least the service is of a far better standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndDeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear AndDeee
Thank you for taking the time to post your very thorough review on Tripadvisor and for also completing our Guest Satisfaction Survey of which our Restaurant Manager has replied to. Please accept our sincere apologies for the several service shortfalls you have outlined and for the inconveniences you had experienced. We have certainly identified the problem areas you have outlined and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just completed a one-night stay at this hotel - the first visit for six years. I booked two club-level rooms ($265 AUD each).

This used to be my favorite place to stay in Sydney. The building is in a great location and the rooms are a generous size but it seems to me that service standards have slipped. The staff were very personable and enthusiastic (this is Australia after all!) but things seemed to take a long time and the follow-up was chaotic.

As an example...I called Guest Services at 1 pm (spoke to Brendan). The air conditioning in my room was not working well plus I needed something to brought to me. The maintenance guy arrived 30 minutes later - proclaimed the air conditioning broken and told me there was nothing they could do until the contractors started working again on Monday (really?). The requested item never showed at all and there was no follow up. In fact I ended up waiting 20 minutes in the lobby for it to delivered (more chaos behind the scenes).

When heading to the airport there was no one outside to fetch a cab or help with my bags. There were several other guests looking for assistance too.

I am going to give this place a miss going forward. 5 Star should mean something. Based on my experience..this place is not delivering the service at a standard to warrant this rating.

Room Tip: The building is surrounded by roads which can be disruptive at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavingOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear LeavingOrangeCounty,
Thank you for returning to the Sheraton on the Park after so many years however please accept our sincere apologies for the less than perfect stay. This is definitely not the standards we strive to achieve and indeed we must do better, therefore I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback which will be an ongoing focus for training and development. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and reinstall your confidence in the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Decided to spend a night in the city with my wife as a reward for a difficult week. Chose the Sheraton on the Park. Booked on the net with no trouble and a great rate. On arrival, check-in went like clockwork and we were given a wonderful King Double with views. The room was spotless with a giant double bed and all the usual gear one expects. Big bathroom with both a shower and separate bath. Check-out next day was efficient and very friendly. The downside to my stay..............the only complaint is paying for wireless internet. Overall a highly recommended hotel, in a great location, for anyone requiring accommodation in Sydney.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingwulff2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear jamez4
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park to unwind from a long week. Im so pleased you enjoyed your Hyde Park Guest Room with our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper king bed which makes for a very comfortable sleep and our amazingly large bathrooms!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel in mid April and was pleasantly surprised. This is one of the nicer Sheraton's I have been in. The location was very convenient to all the great Sydney attractions, within walking distance of most. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Ours had a view of the park and you could see a slice of Sydney Harbor as well. The rooftop pool was a nice add that I wasn't expecting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the park. We had a room with corner windows which made the room and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy6835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Cindy6835
Im so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton on the Park on your trip Down Under!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nice hotel, superior amenities and great location. You can walk anywhere, the bus stops at the back entrance and the train is across the street from the front entrance. The room was a decent size and the bathroom was much larger than expected. My only issue was the wifi was extremely spotty in room and as a paid service, is extremely poor value. Also the service in the mezzanine bar is extremely slow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Mrs_Kevin,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at the Sheraton on the Park. Im so pleased we met your expectations and appreciate your feedback.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I made a last minute booking to stay overnight at the Sheraton on 3.5.14. So glad we picked this hotel. We booked the stay park and play package. We found this to be of excellent value. It included accommodation for 2 in a city side room, buffet breakfast for two, self parking and a late check out of 2.00pm. Upon check in we were greeted by a lovely girl called Ashley who was very polite and friendly. To top it off we were upgraded to a park view room. As it was a cold night we didn't particularly feel like walking in the city to find somewhere to eat so we made a booking at the Feast restaurant in the hotel. We had the seafood buffet.....Awesome!!!!
Will definitely be coming back to this hotel and the restaurant. The hotel and rooms were immaculate and all the staff we dealt with were very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Michelle T
Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend such a wonderful occasion with us at the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#36 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,177 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,053 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Southall Travel, Agoda and Travelbag so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing