We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #31 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Old World charm”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We recently went to Sydney for some R&R and chose Sheraton On The Park for our accommodation. We had high expectations and they were met on every level. Whilst the Hotel is due for an update the maintenance has kept the hotel in tip top condition. Our room was spacious as was the bathroom. Service was above expectation. We will make this our Hotel in Sydney from now on. Right opposite Hyde Park and St James Station, hopping on the train from the Airport is so convenient and half the cost of a taxi with no traffic delays.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the Park side. Beautiful aspect and view. The corner rooms face east so ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Walter029
Thank you so much for making the Sheraton on the Park your hotel to stay in Sydney! We are delighted to have exceeded all your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,081
    1,067
    288
    136
    136
See reviews for
525
1,298
300
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

A very nice stay with great service and a decent sized room with great bed. Just be careful if you don't like dark spaces - I loved the decor others would describe it as masculine.

A very nice selection at breakfast.

Overall, maintains the high standards of the Sheraton brand

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jjswlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear jjswlg
I appreciate your wonderful feedback and I’m pleased you had the opportunity to try our ever so popular breakfast offerings.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
440 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the last 10 years including when it first opened, It's true the hotel is showing its age, and it's a bit more 90s than the Hilton, it is in a better position. Sheratons do vary, but this is a 'good' Sheraton and rates are good for Sydney and is easily reached from the airport by train to St James

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear anecessaryevil
Thankyou for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, especially as you are a Top Contributor and loyal guest of the Sheraton on the Park. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to being of continued service to you in the future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Located right in the centre of the city the hotel is perfectly placed. Yet you don't hear the traffic and the rooms are a good size. Good Sheraton standard here and we would love to stay here again. The staff give good service both in servicing the rooms and giving advice on restaurants and booking you onto tours in Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berlinpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear berlinpark
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park for your trip Down Under and for your kind feedback. Our location is indeed very convenient for all types of travellers with everything one may need at our doorstep.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel and will consider coming back if I go to Sydney again. We have rooms overlooking the Hyde Park, so we could see nice sunrise and sunset. The location is excellent. Across from Hyde Park. It is within walking distance to the Strand Arcade and Queen Victoria building. It is also a stone throw away from the Westfield that is adjacent to the Sydney Tower. The swimming pool is nice, though a bit small.
The view from the relaxation room is terrific. The concierge is super friendly and helpful, as is the receptionist. They provide me with a lot of useful information if local places, and send my postcards for free.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sbudiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear sbudiman
Such an honour to read your review and appreciate your 5 Star Rating of your recent stay at the Sheraton on the Park. I’m delighted our location, swimming pool, view and our associates ensured you had such a memorable and wonderful stay.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very disappointing! I wanted to try something different as I usually stay at the hilton. This hotel by far is worse. They offered an upgrade at check in to the "park side" for $50 extra which I took. Unfortunately the view was of a brick wall only glimpses of the park not worth it what so ever. For a 5 star hotel you would expect the room to have all amenities that you need. Bathroom amenities were minimal i.e no toothbrush no sowing kit. It just had the shampoo. Only plus side was the bed was extremely comfortable but you can get that at any 5* hotel. Also they should really change there key card which says "upgrade to a terrace suite for a SMALL fee" I don't think $800 is a small fee in anyone's books.
I definitely won't be returning here it is a big let down compared to the hilton and recommend you find somewhere else if you don't want to be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmddkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear mmddkk,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at the Sheraton on the Park and apologies for the disappointment in your room allocation. All additional amenities are indeed available by contacting our Guest Services department. We hope you will reconsider your decision and we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
305 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

For a trip back to Australia after some years absence, and returning to one of my favourite cities, I decided to get a park view room in a good location, hence choosing the Sheraton. Unfortunately the park view room was not quite as expected: the park view was only visible when standing by the window and looking out diagonally. The hotel is a U-shape, so the rooms on the inner sides of the U look towards each other and limit the 'park view'.
In hindsight, the park view was not worth it as there are limited rooms providing what would be expected from a park view room, i.e. you can see the park plainly without craning your neck.
The room itself was fine and quite comfortable with no other issues, expect for a lack of free wifi. This is available in the lobby but only for 1 hour. In this day and age and for the level of room, I would expect complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear PKRV
I would like to assure you that we do endeavour to meet the room requests of our guests at all times, due to the architectural design of the building not all rooms have the same view of Hyde Park however our apologies for the disappointment. In regards to the internet usage, we provide complimentary wireless connectivity throughout the entire hotel in all public areas and for a small fee in all rooms nevertheless, I have taken your feedback on board and hope to welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#37 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing